Canadian Cyclist


August 28/10 19:18 pm - Tour of Spain (Vuelta) Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 08/28/10

HTC-Columbia has emerged victorious in the opening team time trial of the Vuelta a Espana, a 13 kilometre late night race against the clock through the streets of Seville.

Mark Cavendish was the first HTC-Columbia rider across the line,making him the race's first leader.

HTC-Columbia was ten seconds faster than second placed Liquigas-Doimo on the completely flat course held through the centre of Seville, with Saxo Bank in third.

"As soon as we did the first training ride on the course on Thursday even after ten minutes on the bike we were riding so well together I had the feeling we were going to win," said Cavendish.

"The team time trial is my favourite discipline because the whole team gets rewarded, it's special that way, and at the same time you need to get it one hundred percent right for it to work."

"I get to stand on the podium quite a lot, but that's because of eight other guys hard work. Today we all got to stand on the podium and I'm incredibly proud of what my team-mates did."

Cavendish said that although he got to wear the Tour of Spain leader's red jersey, "it belonged to the whole squad. I'm wearing it on behalf of the team."

Cavendish is also the leader of the points competition, whilst HTC-Columbia are the leaders of the teams classification.

Saturday's victory is the 55th of the 2010 season for HTC-Columbia men's team.

Team HTC-Columbia press release

Stage 1: Seville TTT, 13 km
1 HTC-Columbia 0:14:06
2 Liquigas-Doimo at 0:10
3 Saxo Bank 0:12
4 Cervelo TestTeam 0:13
5 Lampre - Farese Vini 0:14
6 Garmin-Transitions 0:17
7 Omega Pharma-Lotto s.t.
8 Team Milram 0:18
9 Team Katusha 0:20
10 Quick Step 0:23
11 Caisse D'Epargne 0:25
12 Xacobeo-Galicia 0:26
13 Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:27
14 SKY Professional Cycling Team 0:28
15 Cofidis s.t.
16 FDJ 0:33
17 AG2R-La Mondiale s.t.
18 Rabobank 0:36
19 BBOX Bouygues Telecom 0:39
20 Astana 0:41
21 Andalucia-Cajasur 0:49
22 Footon-Servetto 0:57


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.