Canadian Cyclist


June 4/00 5:02 am - Vogels Wins USPro, Rossner Repeats at Philly

Posted by Editor on 06/4/00

Vogels Wins USPro Championship, Rossner Takes Women's Race
(courtesy John Wordin - Team Mercury)

Mercury's Henk Vogels won today's 156 mile USPRO Championships held in Philadelphia, PA.

The first lap saw a group of 18 riders go away with a gap of 2 minutes. That set off the alarm bells as the Memory Card team needed to chase. The chase lasted for 2 laps where the leading group was reduced to 8 riders. The Postal, Saturn Team each had 2 riders and Mercury had Floyd Landis. The group worked well together and gained a lead of 4 minutes. The most notable absences from the group were Mapei, Memory Card, and Saeco.

The leaders were out in the front until the last lap of Manyunk, when the was major action. Leipheimer, Landis and 1 Mroz rider went clear. They were chased by a group that included Vogels, Bo-Larsen, Rodriguez, and Hincapie. The leading group changed composition and went to 8 riders.

The 8 riders were: Vogels (Mercury), Bo-Larsen (Memory Card), Guerra (Saeco), Hincapie (US Postal), Lieswyn (Shaklee), and Rodriguez (Mapei).

This group would produce the race winner. After relentless attacking by Vogels on the last small Lemon Hill loop, the Mercury rider had a gap and that left the US riders looking at each other for the US National Jersey. Vogels was clear and took the victory. Fred Rodriguez (Mapei) took second, and the USPro title (as top American). Gord Fraser of Mercury took the field sprint for 9th.

1. Henk Vogels (Aus) Mercury
2. Fred Rodriguez (USA) Mapei-Quick Step*
3. Nicolay-Bo Larsen (Den) Memory Card-Jack & Jones

Petra Rossner was the repeat winner of the women's race - the 5th stop in the World Cup series. Zilute will hold onto her World Cup overall leader's jersey.

Women (World Cup #5)
1. Petra Rossner (Ger) Saturn
2. Diana Ziliute (Ltu) Acca Due O-Lorena Camicie
3. Vera Hohlfeld (Ger) Acca Due O-Lorena Camicie

Rose Festival Criterium - Welland, Ontario
(courtesy St Catherines Cycling Club)

Results of the Welland Rose Festival Criterium:

Senior 3/Junior
1 Andrew Hickman Mississauga
2 Buck Miller St. Catharines Cycling Club
3 Rod Smith KHS
4 Brook McArthur GT/Bike Depot
5 Nathan Chown St. Catharines Cycling Club
6 Stirling McArthur Mississauga
7 Corey Gladish Independent
8 John Saulnier Mitzi's
9 Duncan Salisbury Halton R&T
10 Isaac Smith St. Catharines Cycling Club

1 Julia Farrell Kiro
2 Alyson Fox RNH
3 Ann Turrin Intersports
4 Pamela Mudar Buffalo
5 Julia Bradley Independent
6 Maogosha Pyjor Up Your Bike
7 Sophia Radecki RNH
8 Susan Portengen Kiro
9 Sandy Graham D'Ornella's
10 Allison Wiley Independent

Masters A/B/C
1 Gerard Yeates RNH
2 Nigel Roberts Halton R&T
3 Mark Castelloux Queen City
4 Desi Derochers Independent
5 Stefan Kramer St. Catharines Cycling Club
6 John Sartori Ziggy's
7 Keith Peck Ziggy's
8 Greg Borden Mississauga
9 Graham Thomas Halton R&T
10 Tony Alphabet Mississauga

Senior 1/2
1 Andrew Pinfold Italpasta/Atlas Cold Storage
2 Michael Moore Mississauga
3 Tim Lefebvre Italpasta/Atlas Cold Storage
4 Chad Grochowina Kiro
5 Antoine Varghese Kissena
6 Ray Duggan Saeco
7 Chris Timone Buffalo
8 Piers Davidge Mississauga
9 Michael Luther Knapps
10 Jason Cheney Intersports


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.