Canadian Cyclist


August 5/14 14:52 pm - Tour of Poland: Stage 3

Posted by Editoress on 08/5/14

Theo Bos (Belkin) took the win on stage 3 on the roads of the Tour de Pologne. On the finish line of the 174 km third stage from Kielce to Rzeszow, the Dutch rider got the best of the bunch sprint, coming in ahead of Slovenian Luka Mezgec (Giant-Shimano), who won the sprint in the final stage of the Giro d’Italia this year, and Australian Michael Matthews (Orica GreenEDGE), who wore the green jersey in the 2014 Giro also. Fourth place went to Italian Sacha Modolo (Lampre Merida) and fifth to Norwegian Thor Hushovd, who was the winner on this same finish line last year. For Theo Bos this is his seventh seasonal victory and his first in a World Tour race this year.

This stage came to life with a break by 4 riders. However, today the group never left much space to the fugitive foursome made up of Poles Mateusz Taciak (CCC Polsat) and Pawel Franczak (Rapresentacja Polski) with German Bjorn Thurau (Europcar) and Italian Salvatore Puccio (Team Sky). In fact, the 4 got caught by the group during the first of two rounds on the final circuit in Rzeszow.

In the general classification Petr Vakoc (Omega Pharma- Quick-Step) hung on to the yellow Skandia leader’s jersey. The Czech arrived at the finish line late after the fall at about 1 km from the arrival which broke up the group, fortunately without any apparent consequences for any riders. Since the fall took place within the last 3 km of the race, according to race regulations the time was neutralized by the jury. Now in the classification Vakoc leads with a 27” advantage over the pair of Yauheni Hutarovich (Ag2r La Mondiale) and Theo Bos (Belkin).

There were no changes to the other classifications either, where Pole Maciej Paterski (CCC Polsat) retains the cyclamen Tauron jersey for the GPM, Belorussian Hutarovich keeps the white-red Lang Team jersey for the points standings and Vakoc, in addition to the leader’s jersey, also gets to keep the blue Lotto jersey that distinguishes the most active rider in the group. In the team standings Omega Pharma - Quick-Step remains firmly in command.
Tomorrow the IV stage: Tarnov Gemini Park - Katowice km 236.

Post races quotes

Theo Bos (The Winner): "The legs were really good I felt on the lap. Yesterday we took control also on the laps with the team, but it was really wide roads. I was full gas all the time so then in the sprint I wasn't strong. But there was one guy in front anyway. Then today we said 'ok maybe it's not wise to take the front again.' But then we heard the roads were really narrow. So we took the front and we can keep it because of all of the corners also. So, I saved a lot of energy. Then in the last lap I had to fight for position. It was a fast circuit, really high speed, so it helped me a lot and I was able to win. I'm happy with my victory today in Poland. There are a lot of people here watching us. For me it's the biggest race I've been to this year. There are many nice people in the streets, really enthusiastic. Sometimes you just ride through the middle of nowhere and there are still people everywhere. It was great. Everyone looks really happy when they see us. As for tomorrow, I know the parcours is really long. I look at the final circuit as something that can be difficult because in the last kilometer there is a roundabout and then the road goes down a bit. It's maybe similar to the first sprint stage. But, I will look at the book closer tomorrow. For now I will enjoy the victory today."

Petr Vakoc (Yellow Jersey): "Today was a great feeling with the whole team supporting me as leader. I always rode in the middle of my teammates protecting me. It was like a dream. We were always in control today with the breakaway having a small gap. We remained in control even when we entered the finishing circuit. There was, of course, a crash before the final but I'm happy that everyone of the team is OK. For me, this was a good experience for my young career to ride with such great support from my team. Tomorrow is another stage likely for the sprinters, and we will try to defend my jersey once again. Then, we go into the mountains. It won't be easy, but I have nothing to lose and can only try my best to keep this yellow jersey."

Pawel Franczak (Most Combative Rider): "For me as a young cyclist it's a very important prize because Tour de Pologne is an opportunity for all the Polish riders to participate and be here in front of the fans and sponsors. We can also learn something from the peloton and the most experienced riders. So it's very honorable for me. I think tomorrow is a very important stage and, like yesterday's stage with Vakoc making it to the finish, that another breakaway will try their luck but I think it will still be a sprinter's finish.”


Courtesy Tour of Poland


Results from the third stage in Poland

Stage 3: Kielce to Rzeszów, 174 km
1 Theo Bos (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team 3:39:27
2 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team Giant-Shimano
3 Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica GreenEDGE
4 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida
5 Thor Hushovd (Nor) BMC Racing Team
6 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp
7 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) AG2R La Mondiale
8 Jonas Vangenechten (Bel) Lotto Belisol
9 Davide Appollonio (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
10 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida
11 Grzegorz Stepniak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice
12 Konrad Dabkowski (Pol) Poland
13 Sébastien Chavanel (Fra)
14 Arman Kamyshev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team
15 Boris Vallee (Bel) Lotto Belisol
16 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale
17 Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano
18 Georg Preidler (Aut) Team Giant-Shimano
19 Kamil Zielinski (Pol) Team Poland
20 Johan Le Bon (Fra)
37 Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R La Mondiale
44 Christian Meier (Can) Orica GreenEDGE
107 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin-Sharp all s.t.
151 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Cannondale 2:31
1 Petr Vakoc (Cze) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team 14:50:55
2 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) AG2R La Mondiale at 0:27
3 Theo Bos (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team
4 Roman Maikin (Rus) RusVelo 0:31
5 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Team Giant-Shimano
6 Boris Vallee (Bel) Lotto Belisol 0:33
7 Manuele Mori (Ita) Lampre-Merida
8 Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice 0:35
9 Matthias Krizek (Aut) Cannondale
10 Grzegorz Stepniak (Pol) CCC Polsat Polkowice 0:37
11 Marco Haller (Aut) Team Katusha
12 Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano
13 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana Pro Team
14 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale
15 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale
16 Nikolas Maes (Bel) Omega Pharma - Quick-Step Cycling Team
17 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Team Katusha
18 Dominik Nerz (Ger) BMC Racing Team
19 Georg Preidler (Aut) Team Giant-Shimano
20 Steve Morabito (Sui) BMC Racing Team
45 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Cannondale
58 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin-Sharp
87 Christian Meier (Can) Orica GreenEDGE 1:33
113 Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R La Mondiale 5:36


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.