Canadian Cyclist


August 20/00 10:56 am - Dufaux Wins Zurich, Fraser Wins in Chicago

Posted by Editor on 08/20/00

Dufaux Wins Championship of Zurich World Cup #8

This race was the first chance to see some of the top names race together since the Tour. The riders covered 6 laps of a 41.4 kilometre circuit, for 248.4 kilometres in total. Early breakaways were brought back as Telekom kept and eye on things for their World Cup leader Erik Zabel.

Final, shortly before the riders began their last lap, a group of 8 broke clear, with some big names included - Lance Armstrong (USPS), Jan Ullrich (Telekom), Oscar Freire (Mapei), Davide Rebellin (Liquigas), Francesco Casagrande (Vini Caldirola), Oscar Camenzind (Lampre), Andreij Kivilev (Ag2R) and Laurent Dufaux (Saeco). There were no threats to Zabel's lead, so the group quickly opened a gap.

With 16 kilometres left Casagrande jumped, shedding all but Ullrich, Dufaux and Armstrong. Ullrich then went to front with a high tempo and attacks, dropping Armstrong. Ullrich, Dufaux and Casagrande opended up a 30 second gap quickly, working well together to extend their lead. Armstrong and Rebellin were chasing, but losing ground on every pedal stroke.

With a kilometre to go Ullrich attacked but the other two were on him immediately. Ullrich then attacked again in the final 300 metres, but was passed at the line by Dufaux, with Casagrande third. Rebellin beat Armstrong for 4th. Zabel holds onto his World Cup lead easily.

1. Laurent Dufaux (Sui) Saeco-Valli&Valli
2. Jan Ullrich (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom
3. Francesco Casagrande (Ita) Vini Caldirola all s.t.
4. Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata at 1:00
5. Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal Service s.t.
6. Oscar Freire (Esp) Mapei-Quick Step 1:22
7. Oscar Camenzind (Sui) Lampre-Daikin s.t.
8. Andrei Kivilev (Kaz) Ag2R 4:28
9. Daniele de Paoli (Ita) Mercatone Uno 4:45
10. Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Vini Caldirola 4:52

Fraser Wins in Chicago
(courtesy John Wordin - Mercury)

The Mercury Cycling Team notched win number 88 as Gord Fraser won today's (August 19th) 50 km Criterium. In a preview of tomorrow's USPRO Criterium Championship.

The race was fast as several riders from all the teams were willing to try their luck at a breakaway. The most significant of which was a group that included Mercury's Henk Vogels and 4 others. But the constant $100 primes made everyone willing to keep the pace high and not allow more than 10 seconds.

At 5 laps to go, it was a battle of trains as Saturn tried to out duel Mercury for leadership of the race. Showing the most life of the season, Saturn looked like they might pull it off with 1 lap to go.

But the Mercury boys would have none of that and with Chris Horner, Henk Vogels, Mike Sayers and Co., Fraser was given the last corner and never looked back.

1. Gord Fraser (Can) Mercury
2. Eddy Gragus (USA) Jelly Belly
3. Vasily Davidenko (Rus) Navigators


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.