Canadian Cyclist


May 14/16 19:43 pm - Tour of California Announces Rosters, Six Canadians to Start

Posted by Editor on 05/14/16

The Amgen Tour of California (May 15-22) has announced the rosters for the eleventh annual stage race. The event attracts some of the brightest cycling stars in the world to the golden state each May. This year’s field includes 11 World Champions, five Olympic medalists and Rio Olympic hopefuls.  There are six Canadians in the field, on three teams.

The Amgen Tour of California is known for epic sprinter shootouts, and the 2016 edition will pit reigning World Champion and UCI’s top-ranked rider Peter Sagan (Tinkoff), also the California defending champion and Sprint record holder, against rivals Mark Cavendish (Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka), who came away with the green jersey last year, John Degenkolb (Team Giant-Alpecin) and Alexander Kristoff (Team KATUSHA).

In addition to Sagan, general classification hopefuls include 2014 race champion Bradley Wiggins, back with his development squad (Team WIGGINS), French sensation Julian Alaphilippe (Etixx-Quick-Step Pro Cycling Team), who placed second by seconds last year, Laurens ten Dam (Team Giant-Alpecin), Rohan Dennis (BMC Racing Team), Andrew Talansky (Cannondale Pro Cycling Team) and Lawson Craddock (Cannondale Pro Cycling Team), two-time Best Young Rider at the Amgen Tour of California.

With 144 cyclists from 18 teams, and the most ever WorldTour teams, preparing to face-off over a 782 mile course from Southern to Northern California, this may be one of the strongest fields every.

"In an Olympic year, it is especially exciting to welcome so many elite competitors and Olympic gold hopefuls to the golden state," said Kristin Klein, president of the race and executive vice president of AEG Sports. "The Amgen Tour of California is filled with talent this year, and as we kick off a new decade of California racing, fans will be treated to the most exciting edition yet."


Roster List


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.