Canadian Cyclist


May 18/16 18:52 pm - Cyclists Lead Inaugural Canada Commonwealth Cup

Posted by Editoress on 05/18/16

On Wednesday, Commonwealth Games Canada (CGC) announced the launch of the Canada Commonwealth Cup, a trophy with cash prizes awarded annually to Canada's top Commonwealth athletes and/or teams. The total prize purse is $72,500. Road/Track cyclist Jasmin Glaesser and Para-cyclist Tristen Chernove lead the women's and men's rankings, respectively.



Jasmin Glaesser



Tristen Chernove


As the founder and four-time host of the Commonwealth Games, Canada remains strongly committed to the Commonwealth sport movement and with the introduction of the Canada Commonwealth Cup, CGC reaffirms its commitment to recognizing and supporting Canada's top Commonwealth athletes.

"The Canadian Commonwealth Cup is an exciting new program that will reward our top athletes", said Richard Powers, President of Commonwealth Games Canada. "I am especially proud of the fact that, in line with our Commonwealth values, this program includes para-athletes, as well as offers equal prize money to men and women."

Canadian national senior athletes and teams from sports in the upcoming Commonwealth Games are eligible for the program. Cup points are awarded based on athlete's finishes at international competitions and tallied during the calendar year, January 1st to December 31st. The first Canada Commonwealth Cup and cash prizes will be awarded in January, 2017. Canada Commonwealth Cup standings are maintained and updated on CGC's website,, and include athlete biographies, stories and program details. Currently leading the Canada Commonwealth Cup Standings are:

1 Jasmin Glaesser (Cycling) 2100 points
2 (Tied) Jennifer Abel (Diving) 1640
2 (Tied) Aurelie Rivard Para-Swimming 1640

1 (Tied) Tristen Chernove (Para-Cycling) 2000 points
1 (Tied) Francois Imbeau-Dulac (Diving) 2000
3 Philippe Gagne (Diving) 1820


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.