Canadian Cyclist


July 15/17 12:25 pm - Simmerling Awarded Investors Group AthletesCAN Bursary

Posted by Editoress on 07/15/17

AthletesCAN and Investors Group are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Team Investors Group Amateur Athletes Fund bursary.  Rio bronze medalist Georgia Simmerling was the only cycling recipient this year.

In keeping with their commitment to amateur sport in Canada, Investors Group established a bursary fund for Canada's top high performance athletes. A national leader in delivering personalized financial solutions to Canadians, Investors Group annually awards twenty $5,000 bursaries to assist Canada's elite amateur athletes with the costs of training and competition. Selection criteria includes: athletic achievement, financial need and community involvement.

Since its inception in 2000, the Team Investors Group Amateur Athletes Fund has provided $1.7 million to Canadian athletes.  AthletesCAN administers the bursary on behalf of Investors Group.

"Investors Group is proud to support our nation's elite athletes with these bursaries," says Trevor Krahn, Director, Community Investment for Investors Group. "Athletes at this level are constantly juggling the demands of work and school with training and competition. For 17 years, we have been pleased to provide Canada's athletes with bursaries totalling $1.7 million to assist them in managing these demands so they are well positioned for success in their sport."

AthletesCAN interim Executive Director, Thomas Hall adds: "AthletesCAN is proud to partner with Investors Group, one of Canada's leading corporate contributors of direct funding to our country's top high performance athletes.  As a champion of leadership on and off the field of play, Investors Group has recognized the athletic accomplishments, financial need and community involvement of Canadian athletes through the Team Investors Group Amateur Athletes Fund for 17 years.  On behalf of Canadian athletes, AthletesCAN applauds Investors Group for their continued leadership and support where it is needed most."



Georgia Simmerling (far right)


The 2017 Team Investors Group Amateur Athletes Fund bursary recipients are:

Erica Wiebe (Stittsville, ON) - Wrestling
Alex Boisvert-Lacroix (Sherbrooke, QC) - Long Track Speed Skating
Jackson Payne (Edmonton, AB) - Artistic Gymnastics
Heather Bansley (Waterdown, ON) - Beach Volleyball
Brenda Bowskill (Whitby, ON) - Sailing
Georgia Simmerling (West Vancouver, QC) - Ski Cross/Track Cycling
Dustin Cook (Ottawa, ON) - Alpine Skiing
Evan Dunfee (Richmond, BC) - Athletics (Race Walk)
Kirk Schornstein (Spruce Grove, AB) - Para Alpine Skiing
Jennifer Wakefield (Pickering, ON) - Women's Ice Hockey
Katerine Savard (Pont-Rouge, QC) - Swimming
Taryn Grant (Winnipeg, MB) - Water Ski
William Dutton (Humboldt, SK) - Long Track Speed Skating
Celina Toth (St. Thomas, ON) - Diving
Korey Jarvis (Elliot Lake, ON) - Wrestling
Valentyna Zolotarova (Vancouver, BC) - Karate
Patricia Wright (Toronto, ON) - Para Karate
Karen Paquin (Québec City, QC) - Rugby
Alexander Fathoullin (Shelburne, ON) - Short Track Speed Skating
Jacqueline Simoneau (Saint-Laurent, QC) - Synchronized Swimming


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.