Canadian Cyclist


November 2/21 8:10 am - UCI Announces Full List of Riders for Track Champions League

Posted by Editoress on 11/2/21

The UCI Track Champions league has confirmed its final entry list ahead of round one of the inaugural series on November 6th. As we previously revealed, four Canadians are among the 72 riders - Kelsey Mitchell, Lauriane Genest, Hugo Barrette and Maggie Coles-Lyster.

The final fifty riders were announced on Friday, joining a star-studded list of 22 pre-qualified athletes including Mitchell, Harrie Lavreysen, Jeffrey Hoogland, Katie Archibald, Kirsten Wild, Ed Clancy and Emma Hinze. The final 72 riders, spanning 30 nationalities, hold ten Olympic gold medals and a staggering 63 UCI Track Cycling World Championship titles between them.

Forty eight have qualified for the league based predominantly on their strong results at last week's Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Roubaix, France. Two pre-qualified riders also join them to complete the 72 rider puzzle. All riders will compete for equal prize money in the innovative new series, set to elevate the sport to new levels with short format, high adrenaline racing, broadcast to millions.

Among the names confirmed on Friday to ride in the women's sprint category are Lea Friedrich (Germany) - winner of 3 gold medals at the Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Roubaix, France, Tokyo 2020 bronze medalist Lauriane Genest (Canada) and Daria Shmeleva (Russia) - Olympic medalist, multiple UCI World Champion and European Champion. They're joined by Sophie Capewell (Great Britain), Yana Tyshchenko (Russia), Mina Sato (Japan) and Anastasiia Voinova (Russia) - all of whom medalled at the UCI Track Worlds in Roubaix.


Lauriane Genest

Kelsey Mitchell

Hugo Barrette

Maggie Coles-Lyster

The Men's Sprint qualified riders include former European champion Mateusz Rudyk (Poland), Tokyo 2020 bronze medalist and silver medalist at the UCI Track Worlds in Roubaix Rayan Helal (France), as well as two-time UCI Track Cycling World Champion Stefan Bötticher (Germany), also a medalist in Roubaix.

Among those who have qualified for the women's endurance category are Coles-Lyster (fourth in the Scratch race at the world championships), U23 European Road Race Champion Silvia Zanardi (Italy), 2021 European points race champion and Tokyo 2022 bronze medalist Gulnaz Khatuntseva (Russia) and Yumi Kajihara - silver medalist in the omnium at Tokyo 2020 and 2020 UCI Track Cycling World Champion.

The recently qualified men's endurance riders include Tuur Dens (Belgium), Luri Leitao (Portugal), Rhys Britton (Great Britain) and Michele Scartezzini (Italy) - all medalists at the UCI Track Worlds in Roubaix.

The UCI Track Champions League will feature the very best talent coming together in a way never seen before, battling it out across five rounds in four countries. For riders, selection represents a 'golden ticket' to the most exciting series in track cycling.

Round 1, at the Velòdrom Illes Balears, Mallorca, Spain, begins on November 6th.

UCI President David Lappartient said: "After much anticipation, the UCI Track Champions League is just around the corner and I am incredibly excited to see this fantastic format come to fruition. The Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Roubaix this month were an incredible spectacle, and now we have the best riders from that event lining up for the UCI Track Champions League. They will join the pre-qualified riders to form one of the most high-class track cycling fields we have seen in recent times. So many Olympic and UCI World Champions in one velodrome at the same time is a guarantee of an amazing show. Together with Discovery Sports Events, we are staging an unprecedented event that will delight the athletes and the fans with back-to-back action through November and December."

Final Entry List

Sprint - Women:

Lauriane Genest (Canada)
Lea Friedrich (Germany)
Miriam Vece (Italy)
Martha Bayona Pineda (Colombia)
Riyu Ohta (Japan)
Sophie Capewell (Great Britain)
Yana Tyshchenko (Russia)
Daria Shmeleva (Russia)
Laurine Van Riessen (Netherlands)
Anastasiia Voinova (Russia)
Mina Sato (Japan)
Yuli Paola Verdugo Osuna (Mexico)
Emma Hinze (Germany)
Mathilde Gros (France)
Simona Krupeckaitė (Lithuania)
Kelsey Mitchell (Canada)
Shanne Braspennincx (Netherlands)
Olena Starikova (Ukraine)

Sprint - Men:

Jean Spies (South Africa)
Mateusz Rudyk (Poland)
Jair Tjon En Fa (Suriname)
Tom Derache (France)
Jordan Castle (New Zealand)
Kevin Quintero Chavarro (Colombia)
Mikhail Yakovlev (Russia)
Kento Yamasaki (Japan)
Rayan Helal (France)
Stefan Bötticher (Germany)
Jai Angsuthasawit (Thailand)
Hugo Barrette (Canada)
Harrie Lavreysen (Netherlands)
Nicholas Paul (Trinidad & Tobago)
Jeffrey Hoogland (Netherlands)
Vasilijus Lendel (Lithuania)
Maximilian Levy (Germany)
Denis Dmitriev (Russia)

Endurance - Women:

Maggie Coles-Lyster (Canada)
Hanna Tserakh (Belarus)
Tania Calvo (Spain)
Michelle Andres (Switzerland)
Alžbeta Bačíková (Slovakia)
Gulnaz Khatuntseva (Russia)
Emily Kay (Ireland)
Silvia Zanardi (Italy)
Karolina Karasiewicz (Poland)
Maria Martins (Portugal)
Olivija Baleisyte (Lithuania)
Eukene Larrarte (Spain)
Yumi Kajihara (Japan)
Kirsten Wild (Netherlands)
Katie Archibald (Great Britain)
Anita Yvonne Stenberg (Norway)
Annette Edmondson (Australia)
Kendall Ryan (USA)

Endurance - Men:

Tuur Dens (Belgium)
Rhys Britton (UK)
Roy Eefting (Netherlands)
Alan Banaszek (Poland)
Jules Hesters (Belgium)
Gavin Hoover (USA)
Michele Scartezzini (Italy)
Kazushige Kuboki (Japan)
Claudio Imhof (Switzerland)
Aaron Gate (New Zealand)
Iuri Leitao (Portugal)
Erik Martorell Haga (Spain)
Ed Clancy (Great Britain)
Sebastian Mora (Spain)
Corbin Strong (New Zealand)
Yacine Chalel (Algeria)
Kelland O'Brien (Australia)
Rotem Tene (Israel)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.