Canadian Cyclist


August 6/01 8:01 am - Ontario Track Championships, Mike Nields Crit (US),Tour de Manitoulin

Posted by Editoress on 08/6/01

Talvest Mutual Funds - Ontario Track Championships

Saturday August 11, 2001
Raindate: Sunday August 12th

Registration: 9:00 - 9:30am
Entry Fee: $25 Senior Men, $20 other categories
Start: 10:00am

Schedule of Events

10:001000m ITTSr. Men, Jr. Men
500m ITTWomen, Masters
Sprint QualifyingSenior Men 8 to qualify, other cats. 4 qualify
Sprint 1/4 FinalSenior Men
11:304000m PursuitSenior Men 4 to Qualify
3000mJunior Men Final
3000mWomen Final
2000mMasters Final
1:30Sprint 1/2 FinalSr. Men, Jr. Men, Women, Masters
Pursuit FinalSr. Men
Sprint FinalSr. Men, Jr. Men, Women, Masters
Sprint 5-8 FinalSr. Men
4:30Points Race Final12,500m Sr. Men
Points Race Final7,500m Jr. Men, Women, Masters

1. Categories & Prizes:
Sr. Men (19 - 39) - individual medals, 4 events
Jr. Men (15 - 18) - omnium plaques
Women - Open - omnium plaques
Masters - omnium plaques
2. Omnium Points awarded top 5 places: 7,5,3,2,1.
3. Sr. Men omnium will be calculated for O-Cup standings.

For more info contact: or 905-775-8616

Directions to Wind-Del Community Park from Toronto (Courtesy of Ronde van Wind-Del)
Take QEW and 403 through Hamilton to the top of Hamilton Mountain at Ancaster. Leave Hwy 403 and join Hwy #2 toward Brantford.
At Brant Road #18, turn left Follow Brant Road #18 for 8kms to Brant County Road #4 and turn left.
Keep on #4 for about 11 kms. and cross Brant County Road #24 at Oakland.
Continue to Scotland to the junction of Hwy. #24 after 3kms.
Turn left onto Hwy #24 and immediately right at the fork onto Brant County Road #4.
Continue for 6.5kms through Vanessa and then another 5kms. to Haldimand Norfolk Road #25.
Turn left and proceed for 5kms to Windham Centre.
At the T junction, turn right onto RR #9.
Take the first left back onto #25, cross the railway tracks and Wind-Del Community Park is on the left hand side.

Mike Nields Memorial Bannock Street Criterium - Denver, CO - Aug. 5
Courtesy Team Mercury

The Mercury team of Cooke, Wherry, Moninger, Frischkorn, and Zajicek took on the Bannock street criterium on Sunday. The field was well represented by Saturn and Prime Alliance, but the Mercury team felt confident about it's chances with sprinting ace Baden Cooke, who was in town for some high altitude training.

The Mercury men were very aggressive early on and forced many small breaks, including a solo effort by Chris Wherry that lasted nearly 1/3 of the race. Chris was caught late in the race, thanks mostly to the solo efforts of Credit Agricole's Jonathan Vaughters.

As the field prepared for a mass sprint, Wherry still had enough gas in his tank to drive the front of the train on the final lap, where Moninger took over and lead Cooke through the last 1/4 lap. As they came through the last corner, it was Moninger, Cooke, and Jonas Carney of Prime Alliance lined up in that order. Cooke shot around Moninger just as Carney blew a tire and hit the deck hard! This left the door wide open for Cooke to cruise in for the victory. Moninger nearly made it a 1-2 finish but was passed just before the line and finished 3rd. Baden's victory is the team's 74th of the year.

1. Baden Cooke Mercury
2. Chris Fisher Saturn
3. Scott Moninger Mercury
4. Soren Peterson Saturn

Tour de Manitoulin
Courtesy Sandra Kleppe

Summer is not over! Here is an interesting event on the Manitoulin Island if you are looking for something to do.

A four day tour around Manitoulin Island, September 27th to 30th.

(Day 1) Start time 12:00 noon Thursday Sept 27, at Little Current and South Bay Mouth to Gore Bay - camp at Janet Head Park
(Day 2) Gore Bay to Meldrum Bay
(Day 3) Meldrum Bay to Wolsley Lake Park
(Day 4) Wolsley Lake Park back to start .

Total cost for 4 days: Suppers supplied, cost of camping, support vehicle, Tshirts (Bike Manitoulin) inclusive is, $150.

Proceeds go to Heart and Stroke.

Registration by Sept 17th.
Contact number 705-377-4272,


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.