Canadian Cyclist


July 16/02 6:17 am - Cascade Classic: Final Stage and Complete Final GC

Posted by Editoress on 07/16/02

Cascade Classic
Report Courtesy Saturn

The final day of racing at the Cascade Classic was raced on a nearly flat and not too technical 7/10th mile criterium course in which the women did 45 minute + 5 laps on and the men 1 hour + 5 laps. With temperatures finally dropping down to the mid 80's, it was a very pleasant day at the races for riders and the sizable crowd cheering them on in the old Mill district of Bend.

The women's race started off with several attacks and counterattacks which produced numerous small breakaway attempts in the first 30 minutes of racing but nothing would stick. Then with about eight laps of racing left Saturn's Kim Bruckner pushed the pace up high enough in a counter attack that only Sandy Espeseth of Hutch's could respond. They etched out a 10 second lead over the next 3-4 laps and it looked touch and go until finally the chase from the field abated and the gap grew to a comfortable 20 seconds going into the last lap. Bruckner jumped first and looked to have it won but Espeseth benefited by waiting in the draft until the last 50 meters to come around and nip Bruckner at the line. Hutch's Nicole Demars brought in the field for third. Bruckner's second place put a rosy glow on her overall win at the 2002 Cascade Classic.

In the men's race a large break of 12 emerged only a few laps into the race with all major teams represented. Saturn's Fisher and Trent Klasna immediately started rolling with it sensing the opportunity that the break would provide. After 10 more minutes the break split up with five emerging ahead of the remaining seven in the breakaway while the Mercury Team set tempo on the front of the field to protect Chris Wherry's lead in the overall standings. The break contained Chris Baldwin and Glenn Mitchell from Navigators, John Peters from Prime Alliance, John Leiswyn from 7-Up/Nutrafig and Saturn's Fisher.

The break eventually lapped the field with roughly eight laps remaining. Immediately, the teams brought their riders who were in the break to the front right away to set them up for the sprint finish. With four laps to go Saturn took the front to deliver Fisher in the front position going into the last turn. From here he jumped hard, holding off Baldwin for the win with Peters taking third. By lapping the field both Baldwin and Leiswyn moved up slightly in the overall standings, however, Wherry returns home with the overall win.

Stage 6 Men: Volkswagen/Carrera Motors Old Mill District Criterium
1. Fisher, Chris (Saturn) 1:08:11
2. Baldwin, Chris (Navigators)
3. Peters, John (Prime Alliance)
4. Mitchell, Glen (Navigators)
5. Lieswyn, Jon (7UP/ Nutra Fig)
12. Fraser, Gord (Mercury) 1:26
41. Tuft, Svein (Prime Alliance) s.t.
51. Elzinger, Adrian (CDS/Kenwood/WCS) 3:13
57. Siebel, Dylan (CDS/Kenwood/WCS) 4:08

Stage 5 Women: Volkswagen/Carrera Motors Old Mill District Criterium
1. Espeseth, Sandy (Hutch's) 53:21
2. Bruckner, Kimberly (Saturn) s.t.
3. Demars, Nicole (Hutch's) at 0:14
4. Albert, Heather (Goldy's)
5. Calle, Maria Luisa (Seleccion Columbia)
7. Goldstein, Leah (Hutch's) all s.t.

Men Final GC
1. Wherry, Chris (Mercury)12:32:36
2. Swindlehurst, Burke (Navigators)at 0:18
3. Pate, Danny (Prime Alliance)0:21
4. Creed, Michael (Prime Alliance)0:51
5. Baldwin, Chris (Navigators)0:54
6. Johnson, Tim (Saturn)1:11
7. Horner, Chris (Prime Alliance)1:12
8. Leaper, Tom (Navigators)1:53
9. Moninger, Scott (Mercury)2:33
10. Kluck, Damon (Saturn)2:41
11. Lieswyn, Jon (7UP/ Nutra Fig)3:23
12. Cruz, Antonio (USPS)3:28
13. Ley, Michael (Jittery Joe's)4:55
14. Zajicek, Phil (Mercury)4:55
15. Prado Neto, Hugo (Cody Racing)5:32
16. Hunt, John (Sierra Nevada Cycling)6:11
17. Frischorn, Will (Saturn)6:30
18. Perrins, Sandy (LoganRaceClub)6:50
19. Danielson, Tom (Mercury)8:02
20. Wyandt, David (Sierra Nevada Cycling)9:41
21. Jacques-Maynes, Ben (Sierra Nevada Cycling)10:26
22. Petersen, Soren (Saturn)11:48
23. Dubberly, Matt (Sierra Nevada Cycling)14:36
24. Elzinger, Adrian (CDS/Kenwood/WCS)14:57
25. Wicks, Barry (TeamBikeGalleryTREKVW)15:15
26. Anker, Michael J. (KB Homes/I.Martin)19:53
27. Osguthorpe, John (LoganRaceClub)20:49
28. Siebel, Dylan (CDS/Kenwood/WCS)22:21
29. Fraser, Gord (Mercury)25:08
30. Klikna, Jason (Sierra Nevada Cycling)25:48
31. Ollerenshaw, Doug (TeamBikeGalleryTREKVW)27:58
32. Sayers, Mike (Mercury)28:52
33. Burndred, Geoffrey (Broadmark Capital)32:00
34. Suttle, Dale (BackyarBurgers/David Jones)33:19
35. Guay, Ryan (Navigators)33:31
36. Tonkin, Eric (TeamBikeGalleryTREKVW)33:39
37. Butler, Allan (LoganRaceClub)34:49
38. Coyle, Charles F. (7UP/ Nutra Fig)35:34
39. Sbeih, Adham (Mercury)35:58
40. Beall, Rusty (Saturn of Bellvue)38:06
41. Tuft, Svein (Prime Alliance)38:45
42. Kilun, Roman (SantaCruz Spokesman)41:22
43. Dills, Nathan (TeamBikeGalleryTREKVW)43:01
44. Klasna, Trent (Saturn)43:13
45. Lokkesmoe, Jason (Sharp/TREK)43:31
46. Hudson, Ron (KB Homes/I.Martin)45:34
47. Mitchell, Glen (Navigators)45:45
48. Candelario, Alex (Prime Alliance)47:27
49. O'Bee, Kirk (Navigators)48:29
50. Touchstone, Andrew (Marathon Racing Team)51:03
51. Doherty, Lance (3 BRT)55:57
52. Long, Erik (Team Compass)56:07
53. Van Den Akker, Erik (Reno Wheelmen)58:10
54. Peters, John (Prime Alliance)58:34
55. Fisher, Chris (Saturn)58:44
56. Newman, Robert (F2 Consulting)1:05:06
57. Vigus, Devon (Sharpbicycle/Trek)1:09:08
58. Fuentes, David (Sierra Nevada Cycling)1:10:14
59. Littlehales, Todd (Navigators)1:12:24
60. Eck, Kirk (LoganRaceClub)1:13:39
61. Stevenson, Russell (Prime Alliance)1:13:49
62. Bethel, Jason (Nantucket)1:16:26
63. Baumann, Chris (Sierra Nevada Cycling)1:17:14
64. Leitheiser, Jason L. (BHC/Airborne)1:18:03
65. Crawford, Tom (Broadmark Capital)1:21:49
66. Caton, Jeff (Napa Valley Velo)1:23:51
67. Pennington, Luke (--)1:24:21
68. Collard, Marc (Davis Bike Club)1:28:13
69. Elken, Evan (Broadmark Capital)1:30:22
70. Mandart, Andrew (AST)1:35:10
71. Morgan, Justin (Sierra Nevada Cycling)1:35:29
72. Campbell, Rob (Broadmark Capital)1:35:43
73. Martin, Scott (Logan Race Club)1:43:34
74. Walker, Zachary (Olympic Club)1:53:29
75. White, Troy (Sierra Nevada Cycling)1:54:37
76. Richter, David (Recycled Cycles)2:05:39
77. Richardson, Sam (TeamBikeGalleryTREKVW)2:15:02
78. Jacques, Michael (F2 Consulting)2:29:17
79. Klikna, Josh (Sierra Nevada Cycling)2:30:20
80. Bullentini, Rinaldo (F2 Consulting)2:38:38
81. Rilling, Roger (Sierra Nevada Cycling)3:00:14
Women Final GC
1. Bruckner, Kimberly (Saturn)8:08:05
2. Albert, Heather (Goldy's)7:03
3. Goldstein, Leah (Hutch's)9:52
4. Maher, Katharine (3 BRT)10:02
5. Wood, Susie (Lost River Cycling)12:20
6. Phillips, Jessica (Saturn)13:34
7. Babbitt, Brooke (Team Goldy's)15:14
8. Demars, Nicole (Hutch's)20:30
9. Rachetto, Liza (Lost River Cycling)22:28
10. Espeseth, Sandy (Hutch's)22:50
11. Trapp, Sima (Goldy's)24:57
12. Calle, Maria Luisa (Seleccion Columbia)26:49
13. Gonzalez de Ferrat (Goldy's)29:54
14. Pennington, Alice (TeamBikegalleryTRE)31:44
15. Matlock, Lisa (FordNoBoundaries)32:57
16. Magness, Lisa (IntermountainCycli)34:06
17. Nakamura, Yukie (Webcor/AltoVelo)34:06
18. Snodgrass, Amy (Team Oregon)34:48
19. Sanborn, Melissa (Lost River Cycling)35:56
20. Gollogoly, Naomi (TeamBikegalleryTRE)54:08
21. Holser, Kele (Armondos)1:05:03
22. Hunt, Lisa (The Olympic Club)1:06:40
23. Jones, Kathleen (Five Valley Velo)1:14:26
24. Westbrook, Emily (Gregg'sTrek / VW)1:18:54
25. Erwin, Kristina (Lost River Cycling)1:31:16
26. Meyer, Martha (Colorado Velo)1:33:15


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.