Canadian Cyclist


September 24/02 1:53 am - Tour of Tobago

Posted by Editoress on 09/24/02

Tour of Tobago International Stage Race
September 19th to 22nd.

This was a 4 day, 5 stage race, with the final 2 stages including a number of category 1 and 2 climbs.

Stage 5: 135 km road race

(report courtesy of Trinidad Guardian)
For the first few miles of this final, mountainous stage, the pack stayed together, with Abraham, Murphy and Dominguez setting the pace. Then it was Murphy who broke away as they neared Mason Hall.

Determined not to be left behind, Abraham (last year's winner) set off in pursuit, with only Speacht of Canada able to follow him.

Saturn's Dominguez, a 4 time PanAm gold medallist, tried to bridge near Moriah but couldn't shake Team Angustura and stayed with the peleton. As the lead trio hit the long descent to Castara, their lead had increased to over three minutes but at the foot of the mountains, Murphy punctured. However, a quick wheel change enabled him to rejoin Abraham and Speacht and also to take the overall K.O.M.

The pace picked up as they reached the western side of the island to make their way back to Crown Point at which point the break had more than five minutes lead on the remains of the peleton. At this point, Murphy pulled away from the other two but by Pembroke Abraham and Speacht had almost caught up with the Tobagonian. Then Speacht punctured with no service vehicle in site and it became a two man dash to the finish, where Murphy won the sprint and also locked up the Sprint King award.

Speach, who lost over five minutes on the leaders, was caught by Mangroo, who had escaped from the peleton, but just managed to outsprint the Belgian rider for third. Dominguez rolled in in fifth.

Stage 5
1. Eric Murphy (Team Angustura)3:35:07
2. Emile Abraham (Team Angustura)3:35:09
3. Kevin Speacht (Midweek C.C.)3:41:22
4. Stephen Mangroo (CKVL Verzakeringen)s.t.
5. Ivan Dominguez (Saturn)3:42:05
Final GC
1. Emile Abraham (Team Angustura)15:04:28
2. Eric Murphy (Team Angustura)15:07:10
3. Ivan Dominguez (Saturn)15:10:36
4. Kevin Speacht (Midweek C.C.)15:19:16
5. Robert Marsh (Antigua/Barbuda)15:21:48
6. Stephen Mangroo (CKVL Verzakeringen)15:22:15
7. Dwayne Gibbs (Guyana)15:30:48
8. Peter Morse (Midweek C.C.)15:38:36
9. Wim Renders (Team Angustura)15:42:15
10. Phillip Clarke (Barbados)15:44:23
11. David Alves (Warriors)15:49:17
12. Sheldon King (Nova Sports)15:49:17
13. Bruce Krip (Midweek C.C.)15:50:30
14. Stefan Szeki (Saturn)15:53:02
15. Shannon Metivier (Toyota Madonna)15:53:17
Team GC
1. Team Angustura45:53:41
2. Midweek C.C.46:48:22
3. Saturn46:58:47


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.