Canadian Cyclist


June 9/03 1:26 am - CCA Announces MTB Team for PanAm Champs, Maritime Track Cup, Festival de Velo

Posted by Editoress on 06/9/03

MTB Team For Pan Am Championships
Courtesy CCA

Alison Sydor and Kiara Bisaro lead a five-person team to Medellin, Colombia next week to compete at the MTB Pan Am Championships. Sydor and Bisaro have answered the call of the CCA and are going to score the maximum number of UCI points possible. This will hopefully reconfirm Canada's position among the top three nations in order to have the maximum number of starters on the start line at the Athens Olympics in 2004.

Joining Sydor and Bisaro are Roddi Lega, who competes in the Elite Men's Race, Ricky Federau, who will compete in the Under-23 race and Max Plaxton, who will compete in the Junior Men's race.

All of the athletes will race on Sunday, June 15th.

Yury Kashirin, the National Team Head Coach, will lead the team, with help from Michel Leblanc.

National Team participating at the MTB Pan Am Championships:

Kiara Bisaro Comox, BC
Ricky Federau Abbottsford, BC
Roddi Lega Edmonton, AB
Max Plaxton Victoria, BC
Alison Sydor North Vancouver, BC

The CCA would like to thank the representatives of Gears Racing Team and Trek - Volkswagen Racing Team for allowing their athletes to partake in this project.

Coupe Maritime Cup (Track)
Courtesy Luc Arseneau

The Caisse populaire Velodrome and the National Cycling Centre - Atlantic Canada are proud to release the results for the first track event of the year. The Cycle Lambert Maritime track Cup was held of June 8th on the Caisse populaire Dieppe Velodrome with riders from New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Quebec. Here are the first results (top 3 when or non lapped riders). The complete results will be published shortly ( ).

Le Vélodrome Caisse populaire Dieppe et le Centre national de cyclisme - Canada atlantique sont fiers d'annoncer les résultats de la Série Lambert Coupe des maritimes sur piste. La Cycle Lambert Coupe des maritimes sur piste s'est déroulé le 8 juin avec des coureurs des provinces atlantique et du Québec. Voici les résultats initiaux (trois premières places ou coureurs non doublés). Les résultats complets seront publiés sur Internet prochainement ( ).

Course aux points- points race

Sacha Leblanc- Moncton, NB

Kirk Emery (Sussex, NB)
Justin St-Onge (Amherst, NS)

Nathan St-Onge (Amhesrt, NS)
Keith Thorarinson (Bromont, QC)
Kevin Noiles (Lower Sackville, NS)

Flying 200m

Femmes/ Women
Sacha Leblanc (Moncton, NB)

Sénior/ senior
David M Elhaw (Bromont, QC)
Keith Thorarinson (Bromont, QC)
Martin Laforest (Bromont, QC)

Kirk Emery (Sussex, NB)
Justin st-Onge (Amherst, NS)
Chrisopher Dunbar (NS)

500 m

Sacha Leblanc (Moncton, NB)

Christian Arsenault (Dieppe, NB)
Justin Léger (Dieppe, NB)


David McElhaw (Bromont, QC)
Martin Laforest (Bromont, QC)
Keith Thorarinson (Bromont, QC)

Junior/ Junior
Kirk Emery (Sussex, NB)
Justin St-onge (Amherst, NS)
Christopher Dunbar (NS)

Sprint / Vitesse

Keith Thorarinson (Bromont)
D avid McElhaw (Bromont)
M. Laforest (Bromont)

Kirk Emery (Sussex, NB)
Justin St-Onge (Amherst, NS)
Chrisopher Dunbar (NS)

Justin Leger (Dieppe, NB)
Christian Arsenault (Dieppe, NB)

Sacha Leblanc (Moncton, NB)


K Thorarinson (Bromont, QC)
Craig de Geir (Lower Sackville, NS)
Nathan St-Onge (Amherst, NS)

Justin St-Onge (Amherst, NS)


Keith Thororinsan (Bromont, QC)
Nathan St Onge (Amhesrt, NS)
David McElhaw (Bromont, QC)

Kirk Emery (Sussex, NB)
Justin St-Onge (Amherst, NS)
Christopher Dunbar (NS)

1. Justin leger (Dieppe, NB)
2. Christian Arsenault (Dieppe, NB)

1 Sacha Leblanc (Moncton, NB)

André Charlebois (Moncton, NB)
Pablo Vergara (Moncton, NB)

Festival de Velo
Courtesy Rob Good

Final preparations are now under way for the July 20th "FESTIVAL de VELO" at RIM Park in Waterloo, 80kms west of Toronto.

In an effort to bring more professionalism to races in Ontario, Full service change rooms with toilets & showers will be available for all riders, A big improvement from having to change in your car. Food & beverages will be available all day near the Start/Finish area.

The 4 km course with 5 fast corners will feature a 500m home stretch of 4 lane wide smooth road for the final sprint.

Cash Prizes, Trophies, Merchandise, Primes, & much more, will go to the top finishing riders in many of the Categories.

Entry Fee $30.00

Start Times - Distances

Senior 3, Juniors
1.5 hours / 15 laps / 60kms
9am Start

Master B/C/D, Women, Cadets
1.5 hours / 15 laps / 60kms
11am Start

High Wheeler Demo

Master A
2 hours / 18 laps/ 72kms
1pm Start

Senior 1,2 (Pro)
2 hours / 22 laps / 88kms
3pm Start

All race information can be found by the middle of the week.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.