Canadian Cyclist


October 31/05 9:59 am - B.C. & Ontario 'Cross

Posted by Editor on 10/31/05

Jericho 'Cross - B.C.
Courtesy Organizer

The seventh race in the BC Cross Cup was hosted by Team Wedgewood at the classic Jericho course on Vancouver's waterfront. Weather was perfect with a partly cloudy sky and average temps that brought the racers and fans out for a great day of racing.

Men's B saw a good field of 36 racers take on the former National Champs course. The course was at its best with a muddy section leading to the main run up proving the most technical challenge, slicker than normal grass sections and sloggy bark mulch areas all helped to slow down the lap times. Brad Collins took an early flyer and held a good gap for the first couple of laps but a group of three including Chiron Kantankis, Kim Steed and Simon Pulfrey worked together and caught Brad. They then settled things on the last lap and finished in the above order with Collins holding on to fourth. One notable result was female Kelly Jones who finished seventh in her prep for Nationals.

The Women's race was missing some of the hot BC talent as they all prepared in their own way for Nationals but what did transpire was a battle of two clubs. The host Team Wedgewood raced against Team Coastal with Wedgewood's Sarah Stewart taking the win over her teammate Christy Love and Coastal's Amanda Butler.

Men's A had a great battle between Andrew Pinfold and Andreas Hestler. An early crash by Pinfold took down some of the leaders and injured Drew McKenzie but all resumed racing and a mid race burst by Hestler and Pinfold managed to shake eventual third place finisher Norm Thibault. That left it a two man battle for the win. Going into the last lap "Pinner" was looking very comfortable on Hestler's wheel and with a surge at the muddy run up Pinfold took the lead and held on for a comfortable win. McKenzie rode injured to finish fourth.

Thanks to all of Team Wedgewood's sponsors and to event sponsors La
Bicicletta and Craft custom clothing.

Ryan Morasiewicz has photos from the race posted Here

Men A
1Andrew PinfoldSymmetrics Cycling
2Andreas HestlerRocky Mountain - Business Objects
3Norm ThibaultFrontrunners
4Drew MacKenzieSugoi Giant
5Andrew KyleSugoi Giant
6Kris SneddonKona - les Gets
7Dan McDonaldOpus - OGC
8Kevin CalhounRocky Mountain
9Basse ClementRocky Mountain - Adobe
10Jason FluckigerBayside
11Kevin NoilesEscape Devo
12Patrick Love
13Matt PettersonBicisport
14Sven SturmOrganic Athlete
15Jeff McCaughy
16Duncan SteeleEscape Devo
17Jonathan GormickSteed Cycles
18Jay MurrayTrek - Redtruck Ale
19Rob GosselinAtomic
20Scott MaloreSteed Cycles
21Joe Lepine
22Brian AndersonSugoi Giant
23Dan Molgat-RoyPedalhead - Sleemans1 lap
24Rick RodlandFlora Glo - Norco1 lap
25Scott LaliberteBlak Dog1 lap
26Chris BarthBayside1 lap
27Scott McGregarSteed Cycles1 lap
28Mart OttenOWC Oldenzaal1 lap
29Will PrattBike BarnDNF
30Mathew ChaterSteed CyclesDNF
Elite Women
1Sarah StwartTeam Wedgewood
2Christy LoveTeam Wedgewood
3Amanda ButlerTeam Coastal
4Shera MoldayTeam Wedgewood
5Barb ZimichTeam Coastal
6Lee DarlingTeam Coastal
7Katherine WarrendorfTeam Wedgewood
8Heather KingTeam Wedgewood
9Lesley TrivettTeam Wedgewood
10Linda ChowTeam Coastal1 Lap
11Christa BarrTeam Coastal1 Lap
Men B
1Chiron KantankisEscape/Devo
2Kim SteedSteed Cycles
3Simon Pulfrey
4Brad CollinsSugoi
5Mark BennettCables and Cogs
6Jeff AinEscape/Devo
7Kelly Jones (w)Sugoi - Bianchi
8Craig Sabourin
9Gordon RossEscape/Devo
10Brian StoreyEscape/Devo
11Trevor HopkinsFloraGlo
12Brian GriffinWentings Cycle
13Raffi Titizian
14Chris Sayers
15Bob ChewEscape/Devo
16Jonathan CheungEscape/Devo
17Jeff HanninenPeninsula Cyles
18Brent Hambleton
19Christian Hansen
20Matt DrownKrebs Cycle
21Kenny JamesEscape/Devo
22Steve Fecho
23Ron Klopper
24Dave WattTrek - Red Truck Ale
25Kevin ThorpeEscape/Devo
26Ryan CousineauEscape/Devo
27Dave NowakFrontrunners
28Rob Bitz
29ER Brown
30Adam GalbraithCVC
31Barry Brennan
32Meshkat Javid
33Cam Finnigan1 lap
34Edwin BeangeKrebs Cycle1 lap
35Jason SandquistFrontrunnersDNF
36Bryce FegleyDNF

Wellington Brewery - Speed River Cycling 'Cross Day 2 - Ontario
Courtesy Organizer



1Luke WinnImpala BicyclesMin35:003 laps25
2Jack BeersIndependentMinat 2:3623
Cadet/Junior Men
1Zach WinnImpala BicyclesJr1:00:158 laps25
2Andrew DoddsMidweek CCCad-1 lap23
Andrew BradburyIndependentJrDNF0
Women (Junior/Senior/Master)
1Anita LaglerWheels of BloorSW50:096 laps25
2Maogosha PyjorWheels of BloorSWat 1:2023
3Carolyne HaillChain ReactionMWat 3:5021
4Lesley ChownSt. Catharines CCSWat 4:0519
5Tabitha FergusonWaterloo CC / The Flying DogsMWat 4:2517
6Sarah BeersTrue North CyclesMWat 4:5016
7Andrea BacikMississauga BRCMWat 6:1015
8Celeste Jones-BaumgardtAquilaJWat 6:5514
9Karen WatsonMcMaster CCSWat 7:4513
10Kelly KavanaughMississauga BRCSW-1 lap12
11Briana IllingworthIndependentSW-1 lap10
Prisca NattererTrue North CyclesMWDNF0
Master B / C / D Men
1Ed CampbellSt. Catharines CCC49:417 laps25
2Roy AndrigoTeam PuschBat 1:3023
3Peter HennessyIndependentBat 1:4521
4Mike VantilSilver Spokes CCBat 1:5519
5Ian StarkeIndependentBat 2:1517
6Andrew StewartIndependentBat 4:3016
7Hugh HillTeam HardwoodBat 4:4015
8Pierre PerrinMidweek CCBat 5:3014
9Len HarrisIndependentBat 6:5013
10Glen LaycockIndependentBat 7:4012
11Richard WadeNewmarket EaglesCat 7:4510
12Mark SieradzanIndependentBat 8:159
13Elmore BrentonNewmarket EaglesD-1 lap8
14Don McCullochD'Ornellas RacingB-1 lap7
15Ken MacDermidNewmarket EaglesB-1 lap6
16Martin KohnIndependentC-1 lap5
17Laurence PollockWoodstock Cycling ClubB-1 lap4
18Jan KocembaIndependentD-1 lap3
19Rob GalbraithIndependentC-1 lap2
20Chris McDonaldIndependentB-1 lap1
21Francis MorrowHamilton CCC-1 lap1
22David TuttleIndependentB-1 lap1
23Andre OuimetIndependentD-2 laps1
24Richard JacksonSt. Catharines CCC-2 laps1
25Chris BlacklockIndependentB-2 laps1
Phil RobinsonHup UnitedBDNF0
Paul DeanWesthaven HomesCDNF0
Master A Men
1Paul GreeneChain ReactionA56:008 laps25
2Lorne AndersonLa BiciclettaAat 1:3523
3Doug RichardsIndependentAat 3:4521
4Kris TobiasSport SwapAat 4:5519
5Zach SteinmanWaterloo CC / The Flying DogsAat 5:0017
6Chris WoodWaterloo CC / The Flying DogsAat 6:1016
7Brian HaumIndependentAat 6:4015
8Doug FraserCavern Cycles / Sneaky DeesAs.t.14
9Tom HowellSport SwapAat 7:2013
10Paul StanojevicMississauga BRCAat 8:0012
11Richard StrongWaterloo CC / The Flying DogsAat 8:10
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.