It is time for the Canadian Cyclist of the Year balloting to begin! We have modified the format a bit this year, after feedback from our readers. There will be 3 categories to vote on:

Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Male
Canadian Cyclist of the Year - Female
Best Individual Performance

Within each category we have pre-selected nominees, and have provided a short description of their accomplishments for the year. Your job is to choose among the possibilities within each category and submit your vote (one per person, please!). The Awards will be presented at the PacificSport National Cycling Centre Champions of Cycling Gala on December 2nd in Victoria, B.C. Voting will close at Noon EST, December 2nd. Of course, the results will also be posted on the Canadian Cyclist website.

Canadian Male Cyclist of the Year:
Gord Fraser Probably the winningest Canadian pro male road rider in recent history, including 5 stages of the inaugural Trans Canada Tour this year.
Roland Green Winner of the Norba National Short Track Series.
Seamus McGrath Consistently high results on the international World Cup circuit, top Canadian at the Mountain Bike Worlds, 5th at PanAms Mountain Bike race.
Brian Walton Winner of the PanAm Games Road Race, silver medal in the Road Nationals, numerous other high placings.
Peter Wedge National Cyclo-cross champion, Bronze at Mtb Nationals (Elite Cross Country), Bronze at Road Nationals Time Trial, National Criterium Champion, 4th at Nationals Road Race... The all round rider.
Eric Wohlberg Winner of the PanAm Games Individual Time Trial, stage winner at the Tour of Langkawi, National Time Trial Champion, numerous other high placings.

Canadian Female Cyclist of the Year:
Lyne Bessette Winner Tour de l'Aude, silver medal in PanAms Time Trial, 4th in PanAms Road Race, numerous other high placings.
Tanya Dubnicoff Double Gold medallist at PanAm Games, Bronze medal at Track Worlds, double National Champion.
Clara Hughes Winner of both National Time Trial and Road Race titles, 7th at Road Worlds Time Trial Championships, 4th at PanAms Time Trial.
Genevieve Jeanson World Champion in both Junior Time Trial and Road Race, winner Killington stage race, Mt Washington Hillclimb, National Road Championships.
Chrissy Redden National Mountain Bike and Cyclo-Cross Champion, multiple top-10 World Cup results (finished 8th overall), ranked 7th in world rankings (post-Worlds).
Alison Sydor World Cup overall champion, number one ranked rider in the world, silver medallist at the Worlds, multiple World Cup/Norba and other international event wins, silver medallist at PanAms, 19th at Road Worlds...

Best Individual Performance:
Tanya Dubnicoff PanAm Gold medal - Sprint
Clara Hughes National Road Race Championship
Genevieve Jeanson World Champion - Road Race
Alison Sydor World Championship - Women's Cross-country Silver Medal
Eric Tourville National Mountain Bike Championship - Men's Cross-country
Team Relay Bronze medal at World Mountain Bike Championships - Alison Sydor, Ricky Federau, Roland Green and Ryder Hesjedal
Brian Walton PanAm Gold medal - Road Race
Eric Wohlberg PanAm Gold medal - Time Trial