Canadian Cyclist - Cycling 4 Women
Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage
Cycling 4 Women


August 6/18 14:19 pm - XCO Canada Cup Concludes in Nova Scotia

Posted by Editoress on 08/6/18

The 2018 edition of the XCO Canada Cup series concluded on Sunday with Round 7 in Kentville, Nova Scotia, a new venue, and the first time the Canada Cup has returned to Nova Scotia in 16 years.

In the Elite women's race, Haley Smith (Norco Factory) took her third win of the season, finishing one minute and six seconds ahead of Canada Cup leader Jennifer Jackson (AWI Racing).  Local Nova Scotia rider Mackenzie Myatt (Cyclesmith CC) took third, and was the top Under-23 rider.  Jackson took the overall title after attending six of seven events and recording five second place results, for a total of 945 points.  Smith took second place overall with 775 points, followed by Elyse Nieuwold (Pendrel Racing) with 580.

"It was a good race," said Smith.  "It's was pretty slick out there and very, very rooty, and it rained!  Jenn [Jackson] put a lot of pressure on for the first two laps, and I didn't know if i had the energy to match it.  But I was able to catch her on the descent and then I was able to ride away.  It was awesome racing here - Lespy [Andrew L'Esperance] is my partner and he is from here, and all his family and friends were here, so I feel really stoked for him.  The organizers did a great job and the course is awesome, and I hope everyone comes next year."

Local Nova Scotia rider Mackenzie Myatt said, "It was slick, it was wet, it was super hard, and it was fun.  It's amazing to race here in Nova Scotia - I've never done a Canada Cup here before - so having everyone from home cheering for me was amazing.  We just need to bring the rest of the country here now."

In the Elite men's competition, Forward Racing-Norco riders took the top two spots, with under-23 national champion Sean Fincham beating team mate and Nova Scotia local Andrew L'Esperance by one minute and 23 seconds.  Under-23 rider Quinton Disera (Norco Factory) finished third, just ahead of his brother and Elite national champion Peter.  Felix Burke (Rocky Mountain), despite missing the final round, took the overall title with 850 points after winning two rounds.  L'Esperance was second with 705 points, followed by Fincham at 655.

"It was really good," said Fincham, "the track was muddy but there was still some grip.  I had a really good day.  It's my first time out East, and it was cool to see everyone so stoked about the race."

"Sean was killing it the first few laps," said L'Esperance, "and then I had a small crash and he got a gap, and he just rolled with it.  We're really happy to go 1-2 here, and I'm happy for Sean to get his first Canada Cup win.  It's really cool to have a Canada Cup back here [in Nova Scotia] after 16 years and to be able to race in front of friends and family.  Also, for the younger local athletes, it's important for them to see this level of event. Thanks to the organizers for bringing this event back, and hopefully it will continue for years to come."

The Junior women's race was won by Krystel Gagnon of Quebec, ahead of Madison Baudoux of Nova Scotia.  Marianne Theberge (Equipe du Quebec/Mathieu Performance) won the overall title with 355 points (best of four results), followed by Mirelle Larose Gingras (Equipe du Quebec/Sigma) at 290 and national champion Roxanne Vermette (Mont Ste Anne) at 285.

The Junior men's race was won by William Cote (Equipe du Quebec), who finished nearly five minutes in front of Zachary Brunelle (Dalbix Siboire), with Dylan Kerr (AJ's Evolution) in third.  The title was taken by national champion Carter Woods (Dodge City Cycle/RMB/CBC), who tied on points with fellow B.C. rider Holden Jones (Pendrel Racing) at 370 (best of four results).  Both had won two races and finished second twice, but Woods got the title for the most recent win.  Cote improved to third with his win in Kentville, at 305 points.

In the new Canada Cup Under-17 category, Emily Johnston (Trek BC Devo) won her fourth race of the season to finish with a perfect 400 points and the overall women's title (best of four results).  Emrick Vincent (Dalbix Siboire) won the Under-17 men's race, but Jakob Yells (River City CC) took the title with two victories and 355 points (best of four results).

"We are thrilled to end the 2018 Canada Cup XC series in beautiful Kentville, Nova Scotia," said Josh Peacock, Competition Coordinator at Cycling Canada.  "The 2018 series saw stiff competition across the country, including the introduction of U17/Cadet as an official category. We continue to see young riders develop into top World Cup talent through this series and are very much looking forward to another year of competition in 2019. Special thanks to all of our dedicated organizers, athletes, volunteers and officials who continue to support this series."

The final event in the Downhill Canada Cup series will take place on August 19th, at the Canadian Open DH Canada Cup presented by iXS, in Whistler, BC.


Canada Cup XC #7 Kentville results


Final Standings
Elite/U23 Women (top 10)
1 Jenn Jackson (ON) Team Ontario / AWI Racing 945 pts
2 Haley Smith (ON) Norco Factory Team XC 775
3 Elyse Nieuwold (BC) Pendrel Racing Development 580
4 Maghalie Rochette (QC) Clif Pro Team 530
5 Cindy Montambault (QC) Equipe du Quebec/Val David 485
6 Amelie Simard* (QC) Équipe du Quebec 481
7 Sophianne Samson* (QC) CVM Sigma Assurance 480
8 Emily Unterberger* (BC) Pendrel Racing Development 465
9 Sarah Claudie Dostie Menard (QC) FELT MTB 461
10 Sidney McGill* (AB) Focus CX Canada 415
Elite/U23 Men (top 10)
1 Felix Burke* (QC) Rocky Mountain 850 pts
2 Andrew L'Esperance (NS) Forward Racing-Norco 705
3 Sean Fincham* (BC) Forward Racing - Norco 655
4 Quinton Disera* (ON) Norco Factory Team 630
5 Evan Guthrie (BC) Raceface/Fox/On the Edge/Kal Tire 575
6 Peter Disera (ON) Norco Factory Team 565
7 Alexandre Vialle (QC) Équipe du Quebec/Toyota St-Eustache 530
8 Tyler Orschel* (ON) Durham Shredders 483
9 Daniel Johnson* (USA) Bear Development Team 479
10 Felix Longpre* (QC) Mont Sainte Anne 450
 *= U23
Junior Women  (top 10)
1 Marianne Theberge (QC) Équipe du Quebec/Mathieu Performance 355 pts
2 Mireille Larose Gingras (QC) Équipe du Quebec/Sigma 290
3 Roxane Vermette (QC) Mont Sainte Anne 285
4 Laurence Levesque (QC) Independent 280
5 Madeline Robbins (USA) Team USA 190
6 Krystel Gagnon (QC) Centre du Vélo Mascouche 229
7 Tereza Saskova (Cze) Ceska Sporitelna Specialized Junior MTB Team 145
8 Eva Poidevin (AB) RMCC 144
9 Madison Baudoux (NS) Pictou County Cylce 85
10 Magdeleine Vallieres Mill (QC) Québecor/Stingray 85
Junior Men (top 10)
1 Carter Woods (BC) Dodge City Cycles/RMB/CBC 370 pts
2 Holden Jones (BC) Pendrel Racing 370
5 William Cote (QC) Équipe du Quebec 305
3 Tyler Clark (ON) Team Ontario 295
4 Charles Antoine St Onge (QC) Équipe du Quebec/Dalbix 289
6 Scott Funston (USA) Team USA 225
8 Dylan Kerr (ON) AJ's Evolution P/B Norco 222
7 Nolan Jenkins (USA) Whole Athlete p/b DNA 187
9 Colton Woods (ON) Team Ontario/Trek Store CC 134
10 Elliot Jamieson (BC) Cycling BC 131


Full standings


Related Photo Galleries

Return to Cycling 4 Women homepage | Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.