Canadian Cyclist


March 5/06 12:50 pm - Paris-Nice Prologue, Murcia Final

Posted by Editor on 03/5/06

Paris-Nice - France


Last year's Paris-Nice winner Bobby Julich won today's opening prologue of the 2006 edition of the Paris-Nice race held in Issy de Moulineaux on the outskirts of Paris.

The 4.8 km. course was very technical and featured a 75 metre climb with a 7% grade one kilometer into the race. The return downhill section was very fast and featured nine tight corners. Some riders had to also negotiate a damp course as sprinkles of light rain fell intermitantly through the cool (3 degree) cloudy afternoon.

Eric Dekker was one of the riders to face a wet course. Rabobank Director Theo de Rooij was disappointed with this as he had expected Dekker to be his lead rider. Bjarne Riis, on the other hand, was almost smiling as Julich mounted the podium to receive both the yellow and green jerseys for his winning effort.

Bill Buckley and Nick Gritis
(two Canadian cyclists reporting from Paris)

Prologue - Issy-les-Moulineaux ITT 4.8 km

1 Bobby Julich (USA) Team CSC 6:07
2 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Liberty Seguros-Wurth Team at 0:01
3 Bradley McGee (Aus) Francaise des Jeux 0:02
4 Alberto Contador (Esp) Liberty Seguros-Wurth Team 0:03
5 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step-Innergetic
6 Samuel Sanchez (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi both s.t.
7 Bradley Wiggins (GBr) Cofidis, le Credit par Telephone 0:05
8 Benoit Vaugrenard (Fra) Francaise des Jeux s.t.
9 Gert Steegmans (Bel) Davitamon-Lotto 0:07
10 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Cofidis, le Credit par Telephone s.t.

11 Floyd Landis (USA) Phonak Hearing Systems 0:08
20 Christian Vandevelde (USA) Team CSC 0:11
27 David Zabriskie (USA) Team CSC 0:13
66 Christopher Horner (USA) Davitamon-Lotto 0:19
141 Guido Trenti (USA) Quick Step-Innergetic 0:34

1 Bobby Julich (USA) Team CSC 25 points
2 Andrey Kashechkin (Kaz) Liberty Seguros-Wurth Team 22
3 Bradley McGee (Aus) Francaise des Jeux 20

Team Classification
1 Francaise Des Jeux 18:36
2 Team CSC at 0:05
3 Liberty Seguros-Wurth Team 0:08
4 Phonak Hearing Systems 0:15
5 Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:17

Vuelta a Murcia - Spain

Stage 5 - Murcia 139 km

1 Heinrich Haussler (Ger) Gerolsteiner 3:10:54
2 Ariel Richeze (Arg) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare
3 David Munoz (Esp) Comunidad Valenciana
4 Ruben Perez (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi
5 Baden Cooke (Aus) Unibet.Com
6 Benat Albizuri (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi
7 Pablo Urtasun (Esp) Kaiku
8 Gorazd Stangelj (Slo) Lampre-Fondital
9 Theo Eltink (Ned) Rabobank
10 Jesus Del Nero (Esp) 3 Molinos Resort all s.t.

Final GC

1 Santos Gonzalez (Esp) 3 Molinos Resort 15:33:02
2 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne-Illes Balears at 0:03
3 David Bernabeu (Esp) Comunidad Valenciana 0:27
4 Jan Hruska (Cze) 3 Molinos Resort 0:32
5 Carlos Garcia (Esp) Unibet.Com 0:39
6 Angel Vicioso (Esp) Liberty Seguros-Wurth 0:41
7 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Caisse d'Epargne-Illes Balears 1:09
8 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Fondital 1:41
9 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Lampre-Fondital 1:53
10 Emanuele Sella (Ita) Ceramica Panaria-Navigare 2:01


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.