Canadian Cyclist


March 7/06 10:40 am - Redland Announces Teams

Posted by Editoress on 03/7/06

22nd Redlands Bicycle Classic Announces Teams for 2006 Event


Christine Thorburn, the 2005 Champion, will be returning to race for the title for 2006. Thorburn was also the recipient of the 2005 Carole King Sportsmanship Award. "Christine is a class act" said Dick Nance, Director of Race Operations. Thorburn, riding with the Webcor-Platinum team, also won a spot on the US Olympic team while racing in Redlands at the in 2004. Another 2004 Olympic Selection Race winner coming back to Redlands is Team Lipton's Kristin Armstrong, who also won a bronze medal last Saturday in the women's individual pursuit final at the UCI Track Cycling World Cup in Sidney. Winner of two stages at the 2005 Redlands Classic, Ina Tuetenberg, will again return to Redlands racing for the UCI Women's team T-mobile Professional Cycling.

The balance of the Women's teams include Victory Brewing Cycling, Velo Bella - Kona, Ford Cycling, Colavita Cooking Light, Landis/TREK/VW, Vitamin Cottage Cycling Team, Team Cheerwine, Team Biovail, Team Kenda Tire, Bicycle John's and Colorado Premier Training - Colnago.


"We are proud to have our 2005 Champion, Chris Wherry, also the current USPRO Road Champion, returning to defend his title for 2006" said Race Director Brian King. Racing alongside Wherry will be Toyota-United Pro Cycling teammates Juan Jose Haedo, just coming off of two stage wins at the Tour of California, and Chris Baldwin, the current US Time Trial Champion. Under 23 National Champion Esad Hasanovic, riding for AEG-Toshiba-JetNetwork, will be competing at the front of the field along with 6-time Canadian National Champion Mark Walters of the UCI Pro Continental team Navigators Insurance.

Additional Internationally ranked teams include UCI Pro Continental squad Team Healthnet presented by Maxxis, UCI Continental teams Jelly Belly, Colavita/Sutter Home Winery, Kodak Gallery/Sierra Nevada Cycling, Team TIAA-CREF, AEG-Toshiba-JetNetwork, Jittery Joe's Pro Cycling Team, Successful Living presented by PARKPRE, Priority Health Cycling Team, Team Monex, Target Training, and VMG Racing. Rounding out the field to 22 teams will be BMC Racing Team, Fiordifruitta, CRCA/Sakonnet Technology U25, Kahala-LaGrange, Broadmark/Hagens-Berman Cycling Team, California Giant/Village Peddler, Sienna Development/Goble Knee Clinic, and Team Spine.

The Redlands Bicycle Classic is an all-volunteer organization, including the Directors. The 22nd Annual Redlands Bicycle Classic is scheduled for March 24-26. The event was founded in 1985 by a community group chaired by then-Mayor Carole Beswick to promote awareness of downtown Redlands. Since that time, professional cyclists from around the world have been racing in this event centered around the city of Redlands, California. The Redlands Bicycle Classic is on the United States Cycling Federation (USCF) National Racing Calendar (NRC).

For event registration or for more information, please visit our website at



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.