Canadian Cyclist


March 19/06 10:47 am - Sequoia Classic, Escape Velocity/dEVo Spring Road Race, Blizzard Bike Club NEws

Posted by Editoress on 03/19/06

Sequoia Classic Visalia CA

By Jim Williams, Colavita Cooking Light Race release

Stage 2: Sequoia Classic Criterium

Today the gloves were dropped Canadian style as Laura Yoisten who resides north of the boarder and rides for the Victory Bbrewing won a hard fought battle with the Colavita Cooking Light team. A small field showed up to race the Visalia Criterium today with 8 riders for Victory Brewing at the start line and 3 riders for Colavita Cooking Light along with several individual riders from several teams including Flecia Gomez from Webcor.

With both Victory and Colavita Cooking Light having teams present it became a battle royal. Victory Brewing wasted no time starting the action with the first attack coming just halfway through lap 1 of the 40 lap bike race. Each and every attack after was either covered by the Colavita Cooking Light riders or brought back through constant work on the front.

A very dangerous move slipped away that contained both Laura Yoisten and Katherine Carroll of Victory brewing and when then gained close to 20 seconds it looked as if the two would ride away and leave the rest of the field to fight over third placing on the day. The Colavita Cooking Light riders Sima Trapp, Audrey Lemieux and Sarah Tillotson would not give in and joined forces with Felicia Gomez of Webcor and the Touchstone duo of Pat Ross and India Sanjuan to bring the Victory Girls back into the fold.

With the group together again with 5 laps to go the attacks finally ended and the Victory Train took over for an exciting sprint finish. Laura Yoisten sprinted for the win ahead of her teammate Laura Bowels with a tired Sarah Tillotson of Colavita Cooking Light sneaking in for 3rd. While the field was small spectators on the street were impressed with the aggression and intensity of the racing.

Women Elite 1 / 2

1. Laura Yoisten (Victory Brewing)
2. Laura Bowles (Victory Brewing)
3. Sarah Tillotson (Colavita/Cooking Light)
4. Felicia Gomez (Webcor)
5. Katherine Carrol (Victory Brewing)
6. Audrey Lemieux (Colavta/Cooking Light)
7. Sima Trapp (Colavita Cooking Light)
8. Chrissy Ruiter (Victory Brewing)
9. Leigh Hobson (Victory Brewing)
10. India SanJuan (Touchstone)

Escape Velocity/dEVo Spring Road Race
Courtesy Jeremy Storie

March 19

A group, 126 km

1. Max Plaxton (Rocky Mountain/Business Objects)
2. Jamie Sparling (Bicisport(
3. Fred Hodgeson (Frontrunners(
4. Cory Lange (Symmetrics(
5. Andreas Hestler (Rocky Mountain/Business Objects)

B group, 90 km

1. Neal Kindree (Kona)
2. John Markez
3. Nathan McDonald (Lactic Acid )
4. Frank Schimuneck
5. Graeme Bant (Giant/Sugoi

C group, 54 km

1. #33
2 Jonathan Page
3. Brad Bisset
4. Guy Biggar
5. Dave Richardson

Blizzard Bike Club Fort St. John, BC

March 19, 2006

Robin Baillie made it two in a row with a win on Sunday's Frozen John Roubaix. His time for the 18 k race was 42:34 minutes. Pat Ferris was second at 48:36 and Irvin Tang third at 51:58.

Nine riders came out to ride in the snow under -12 degree temperatures. Packed snow made the 13 percent climb difficult.

Robin Baillie lead the way up the steep Frozen John hill with Pat Ferris a few seconds back. The two stayed together for the first lap, with Baillie pulling away for the easy win.

Irvin Tang overcame a chain falling off to catch Gary Hilderman. The two stayed together until the last lap when Irvin pulled away to grab third spot at 51:58. Gary Hilderman was 4th at 52:06.

Bob Andrews was 5th at 53:50, Gord Harris 6th at 55:20, Barb Polehoykie 7th at 57:39 and Kevin Cooper 8th at 58:52. Dean Lowry had 46:36 for 3 laps.

Robin Baillie is still leading the series with only one race to go. Pat Ferris and Gary Hilderman are sitting in second and third place.

Stephen Ferris was third at the 'Latoria 70 km Road Race' in Victoria. He was in the sprint finish of a breakaway group in the 40 person 'A' division.

Coming up: The last in the 'Roubaix Cup Series, the 'Beatton Park Roubaix. Race time is at 2:00 pm from Beatton Park, near Charlie Lake.

Check for more information.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.