Canadian Cyclist


May 3/06 9:20 am - Missisauga Midweek Criterium

Posted by Editoress on 05/3/06

Midweek Tuesday Night Criterium
Courtesy Midweek Club

Sixty eight riders turned out for the Tues. Night Midweek Criterium at the Buckhorn circuit in Mississauga. The event was the monthly points race with a sprint for 5, 3 and 1 points every four laps. Points were doubled for 20 laps to go and for the finish. The first points were taken by Jeff Schiller (Team R.A.C.E.), fresh from the Tour of Shenandoah, but it wasn't until with about thirty laps to go that a two man break of Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) and Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycle Fitness) managed to pull away from a four man chase and scooped up the majority of the points. Though Heath won the final sprint Damian took enough of the intermediate points including the double points at 20 laps to go to take the win. Jeff Schiller took the field sprint and broke the tie for third with Peter Morse (Jet Fuel).

Thanks to Midweek's Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie for setup and take down and marshaling the course and to lap counter Danny.

Next Tuesday's event will feature a new format.
Sr.3/Master women and Intermediate Master men will ride at 6:45 and the open race will begin at 7:15. Riders who do the earlier race can opt to do the later event as well.

Points Criterium
44 Laps - 43.12 km - 44.7 km/h avg.

1. Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycle Fitness - S1)58:16
2. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta - S1)s.t.
3. Jeff Schiller (Team RACE - S1)0:36
4. Peter Morse (Jet Fuel - S1)
5. Ian Manning (Jet Fuel - S1)
6. Josh Hall (KHS - S1)
7. Keith Moore (Jet Fuel - S2)
7. Roberto Zuech (Wheels of Bloor - MA)
9. Paul Rego ( - S1)
10.Chris Paton (Cycle 4MS - MA)
10.Jordie Kofman ( - S3)
10.Mike Moore (Team RACE - S1)
11.Greg Cavanagh (Cyclepath - MA)
12.Barry Reid (Hooters Cycling - MA)all s.t.
68 Starters
Standings after week three:
1. Peter Morse (Jet Fuel - S1)31 pts
2. Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycle - S1)30
3. Dan Lefevre (Team R.A.C.E. - S1)25
4. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta - S1)20
5. Jordie Kofman (Midweek CC - S3)19
6. Rob Zuech (Wheels of Bloor - MA)19
7. Mark Shaw (Chain Reaction - MC)15
8. Ian Manning (Jet Fuel - S2)12
9. Mark Hinnen (La Bicicletta - u19)10
10. Attila Hajdu (Mississauga BRC - S1)10
11. Jeff Schiller (Team R.A.C.E. - S1)10
12. Greg Cavanagh (Cyclepath - MB)9
13. Jeremey Rethazy Midweek CC (Midweek CC - S3)8
14. Keith Moore (Jet Fuel - MB)8
15. Josh Hall (KHS - S1)7
16. Mark Polsinelli Pavan (Pavan - MB)7
17. Piero Zanetti (Midweek CC - S3)6
18. Tovi Heilbronn (Midweek CC - S3)6
19. David Woolley ( - S2)6
20. John Pucic (Midweek CC - MA)6
21. Mike Moore (Team R.A.C.E. - S1)5
1. Kristen Worley (Ind. - W)21 pts
2. Ayesha Rollinson (Midweek CC - W)14
3. Merrill Collins (La Bicicletta - W)12
4. Heather Davidson-Meyn (Wheels of Bloor - W)11


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.