Canadian Cyclist


May 8/06 8:59 am - Vuelta a El Salvador: Stage 8

Posted by Editoress on 05/8/06

Vuelta a El Salvador El Salvador,

Symmetrics Final Report: 4 Stage wins, Points Jersey

Friday's stage proved, as predicted, to be the pivotal day for the G.C. Symmetrics entered the stage with the possibility of a podium place, perhaps more. As team director for the race, Bruce Wenting said, "The stage had a head wind the whole way to the climb. A break of four got clear, then got caught at the bottom of the climb, due in part to some strong tempo riding by the Mexican Tecos team." Once the pack hit the impressive, steep climb, the pure climbers took over and blew the field apart.

It was a massively steep climb that saw the field shattered. Eric Wohlberg was the top rider for the team in 13th, followed by Jake Erker, who came in a few minutes back. Jake was still hurting from his crash the other day, but fought on. The rest of the squad came in together trying to save themselves to defend the points jersey on the final day. By the time the last riders crossed the line it was completely dark as the winners came in when it was almost dark!

It was a tough pill to swallow for the team, relinquishing a chance at a podium overall, but all the riders fought hard.

Entering the final stage, Andrew Randell still held the green points jersey and was intent on keeping it. Christian Meier attacked on the first of 20 laps, wanting to take all the points away from others that could overtake Randell. The plan worked as Meier stayed out there with another rider for 19 of 20 laps!

In the sprint for the line Andrew "Pinner" Pinfold took third, Randell fifth, and Erker ninth.

Kevin Cunningham, team co-owner was immensely pleased with the team's showing at the Vuelta a El Salvador. "All in all this was a tremendous success. We accumulated 62 UCI points. We won 4 stages, two seconds and two thirds - and defended the yellow jersey for four stages, swept the podium and took all the jerseys on the opening day. In the end Andrew Randell and the team brought home the points jersey and the jersey for the most consistent rider on the finish line." Cunningham explained. "After the first day we had every jersey possible except for the top El Salavadorian!. The quality of the field was very high with the Tecos team, and all the Columbians that were there - and their climbing prowess really showed on Friday."

The Symmetrics Cycling team returns to Canada and the USA today.

Stage 8: Multiplaza circuit, 102km

1. Carlos Alzate (Col) Colombian National Team2:16:59
2. Franco Marvulli (Dom) BCO Cuscatlan Cogeas
3. Andrew Pinfold (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Teamboth s.t.
4. Livardo Nino (Col) Hino Donde Jose0:01
5. Andrew Randell (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
6. Carlos Hernandez (Gua) Cafe Quetzal
7. Juan Rojas Villegas (CRc) Bicicletas Corsarioall s.t.
8. Ben Raby (USA) Hino Donde Jose0:02
9. Jacob Erker (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team
10. Marconi Duran (CRc) Bicicletas Corsarioboth s.t.
11. Mario Contreras (ESa) BCO Cuscatlan Cogeas0:03
12. Svein Tuft (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team0:11
13. Yovanny Torres (Col) Colombian National Team
14. David Tapia (Ecu) Ecuador National Teamboth s.t.
15. Hector Rangel (Mex) Tecos De La Universidad Autonoma De Guadalajara0:12
16. Marlon Castillo (Blz) Cafe Quetzal
17. Manuel Rodas (Gua) Cable DX Bicimania
18. Enrique Avalos (ESa) BCO Cuscatlan Cogeasall s.t.
19. Fausto Esparza (Mex) Tecos De La Universidad Autonoma De Guadalajara0:13
20. Luis Santizo (Gua) M & M Engineering
21. Francisco Colorado (Col) Colombian National Teamboth s.t.
22. Nieves Carrasco (CRc) Bicicletas Corsario0:14
23. Alexis Rojas (Col) Colombian National Team
24. Jairo Hernandez (Col) Colombian National Team
25. Paulo Vargas (CRc) Cafe Quetzalall s.t.
26. Jose Ruiz (Ecu) Ecuador National Team0:19
27. Andrea De Silvestre (Ita) Cable DX Bicimania0:21
28. Juan Solis (CRc) Bicicletas Corsario0:22
29. Estuardo Toapanta (Ecu) Ecuador National Team
30. Mikol Cambronero (CRc) D'Cafe KTM Yoghurt Yes
31. Richard Vaca (Ecu) Ecuador National Teamall s.t.
32. Edgar Och (Gua) Cable DX Bicimania0:23
33. Juan Araya (CRc) Bicicletas Corsario
34. Roberto Montano (Gua) Hino Donde Jose
35. Diego Montoya (Col) Colombian National Team
36. Juan Hernandez (Gua) Cafe Quetzalall s.t.
37. Eric Wohlberg (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team0:24
38. Domingo Gonzalez (Mex) Tecos De La Universidad Autonoma De Guadalajara
39. Danilo Quetzel (Gua) Cafe Quetzal
40. Mario Archila (Gua) Coca Cola
41. Darwin Gonzalez (Col) Colombian National Team
42. Luis Marroquin (Gua) Coca Colaall s.t.
43. Ernesto Hernandez (CRc) Cafe Quetzal0:25
44. Gregorio Ladino (Col) Tecos De La Universidad Autonoma De Guadalajara
45. Jonatan Torres (Pan) Panama National Team
46. Henier Rojas Villegas (CRc) Bicicletas Corsario
47. Edwin Gonzalez (Pan) Panama National Team
48. Guillermo Miranda (Pan) Panama National Team
49. Francisco Matamoros (Mex) Tecos De La Universidad Autonoma De Guadalajara
50. Saul Bethancour (Pan) Panama National Teamall s.t.
51. Eyvar Villarreal (Pan) Panama National Team0:26
52. Ismael Sanchez (Dom) BCO Cuscatlan Cogeas
53. Jesus Zarate (Mex) Tecos De La Universidad Autonoma De Guadalajara
54. Reginaldo Choch (Gua) M & M Engineering
55. Rodolfo Fernandez (Mex) Tecos De La Universidad Autonoma De Guadalajara
56. Juan Cach (Gua) Cable DX Bicimaniaall s.t.
57. Lazaro Martin (Gua) M & M Engineering0:27
58. Carlos Magtzul (Gua) Coca Cola0:30
59. Wilson Paneluisa (Ecu) Ecuador National Team0:31
60. Jeff Sherstobitoff (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team0:33
61. Tom Bencivengo (USA) Champion System0:38
62. Will Routley (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team0:53
63. Lance Doherty (Can) Champion System0:57
64. Christian Meier (Can) Symmetrics Cycling Team0:58
65. Rolland Thomin (Fra) D'Cafe KTM Yoghurt Yes2:40
66. Miguel Duarte (Sui) BCO Cuscatlan Cogeas3:32
67. Gerson Perez (Gua) Cable DX Bicimania6:48
68. Mauricio Cornejo (ESa) FSC43:01
69. Julian Yac (Gua) Cable DX Bicimania
70. Mario Pichya (Gua) M & M Engineeringboth s.t.
DNF Orlando Munguia (ESa) Bicicletas Corsario
DNF Mynor Lopez (Gua) Cable DX Bicimania
DNF Rafael Chacon (ESa) Bicicletas Corsario
DNF Christian Portillo (ESa) Bicicletas Corsario
DNF Bernardo Mox (Gua) Coca Cola
DNF Victor Hernandez (Gua) Cafe Quetzal
DNF Andres Guamuch (Gua) Coca Cola
DNF David Sommerville (USA) Champion System
DNF Asbel Rodas (Gua) Cable DX Bicimania
DNF William Innes (USA) Champion System
DNF Reinaldo Alberto (ESa) FSC
DNS Giusseppe Atzeni (Sui) BCO Cuscatlan Cogeas
DNS Yahir Suira (Pan) Panama National Team

Final GC not available


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.