Canadian Cyclist


May 29/06 10:58 am - Grand Prix de Saint-Raymond de Portneuf

Posted by Editoress on 05/29/06

GP de St. Raymond
Courtesy Volkswagon/Trek

The sun finally came out to dry out the saturated roads this past weekend for the first ever GP de St. Raymond. The group of 70 took off at a gruelling pace around the 11km circuit which rolled around Lac Sept-Îles Near Quebec City quickly reducing itself to a lead group of around 25 riders. Finally after many more furious attacks up the two climbs a group of four rolled off the front including Espoirs de Laval, Louis Garneau Optik, Benjamin Martel of the new Sleeman Clear Énergie team and the newest addition to the Volkswagon/Trek team, Calgarian, Ryan Mckenzie.

The gap climbed to a healthy 3 minutes until the riders felt comfortable enough to start playing cat and mouse games over the last 8km. In the end it was Ryan Mckenzie-Volkswagon/Trek who outsprinted Zack Garlan-Espoir Laval and Jamie Lamb-Louis Garneau Optik for the days victory.

"I felt so tired this morning, I just couldn`t wake up and my legs started to cramp up really early around the 70km mark. I really didn`t think it was my day today" Said Ryan after the race. Watch for Ryan McKenzie and Dominique Perras among others who will be competing for the National team in Sao Paolo Brazil during the Pam Am Cycling Championships.
Ryan Mckenzie remporte le Grand Prix de Saint-Raymond de Portneuf

« C'est Ryan Mckenzie, de notre formation, qui a remporté le Grand Prix de Saint-Raymond de Portneuf. Il était en échappée avec trois autres coureurs, dont un des Espoirs de Laval, un de Louis Garneau Optik et Benjamin Martel de Sleeman Clear Énergie.

Ils sont partis d'un groupe d'une quinzaine de coureurs alors qu'il restait environ quatre tours à compléter d'une course de 10 tours, de 11km au tour. Ils ont terminé ça au sprint, et c'est Ryan qui l'emporte.

Ryan quittera mardi avec l'équipe nationale pour les championnats Pan Am qui se tiendront au Brésil à compter de la semaine prochaine. »

GP de St. Raymond 111km

1. Ryan Mckenzie (Volkswagen Trek), 2:41:35
2. Zaack Garlen (Espoirs Laval)
3. Jamie Lamb (Louis Garneau Optik)
4. Benjamin Martel (Sleeman Clear Energie), all s.t.
5. Alexandre Lavallée (Louis Garneau Optik), 1:21
6. Eric Boily (Volkswagen Trek)
7. Czeslaw Lukaszewicz (Sleeman Clear Energie), both s.t.
8. Jean-Sébastien Maheu (Sleeman Clear Energie), 1:26
9. Alexandre Nadeau (Sleeman Clear Energie), 1:27
10. Nicholas Rowe (Espoirs Laval)
11. David Veilleux (Louis Garneau Optik)
12. Mathieu Roy (Louis Garneau Optik)
13. Mathias Letendre (Ste-Foy-Qc Metro)
14. Raphaël Tremblay (Volkswagen Trek)
15. Martin Picard (Espoirs Laval)
16. Jean- Francois (Racine Espoirs Laval)
17. Pierre-Olivier Boily (Sleeman Clear Energie)
18. Clovis Auger (Volkswagen Trek)
19. Jurgen Van (Den Driessche Indépendant)
20. Paul Migner (CIBC Wood-Gundy)
21. Martin Caya (Drummond)
22. Vincent Courcy (CVM-Cycles Régis)
23. Claude Samson (Ste-Foy-Qc Metro)
24. David Gruber (CIBC Wood-Gundy)
25. Pascal Bussières (Indépendant-RP), all s.t.
26. Hugues Lapointe (Espoirs Laval), 1:33
27. Sylvain Thibeault (Gagnon Frères), s.t.
28. Dominique Perras ( /Sierra Nevad), 1:35
29. Jean-Sébastien Béland (Volkswagen Trek)
30. Alistair Howard (Espoirs Laval), both s.t.
31. David O'Brien (CIBC Wood-Gundy), 1:55
32. Carl Desroches (CALYON LITESPEED)
33. Pierre Boilard (Indépendant-RP), both s.t.
34. Yann Deville (CIBC Wood-Gundy), 2:00
35. Miguel Sanchez (Indépendant-RP), 2:13


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.