Canadian Cyclist


June 1/06 9:09 am - Mt. Hood Cycling Classic: Stage 1 (Women)

Posted by Editor on 06/1/06

Mt. Hood Cycling Classic Hood River, Oregon

O'Neil, Powers win first stage of Mt. Hood Cycling Classic

Health Net's Nathan O'Neil and Rio Grande/Sports Garage's Alison Powers won the opening stage of the Mt. Hood Cycling Classic on Wednesday in Hood River, Ore.

O'Neil covered the three-mile time trial stage in 6 minutes 7 seconds. Powers did it in 7:17.

The course gained only 150 feet in elevation, but it was not flat. Riders were greeted with a steep hill immediately out of the start house followed by a descent of more than a mile and a steep climb at the finish.

Second for the men was Ryan Trebon of AEG-Toshiba-Jetnetwork (6:16), followed by Ian McKessick of Recycled Cycles (6:23).

Second for the women was Dotsie Bausch of Colavita/Cooking Light (7:17), followed by Suz Weldon of TRIA (7:30).

Today the men are slated to race 84 miles over a mostly flat, technical and possibly windy course. The women will race 56 miles over the same roads.

1 Alison Powers (USA) Rio Grande/Sports Garage7:17.0
2 Dotsie Bausch (USA) Colavita/ Cooking Light Cycling Teamat 0:03
3 Suz Weldon (USA) Velo Bella-Kona0:13
4 Kele Murdin (USA) Velo Bella-Kona0:14
5 Jenn Reither (USA) Ti Cycles/Avanti Racing0:16
6 Beverley Harper (USA) Touchstone Climbing0:19
7 Amber Rais (USA) Webcor-Platinum0:20
8 India Sanjuan (USA) Touchstone Climbing0:24
9 Laura Brown (USA) CMC/Bow Cycle0:26
10 Alisha Lion (USA) Webcor-Platinum0:28
11 Martina Patella (USA) McGuire Cycling Team0:28
12 Brooke Ourada (USA) Colavita/ Cooking Light Cycling Team0:29
13 Gabriela Gonzalez-Ferrat (USA) Hi-Tech/5 Star Fish0:29
14 Stacy Marple (USA) McGuire Cycling Team0:30
15 Leah Goldstein (Isr) Symmetrics Cycling0:34
16 Brooke Miller (USA) PABW powered by TIBCO0:37
17 Susan Copeland (Can) Juventus0:38
18 Nicole Evans (USA) FFKR Architects / Sportsbaseonline.com0:40
19 Cynthia Mommsen (USA) The Olympic Club0:42
20 Lisa Hunt (USA) The Olympic Club0:42
21 Rachel Oconnell (USA) Bicycle John's Serious Cycling0:42
22 Martha Walsh (USA) TRIA0:45
23 Sy Rae Weikle (USA) Rio Grande/Sports Garage0:46
24 Maria Lee (Can) Symmetrics Cycling0:46
25 Jane Ziegler (USA) Velo Bella-Kona0:47
26 Cat Malone (USA) Webcor-Platinum0:47
27 Stacy Spencer (Can) Colavita/Cooking Light0:50
28 Allison Beall (USA) TRIA0:51
29 Jadine Riley (USA) Team Group Health0:51
30 Emily Van Meter (USA) Metromint Cycling0:51
31 Marni Hambleton (Can) Symmetrics Cycling0:51
32 Lisa Matlock (USA) JR Engineering0:52
33 Mara Abbott (USA) Rio Grande/Sports Garage0:54
34 Victoria Vallstrom (USA) PABW powered by TIBCO0:55
35 Melodie Metzger (USA) McGuire Cycling Team0:58
36 Sharon Allpress (USA) TRIA0:58
37 Heidi Goldberg (USA) HPC/LIST0:58
38 Lisa Dunnwald (USA) Team Group Health0:59
39 Maria Monica (USA) McGuire Cycling Team1:01
40 Heather Holmes (USA) Ivory Homes1:02
41 Amy Campbell (USA) River City Bicycles1:02
42 Leiselot Decroix (USA) Velo Bella-Kona1:03
43 Dana Robertson Halter (USA) Team Group Health1:05
44 Carrie Eller (USA) Ti Cycles/Avanti Racing1:06
45 Trish Heisdorffer (USA) Rio Grande/Sports Garage1:07
46 Flavia Oliveira (USA) PABW powered by TIBCO1:11
47 Kathy Robinson (USA) Intermountain Sports Medicine/LRC1:11
48 Gwen Erffmeyer (USA) JR Engineering1:11
49 Katie London (USA) Metro Mint1:15
50 debbie preller (USA) Jet City Velo1:16
51 Jenner Yaeso (USA) JR Engineering1:16
52 Jenette Williams (USA) HPC/LIST1:18
53 tracey ford (USA) PABW powered by TIBCO1:19
54 Kristi Berg (USA) Team Group Health1:20
54 Alice Pennington (USA) Desalvo Custom Cycles1:20
56 Jennifer Chapman (USA) Velo Bella-Kona1:22
57 Tracy Thomas (USA) Team Group Health1:25
58 Annette Hanson (USA) 1st Rate Mortgage1:28
59 Kendra Keeley (USA) Rio Grande/Sports Garage1:30
60 Laura Danley (USA) Rio Grande/Sports Garage1:30
61 Holly Borowski (USA) McGuire/United States Armed Forces1:31
62 Sami Fourneir (USA) TRIA1:32
63 Jennifer Joynt (USA) Velo Bella-Kona1:33
64 Cheryl Moffett (USA) JR Engineering1:33
65 Diane Miller (USA) HPC/LIST1:38
66 Yukie Nakamura (USA) PABW powered by TIBCO1:38
67 susan hefler (USA) HPC/LIST1:41
68 Kim Weins (USA) Velo Girls1:42
69 Elizabeth Wistrom (USA) PABW powered by TIBCO1:46
70 Norrene Godfrey (USA) Team Rubicon1:52
71 Kelly Crawford (USA) Intermountain Sports Medicine/LRC2:05
72 Elizabeth Nettles (USA) Ti Cycles/Avanti Racing8:51
DNS Irene Mercer (USA) JR Engineering
DNS Moriah MacGregor (USA) TRIA
DNS Amy Woodward (USA) Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle
DNS Pat Ross (USA) Touchstone Climbing
DNS Penny Avril (USA) Touchstone Climbing
DNS Joanne Kembery (USA)
DNS Megan Melamed (USA) Rio Grande/Sports Garage
DNS Mandy Poitras (Can) Symmetrics Cycling
DNS Erin Elders (USA) McGuire Cycling Team
DNS Lauren Heilig (USA) JR Engineering
DNS Alex Kendall (USA) Sports Garage


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.