Canadian Cyclist


June 8/06 8:24 am - Mississauga Tuesday Night, PEI Summerside TT

Posted by Editor on 06/8/06

Mississauga Midweek Club Races
Courtesy Amit Ghosh

Midweek organizers cooked up a devilish plan for the June 6th, 2006 (aka 6/6/06) Midweek Tuesday night races. This was the second event in the 2006 Jack Wierzbicki Prestige Series.

Following the usual 6:45 early race, the late race was to be for 66 laps, with $66 up for grabs for the winner.

A season record 84 riders came out to race on a beautiful June evening. It was La Bicicletta's strongman Darko Ficko who rode like a man possessed to bring the race together in the finale and lead out his teamate Cockburn to the line (66 kph?). Though the sprint was hairy, the winner was not. Jet Fuel's Rodney McEwen who would pip La Bicicletta's Heath Cockburn at the line to take home his first win of the season.

A reminder to riders. OCA Rules apply at Midweek races. Racers must remain within the marked course and observe the OCA guidelines for rider conduct. Violators will be fined or suspended from competition.

As always additions and corrections to the results are welcome.

Thanks to Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie for setup and takedown, to Ian
Merman for help with registration and to Bobby Mrvelj for working the lap

Reminder: The Midweek Media Night will be in two weeks. Tuesday June 20th. Cash prizes, special guests, BBQ and more. Check for details closer to the date.

Early Race
20 Laps - 19.6 km
1. Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta) all s.t.
2. Bruce Camacho (D'Ornellas)
3. Ben Beneditz (Pavan)
4. Peter Hein (Midweek CC)
5. (Pearl Izumi Jersey)
6. Mauro Rizzardo (Pavan)
7. Steve Hamilton (Madonna Wheelers)
8. Mike Steed (Midweek CC)
9. Ireen Wieditz (Jet Fuel)
10. Samera Fares (D'Ornellas)
11. Graham Anderson (Midweek CC)
12. Derek Hsiung (Midweek CC)
13. Fudge Kofman (
14. Tony Kovic
15. Lucinda Wallace (Mississauga)
16. Grant Buyar (Midweek CC)
17. Peter Murk
18. Hein Wick (Midweek CC)
19. Andrea Bowker (D'Ornellas)
20. David Conroy (Midweek CC)

Late Race
Jack Wierzbicki Prestige Series #2
66 Laps - 64.7 km - 44 km/h
1. Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel) 1:28
2. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) all st.
3. Peter Morse (Jet Fuel)
4. Keith Moore (Jet Fuel)
5. Thorben Wieditz (Italpasta - Belmire)
6. Paul Rego (
7. ??
8. Ed Maset (Pavan)
9. Ian Manning (Jet Fuel)
10. ??

84 Starters
Prime 1: Mark Polsinelli (Pavan)
Prime 2: Mark Hinnen (La Bicicletta)

Record Turn-Out for Summerside Cycling Club Training Ride - PEI
Courtesy Ken Trenholm

INDIAN RIVER, June 7, 2006 -- The sixth training event for the Summerside Cycling Club this year brought out two new faces for the ride: Paul Wright (Bedeque) and Dave Clark (Summerside).

They were joined by Leo Flood (Kinkora), Chris Gallant (Summerside), Jeff Hemphill (Summerside), Rob Cook (Traveller's Rest), Jules Aucoin (Summerside), Chris Silvaggio (Summerside), Ben Kennedy (Kensington), Ernie Schleichkorn (Summerside), Jason Linger (Charlottetown), and Ken Trenholm (Summerside).

Although the atmospheric conditions changed from sunny to cloudy and from less than 10 km/h winds to 24 km/h wind by the start of the training ride, the head and side winds and escalating rolling hills on the 12.1 km Indian River course could not shake the cyclists from their line on this day.

Four Club riders improved their performance since their last training on the course two weeks ago.

Most remarkable was Ben Kennedy of Kensington who powered on the rivet to cut an astonishing two minutes and ten seconds off his previous personal best. This ride earned Kennedy the largest single course improvement in the Club's history.

The second Summerside Club member to set a new personal best was Rob Cook of Traveller's Rest. Cook hammered in the saddle and improved his time by shaving one minute and six seconds for a new personal best time.

The two other riders to improve on the course were Jeff Hemphill (by 53 seconds) and Ken Trenholm (by 39 seconds), both riders from Summerside.

For the eight other riders who tackled the course for the first time, they will return in two weeks and attempt to improve on the benchmark they set for themselves.

And, as for the two first-time training riders who came out, Paul Wright and Dave Clark, they each averaged over 33 kilometres-per-hour.

The overall training ride results are as follows:
1. Ken Trenholm (Summerside) 0:20:55 (34.77 km/h) improved PB by 0:39
2. Jason Linger (Charlottetown) 0:21:00 (34.57 km/h)
3. Paul Wright (Bedeque) 0:21:44 (33.43 km/h)
4. Dave Clark (Summerside) 0:21:53 (33.18 km/h)
5. Chris Silvaggio (Summerside) 0:23:09 (31.43 km/h)
6. Jeff Hemphill (Summerside) 0:23:25 (31.03 km/h) improved PB by 0:52
7. Leo Flood (Kinkora) 0:23:55 (30.40 km/h)
8. Ben Kennedy (Kensington) 0:24:30 (29.66 km/h) improved PB by 2:10
9. Jules Aucoin (Summerside) 0:25:02 (29.02 km/h)
10. Rob Cook (Traveller's Rest) 0:25:11 (28.88 km/h) improved PB by 1:06
11. Ernie Schleichkorn (Summerside) 0:25:20 (28.67 km/h)
12. Chris Gallant (Summerside) 0:25:46 (28.21 km/h)

The following training points were awarded: Trenholm 67 (50-1st; 15-Improve; 2-start); Linger 47 (45-2nd; 2-start); Wright 42 (40-3rd; 2-start); Hemphill 42 (25-6th; 15-Impove; 2-start); Clark 37 (35-4th; 2-start); Silvaggio 32 (30-5th; 2-start); Kennedy 32 (15-8th; 15-Improve; 2-start); Cook 29 (12-10th; 15-Improve; 2-start); Flood 22 (20-7th; 2-start); Aucoin 15 (13-9th; 2-start); Schleichkorn 12 (10-11th; 2-start); and Gallant 11 (9-12th; 2-start).

Overall Training Point Leaders (Women)
Nancy Woodington (Kensington) 52 pts

Overall Training Point Leaders (Men)
Ken Trenholm (Summerside) 335 pts
Wes Jackshaw (Summerside) 258 pts
Chris Silvaggio (Summerside) 203 pts
Rob Cook (Traveller's Rest) 185 pts
Ben Kennedy (Kensington) 185 pts
Leo Flood (Kinkora) 133 pts
Jeff Hemphill (Summerside) 101 pts
Jason Linger (Charlottetown) 89 pts
Chris Gallant (Summerside) 55 pts
Jules Aucoin (Summerside) 42pts
Paul Wright (Bedeque) 42 pts
Dave Clark (Summerside) 37 pts
Ernie Schleichkorn (Summerside) 14 pts

The 12.1 km time trial training ride is a part of a series of training rides organized by the Club to improve rider's strength, endurance, and conditioning in order to participate in the July 15 - 16 PEI Bike Fest and the August 5 one day across PEI Biking for Breakfast event.

The next training ride is Saturday, June 10 at 800 am, meeting at Shipyard Market; the next recreational ride is Saturday June 10 (900 am), meeting at Shipyard Market. Visit or call Ken at 888-3878 for more info.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.