Canadian Cyclist


June 12/06 10:57 am - Commerce Bank Liberty Classic

Posted by Editoress on 06/12/06

Commerce Bank Liberty Classic Philadelphia, PA
Courtesy Pro Cycling Tour

With the first two legs of the Commerce Bank Triple Crown of Cycling in the books, the Pro/Elite women faced the final and most prestigious race of the three events in the series, the Commerce Bank Liberty Classic.

Teutenberg came into the race as an overwhelming favorite but not without very real threats from a number of strong riders and teams. Jumping out of the start sheet as potential challengers were World Champion Regina Schleicher (Nuernberger-Versicherung), World Cup Winner Rochelle Gillmore (Advil-Champstick), local favorite Laura Van Gilder (Team Lipton) and perennial threat Tina Pic (Colavita-Cooking Light).

After two fast and relatively short criterium races in Lancaster and Reading, the Pro/Elite women would be tested by a challenging four lap 57.6 mile race that would see them tackle the same 14 mile loop as the Pro men including the brutal Manayunk Wall climb. This would surely give teams looking to send their climbers off the front ample opportunities.

The dominating T-Mobile team was intent on duplicating the same winning formula as last year for their team leader Teutenberg and spent the majority of the race pulling back any dangerous moves that went up the road. As the laps ticked by and the weaker riders fell back on the hilly circuit, an elite group of 50 riders were lead into the final mile of racing by a flying T-Moble lead out. Tucked safely in behind was Teutenberg, waiting to pounce in the final meters.

The World Champion Schleicher who had been quiet all day finally showed her cards and with a final powerful surge got the best of last year‚s winner Teutenberg. Behind the two German champions in third was the ever present Tina Pic who has been ruled the domestic racing scene for years.

The Tour de Wall competition that goes to the strongest woman on the steep Manayunk Wall went to climbing specialist Annette Beutler (Aaron‚s). The best young rider Miji Award went to rising star Kimberly Geist (Victory Brewing). Finally, Teutenburg proved herself as the most consistent rider across the three race series by taking the prestigious Commerce Bank Triple Crown of Cycling competition.

Women - 92.6 km
1. Regina Schleicher (Nuernberger), 2:28:04
2 Ina Teutenberg (T-Mobile)
3. Tina Pic (Colavita-Cooking Light)
4. Annette Beutler (Aaron's)
5. Rochelle Gilmore (Advil-Chapstick)
6. Shontell Gauthier (TRIA)
7. Katherine Bates (Nuernberger)
8. Anne Samplonuis (Biovail)
9. Lauren Franges (Victory Brewing)
10. Sh Hutchison-Krupat (Aaron's)
11. Katie Mactier (Argon 18-Champion System)
12 Kimberly Geist (Victory Brewing)
13. Charmain Breon
14. Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Verducci-Breakaway)
15. Rachel Heal (Victory Brewing)
16. Gina Grain (Colavita-Cooking Light)
17. Heather Labance (Advil-Chapstick)
18. Laura Van Gilder (Team Lipton)
19. Kristin Armstrong (Team Lipton)
20. Karen Brems (Webcor Platinum)
21. Iona Wynter-Parks (Colavita-Cooking Light)
22 Catherine Powers (Aaron's)
23. Rebecca Larson (Amoroso's)
24. Sarah Ulmer (Jazz Apple)
25. Kristen Sanders
26. Helen Kelly (Aaron's)
27. Arielle Filiberti (ADG-Joe's Bike Shop)
28. Sue Palmer-Komar (Colavita-Cooking Light)
29. Kori Seehafer (Team Lipton)
30. Betina Hold (Webcor Platinum)
31. Judith Arndt (T-Mobile)
32 Leigh Hobson (Victory Brewing)
33. Jennifer Stephenson (Biovail)
34. Michelle Hyland (Jazz Apple)
35. Brei Gudsell (Jazz Apple)
36. Carissa Wilkes (Jazz Apple)
37. Christine Thorburn (Webcor Platinum)
38. Sarah Bamberger
39. Sharon Allpress (TRIA)
40. Katherine Sherwin (Victory Brewing)
41. Andrea Dvorak (East Coast Velo)
42 Anke Wichmann (Nuernberger)
43. Margaret Shirley (Comedy Central)
44. Meredith Miller (Team Lipton)
45. Rosara Joseph (Jazz Apple)
46. Chrissy Ruiter (Victory Brewing), all s.t.
47. Felicia Gomez (Webcor Platinum), 0:16
48. Mari Holden (T-Mobile), s.t.
49. Sarah Tillotson (Colavita-Cooking Light), 0:26
50. Kimberly Anderson (T-Mobile), 0:48
51. Kimberly Baldwin (T-Mobile), s.t.
52 Kele Murdin (TRIA), 1:15
53. Sabine Fischer (Nuernberger)
54. Joanne Kiesanowski (Bike NZ)
55. Liza Rachetto (Team Lipton)
56. Emma Nelson (Advil-Chapstick)
57. Amity Elliot (ADG-Joe's Bike Shop)
58. Robin Farina (East Coast Velo)
59. Stephanie Bourbeau (Biovail)
60. Grace Fleury (Team Lipton)
61. Lara Kroepsch (Team Lipton), all s.t.
62 Brenda Lyons (Victory Brewing), 1:44
63. Martina Patella (Biovail), 3:01
64. Amy Mosen (Bike NZ), s.t.
65. Christina Dekraay (Fuji-Bold Brothers), 3:05
66. Amy Moore (T-Mobile), 3:57
67. Claudia Stumpf (Nuernberger)
68. Sarah Caravella (Team Lipton)
69. Jessica Phillips (Argon 18-Champion System)
70. Laura Yoisten (Victory Brewing), all s.t.
71. Anna Milkowski (Advil-Chapstick), 5:48
72 Mara Miller (Advil-Chapstick), s.t.
73. Lauren Koedyk (Jazz Apple), 5:57
74. Anna Webb (Biovail), 6:43
75. Carol Hutton (Argon 18-Champion System), 6:49
76. Mackenzie Dickey (Aaron's)
77. Christina Becker (T-Mobile)
78. Dale Tye (Bike NZ), all s.t.

Queen of the mountains

1. Annette Beutler (Aaron's), 35. pts
2 Sarah Ulmer (Jazz Apple), 28
3. Kori Seehafer (Team Lipton), 9
4. Kristin Armstrong (Team Lipton), 9
5. Judith Arndt (T-Mobile), 6
6. Kimberly Anderson (T-Mobile), 5
7. Christine Thorburn (Webcor Platinum), 3
8. Laura Van Gilder (Team Lipton), 2
9. Michelle Hyland (Jazz Apple), 1
10. Sue Palmer-Komar (Colavita-Cooking Light), 1


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.