Canadian Cyclist


June 14/06 11:23 am - Mardis Cyclists de Lachine Saputo, Coupe de la Paix Adds 4th Race, Lake to Lake Update, Blizard Bike Club News

Posted by Editoress on 06/14/06

Moquin Takes the Reins of the Mardis Cyclists de Lachine Saputo Montreal QC, June 13th
Courtesy of Les Mardis Cyclists de Lachine Saputo
Translated by Evi Arsenault

Winner of the 2005 Mardis à Lachine Saputo series, Sébastien Moquin (Sleeman Clear Énérgie) made a break into the top spot of the General Classment for points with a victory at last night's race.

The race started with several crashes as riders were less cautious than usual in the knowledge that many of the podium threats were absent, participating in the concurrent Bell Tour de Beauce. With twelve laps to go, three riders took some distance from the pack, staying away until the end of the race and securing the three top steps on the podium in consequence. Sébastien Moquin (Sleeman Clear Énergie) was first to cross the finish line in a sprint finish with second place Daniel Bélisle (Cinelume-Cycles Performance) and Moquin's teammate Jean-François Laroche (Sleeman Clear Énergie).

In addition to his exploits Tuesday nights, Sébastien Moquin is also the replacement Pilot of a Tandem team with Stéphane Côté - three-time paralympian. Côté's regular pilot and teammate of several years, Pierre-Olivier Boily, is getting back into shape after injuries incurred in a serious car accident last January.

In the absence of last week's winner David Veilleux (Louis Garneau Optik) and other high profile athletes, Moquin rode last night's race in the hot pursuit of series points as well as the yellow leader's jersey. When Veilleux and others return from the Bell Tour de Beauce after June 18, the peloton will all the more aggressive with the expected participation of two foreign teams – the Dutch National Team and an Oceanic Pro Team from Australia.

Junior racers in the la Coupe des jeunes Lait's Go were not resting last night either, pulverizing the former race speed record in a brilliant break-away after a mere four laps completed. The final few metres of the race were once again a sprint-out won by defending Champion Simon Lambert-Lemay (André Cycle/idCad). Lambert-Lemay had established the previous race speed record with fellow competitor Guillaume Boivin last year, yet Lambert-Lemay was alone last night in shaving off 46 seconds from the previous record.

Coupe de la Paix

Organizers of Coupe de la Paix have added a fourth race to the series. They have also announced a $50,000 total prize money.

Events are: June 22 Laval, June 23 Mascouche, June 24 Repentigny and June 25th Blainville: 4 crits for women and 4 for men - for points GC riders are NOT required to do all 4 events.

The website is up and running in french and english

$6,400 for each stage for men + $5,000 GC
$3,600 for each stage for women + $5,000 GC

Today is the last chance to register at the reduced fee.

Lake to Lake
Courtesy Tim Lefebvre

Only three short days to register for the 8th Annual Tim Horton's Great Lake to Lake Mountain Bike Event. An epic ride through some of Niagara's prettiest terrain. Sanctioned by the OCA, this 50km Citizen's race takes place on Sunday June 18th (Father's Day). Beginning in Port Colborne on the shores of Lake Erie, the 95% off-road route winds it's way to the shores of Lake Ontario where the finish is on the beach at Port Dalhousie (buses and trucks are provided for you to have your car at the end). Weather is supposed to be amazing, come and enjoy the party.

Included this year will be a catered lunch provided by Antipasto's, (with a beer tent) timiing by Sportstats, event t-shirt by Furious, and huge draw prizes courtesy of Tim Horton's, Fuji and Shimano.

New this year is the 20km Pond to Pond event from Brock University and the TimBit challenge for kids at Lakeside Park.

For all the info needed please log onto

Blizzard Bike Club News Fort St. John, BC

June 11th

Robin Baillie (+HR Block) won the hilly and tough 60 km Beatton-Montney loop road race, Sunday with a time of 1:40:10 hours. Pat Ferris was second 23 seconds later. Roger St. Jean won the pack finish for third 6 minutes back. Calvin Bell edged out Floyd Polehoykie to win the 25 km event with 1:02:23 hours.

Sixteen riders started the 60 km road race. The route was down the Alaska Highway to the short and steep hills of the Beatton road, past Montney to the Montney road, through the hilly creek and back to Humpty’s for the finish.

Robin Baillie pulled away on the first steep hill on the Beatton Road soon after neutral was over, with Pat Ferris close behind. The two rode away from the rest of the riders with Baillie pulling away for the win at the final hill with a time of 1:40:10. Pat Ferris came in a few seconds later at 1:40:33.

Roger St. Jean won the sprint for third at 1:46:32 ahead of Les Elliot, Des Snider (Penticton) and Rod Lewis. Bob Andrews was 7th at 1:47:20 and Irvin Tang 8th at 1:50:19. Richard Wood out sprinted Terry Stone, Kevin Cooper and Colter Young for 9th at 1:52:12. Jolea Bilodeau edged out Dean Lowry for 13th at 1:57:51. Barb Polehoykie had 1:58:11 for 15th and Ken Nix 2:01:29 for 16th.

Calvin Bell won the 25 km with a time of 1:02:23. Floyd Polehoykie out sprinted Tania Bell for second at 1:05:34. Dayna Stickel was 4th at 1:07:33 and Eva St. Jean 5th at 1:09:33.

June 8th

Pat Ferris won the Thursday Baldonnel 16 km. time trial with a time of 26:33 minutes. Roger St. Jean was second at 27:13 and Irvin Tang third at 28:18. Colter Young and Les Elliot tied for 4th at 28:24 and Richard Wood was 5th at 29:08.

Other times were Dean Lowry at 29:18, Gord Harris 30:14, Elyce Henry 30:20, Barb Polehoykie 30:23, Joseph Gladysz 30:28, Jolea Bilodeau 30:56, Ken Nix 31:40, Trisha Gladysz 32:13, Calvin Bell 32:25, Owen Giebelhaus 34:05, Dayna Stickel 36:17, Eva St. Jean 36:31 and Floyd Polehoykie 36:38.

Estelle Nix won the 8 km with 16:14. Cayle Bell was second at 16:16. The McDonell Boys were third at 17:56. Cassidy and Tania Bell were 4th at 18:20.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.