Canadian Cyclist


June 21/06 12:31 pm - Mississauga Midweek

Posted by Editoress on 06/21/06

Midweek Club Tuesday Night Races
Courtesy Midweek Club

With only a week remaining before the National Championships ninety five riders would make the trip out to Midweek's Buckhorn circuit in
Mississauga for the Tues. Night Races.

In the late race, it was La Bicicletta's Heath Cockburn who punched it on the opening lap. The response in the field was swift, but from all the counter attacks and bridging attempts would emerge a six man break: Cockburn, Josh Hall (KHS), Jordie Kofman (, Sean Bechtel (Caledon Hills) and the Pavan duo of Mark Polsinelli and Ed Maset.

That move would stay out front for the next 55 kms, with Cockburn as the main driving force, his bike rocking violently side to side, as Ed Veal and James Macdonald of the Aurora based Cyclissimo outfit drove the pack to keep the time gap hovering at 20 secs.

When a prime was offered with 25 laps remaining, Cockburn's breakaway companions didn't dare try to come around, as he kept drilling it over the line. Sadly, the inevitable surge from the pack in the finale would swallow up the break. But Cockburn would punch it one more time to stay clear for the final kilometer ! Holding off the field by only a dozen meters to take the win. Averaging over 46 km/h for over an hour of racing. Those lucky enough to be in attendence knew they had witnessed what will be remembered as one of the most heroic performances in the ten year history of the series.

Thanks again to Midweek's Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie for set up and takedown, Adam Hobbs - Emergency Medical Responder and to Liza Miranda and Tovi Heilbronn for helping out at the line.

Reminder: Midweek's Media and Politician Day will be next week at the Buckhorn location with events beginning at 6:45. The night will feature cash prizes, a BBQ and more fun stuff. See you there.

Early Race
22 Laps - 21.5 km - 41.4 km/h avg.

1. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) 31:17
2. Bruce Camacho (D'Ornellas)
3. Gary Hirsch (Pavan)
4. Maogosha Pyjor (Cycle4MS)
5. Leo St.Germain (MBRC)
6. Steve Hamilton (Madonna Wheelers)
7. Tim Buckley (HBCC), all s.t.

Late Race
60 Laps - 58.8 km - 46.1 km/h

1. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta) 1:16:25
2. Darko Ficko (La Bicicletta) at 0:02
3. Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club)
4. Ed Veal (Cyclissimo)
5. Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta)
6. Gerard Yates (KHS)
7. Josh Hall (KHS)
8. James Macdonald (Cyclissimo)
9. Piero Zanetti (Pavan)
10.Mark Shaw (ChainReaction), all s.t.

Primes: Heath Cockburn, Paul Greene (Chain Reaction)
95 Starters


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.