Canadian Cyclist


June 23/06 9:25 am - Swisspower Cup #7

Posted by Editoress on 06/23/06

Swisspower Cup #7 June 17-18, Grachen Switzerland
Courtesy FACT Switzerland

There was an impressive demonstration of the depth in the Swiss mountain bike scene in Grachen Switzerland over the past weekend

With riders such as Sauser, Naef, Frischknecht not on the start list, it seemed to be an easy race for Absalon to win the 7th Swisspower cup in Graechen.

But the depth of the Swiss team is so strong , that at any time anyone can win against the top racers in the world.

The same held for the in the women's field.
With Swiss National champion Petra Henzi and National champ. Severine Hansen (Fra) battling it out in the front , the speed was very high.

After an unfortunate series of mechanical problems at the beginning of the season and a very bad crash with a resulting hip injury 6 weeks ago in Hasliberg, the former Canadian Junior champion and Pan Am junior champion Martina Feldmann had a chance to show her talent.

Feldmann kept pace with the 3 top riders in the steep race but had an unfortunate flat in the 3rd lap. After a constant 3rd best time behind Henzi and Hansen, Martina had to run to the mechanical zone to change her wheel and get some help with additional brake problems. Nevertheless she kept racing and still ended up in the 4 th place

Next Race will be in La Chaux de Fonds with the french team there in full strength as well as Austria.

Last race of the 2 Canadians to finish her European season 2006 will be the Race Marathon in Schletheim

Elite Women
1. Petra Henzi (Sui) Fischer-BMC1:46:45.5
2. Severine Hansen (Fra) Scott les 2 Alpesat 0:57
3. Sarah Koba (Sui) Koba biketeam.6:58.9
4. Martina Feldmann (Can) X.O-Felt11:46.4
5. Bettina Schmid (Sui) Fischer-BMC12:45.8
6. Kathrin Heimberg (Sui) Sputnik Pneu Egger13:18.3
7. Sandra Walter (Can) X.O-Felt13:46.3
8. Fanny Senn (Sui) Cyclestore Giant14:51.2
9. Corina Gantenbein (Sui) Koba biketeam.16:24.1
10. Fabienne Niederberger (Sui) X.O-Felt17:27.2
Elite Men
1. Balz Weber (Sui) BikePark.ch1:42:36.8
2. Florian Vogel (Sui) Swisspower MTB Teamat 1:01.7
3. Julien Absalon (Fra) Bianchi Agos1:10.3
4. Roel Paulissen (Bel) Giant-Racing-Team2:41.7
5. Frederic Frech (Fra) Scott Allianz Suisse3:36.1
6. Lukas Flückiger (Sui) Bianchi Agos:04:47
7. Silvio Bundi (Sui) Athleticum MTB Team5:10.1
8. Daniel Suter (Sui) Giant Swiss Team5:22.5
9. Martin Gujan (Sui) Athleticum MTB Team6:13.1
10. Robert Odink (Sui) Kona Verbier Swiss6:42.5


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.