Canadian Cyclist


July 27/06 3:59 am - CCA Announces Worlds XC Team

Posted by Editor on 07/27/06

CCA Announces Worlds XC Team
Courtesy CCA

The Canadian Cycling Association is proud to announce the names of the athletes who will represent Canada in the cross-country events at the World Mountain Bike Championships in Rotorua, New Zealand, from August 22 to 27, 2006.

The downhill team will be announced tomorrow.

Elite women XC

1. Marie-Hélène Prémont ˆ QC
2. Alison Sydor ˆ BC
3. Kiara Bisaro - BC
4. Wendy Simms ˆ BC
5. Catherine Pendrel ˆ BC
Reserve: Mical Dyck ˆ QC

Elite men XC

1. Geoff Kabush ˆ BC
2. Seamus McGrath ˆ BC
3. Ricky Federeau ˆ BC
4. Mathieu Toulouse ˆ QC
Reserve 1: Andrew Watson ˆ ON
Reserve 2: Kris Sneddon ˆ BC

U23 women XC

1. Jean-Ann McKirdy ˆ ON
2. Meghan Kindree ˆ BC
3. Catherine Vipond ˆ QC

U23 men XC

1. Neal Kindree ˆ BC
2. Max Plaxton ˆ BC
3. Raphaël Gagné ˆ QC
4. Martin Lazarski ˆ ON
5. Derek Zandstra ˆ ON

Junior women XC

1. Emily Batty ˆ ON
2. Alexandra Gélinas-Hamelin ˆ QC
Reserve: Kaitlin Mitchener ˆ ON

Junior men XC

1. Cody Canning ˆ AB
2. Francis Morin ˆ QC
3. Alex Harvey ˆ QC
Reserve: Jeff Clarkson ˆ BC

Editor's Notes

The team is pretty much what ould be expected, given the goal of trying to garner as many top-half of the field results as possible. The Downhill team delay is due to deliberations as to the sanctions to be applied to Danika Schroeter for her actions during the podium for the Elite Women. The High Performance Committee is currently reviewing the situation (and the appropriate regulations), and will be making a decision by tomorrow (hence the delay in announcing the team).


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.