Canadian Cyclist


August 7/06 6:59 am - Tour de Bowness: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 08/7/06

Tour de Bowness
Courtesy Andy Holmwood, Alberta Bicycle Association

Stage 1 (August 6th): 1.2 kilometre Hill Climb Time Trial held at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary. The event continued today with the Tour de Bowness Criterium, in Bowness (Calgary), Alberta.

Course records fell Sunday evening in both Men's and Women's categories at the first race of the 2006 Tour de Bowness, a 1.2 Kilometre Hill Climb at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary. The entirely uphill race featured a three-up start format, and coursed up the steep, switch-backed grades of the service road at Canada Olympic Park. In the Men's category, Calgary native Philippe Abbott (Italpasta/Transport Belmire) narrowly beat the course record of 3 minutes 21 seconds set by Symmetric's Jacob Erker last year, while mountain-bike marathon and adventure race expert Marg Fedyna (ERTC/redbike) surpassed the existing Women's record by over 30 seconds. One-hundred and five racers contested the Hill Climb.

Women A and B
1. Marg Fedyna (ERTC/redbike - Women A)4:11.2
2. Alison Testroete (CMC/Bow Cycle - Women A)4:26.4
3. Laura Brown (CMC/Bow Cycle - Women A)4:46.3
4. Amy Woodward (CMC/Bow Cycle - Women A)4:55.9
5. Natasha Kuzmak (Synergy - Women A)4:59.9
6. Stephanie Roorda (Synergy - Women B)5:15.4
7. Michelle Beveridge (bicisport - Women B)5:20.6
8. Tanya Bagnell (ERTC/redbike - Women A)5:29.0
9. Lauren Lankester (bicisport - Women B)5:37.0
10. Liane Angerman (Synergy - Women B)5:45.8
11. Andrea Elliot (Port Hope Bicycle - Women B)5:50.7
12. Rosalind Damer (Independent - Women B)6:15.5
Category 1/2
1. Philippe Abbott (Italpasta/Transport Belmire)3:19.9
2. Ryan Hopping (ERTC/redbike)3:32.1
3. Cyrus Kangarloo (Synergy)3:32.7
4. Jesse James Collins (bicisport)3:35.2
5. Jeff Bolstad (Team H&R Block)3:39.6
6. Mark Webster (The Bike Shop)3:41.5
7. James Sparling (bicisport)3:46.2
8. Anthony Steenbergen (Team H&R Block)3:49.9
9. Rob Veroba (bicisport)3:52.0
10. Devin Erfle (Deadgoat)3:54.0
11. Mark Foster (Team H&R Block)3:54.3
12. Dan Wood (ERTC/redbike)3:57.8
13. Murray Carter (Alter Ego/Ride With Rendall)4:04.6
14. Jared Green (TRS Racing)4:05.7
15. Shaun Adamson (Juventus)4:08.3
16. Shawn Taylor (Team H&R Block)4:10.5
17. Harley Borlee (Team H&R Block)4:18.7
18. Graeme Thomson (bicisport)4:25.5
19. Robert Martens (Blizzard)4:29.0
20. Kevin Rokosh (ERTC/redbike)4:31.1
Category 3
1. Cody Canning (ERTC/redbike)3:42.9
2. Kelly Servinski (CMC/Bow Cycle)3:48.5
3. Zane Westerbeek (Team H&R Block)3:51.2
4. Aaron Chappell (ERTC/redbike)3:57.6
5. Keith Bayly (Deadgoat)3:58.4
6. Kyle Anderson (ERTC/redbike)3:58.8
7. Brian Kullman (Synergy)3:58.8
8. Brian Robinson (CMC/Bow Cycle)3:58.9
9. James Ritchie (Independent)4:11.2
10. Gary Brown (Rundle Mountain CC)4:13.9
11. Sean Walsh (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:13.9
12. Kevin Walsh (Crankmasters)4:19.0
13. Lonn Bate (Terrascape)4:19.6
14. Phil Macdonald (Calgary Cycle)4:20.0
15. James Purdy (bicisport)4:23.7
16. Rod Macalister (Crankmasters)4:29.3
17. Evan Firth-Eagland (bicisport)4:34.8
18. Paul Robertson (Terrascape)4:52.2
19. Mike Mccorkell (bicisport)4:53.0
Category 4
1. Graham Shrive (Pedalhead Roadworks)3:56.0
2. Jason Wall (Independent)3:58.7
3. Gideon Krishtalka (Team H&R Block)4:00.1
4. Aaron Schooler (ERTC/redbike)4:00.2
5. Don King (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:03.6
6. David Roberts (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:03.7
7. Tom Amberiadis (bicisport)4:04.2
8. Brent Bittner (Rundle Mountain CC)4:06.3
9. Mark Fedoroshyn (Independent)4:08.5
10. Mike Mckee (Deadgoat)4:10.9
11. David Larson (Juventus)4:11.0
12. Robert Leeds (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:11.4
13. Craig Schmitt (Independent)4:12.0
14. James Mollison (bicisport)4:13.0
15. Evan Wick (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:14.1
16. Greg Dycke (KHS Bicycles Canada)4:15.3
17. Justin Williams (Singletrack)4:16.6
18. Koen Raedschelders (Team GS Campione)4:16.7
19. Rob Reid (Crankmasters)4:18.5
20. Andrew Phelps (Cranky's Bike Shop)4:20.1
21. John Plant (Synergy)4:21.8
22. Dion Clark (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:23.3
23. Scott Book (ERTC/redbike)4:29.6
24. Bruce Wick (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:35.9
25. Brad Fehr (Pedalhead Roadworks)4:45.2
26. Tracy Shearer (Juventus)5:03.8
27. Lev Krivitsky (Terrascape)5:20.2
28. Bill Blonski (bicisport)7:13.5
Category 5
1. Nic Hamilton (bicisport)4:06.3
2. Casey Dyck (Schmoe Racing)4:09.4
3. Ryan Campbell (Singletrack)4:10.2
4. Jim Janzen (Crankmasters)4:17.0
5. George Irwin (River Valley Cycle)4:19.5
6. Larry Welsh (Independent)4:23.3
7. Michael Holowack (Calgary Cycle)4:23.6
8. Stephen Reid (Hardcore)4:33.1
9. Sherwood Plant (Synergy)4:36.1
10. Adam Boyko (Team H&R Block)4:36.5
11. Stephen Andrichuk (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:41.3
12. Jason Buijs (Eurotech)4:45.0
13. Phil Williamson (Crankmasters)4:45.3
14. Ken Rumsey (Singletrack)4:46.6
15. Chris Dittrick (CMC/Bow Cycle)4:48.6
16. Tim Wu (bicisport)4:49.4
17. Kim Schurtz (Independent)4:50.9
18. Eric Wong (Singletrack)4:58.9
19. Rob Wooley (Speed Theory)5:00.2
20. Jay Rankin (Crankmasters)5:06.4
21. James Tallian (Crankmasters)5:17.0
22. Jacek Kasprzyk (Crankmasters)5:19.5
23. Brad Knapik (CMC/Bow Cycle)5:22.8
24. David Corr (Synergy)5:34.7
25. Earnest Wyder (Speed Theory)5:36.8
26. Andrew Schietzsch (Juventus)5:56.2


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.