Canadian Cyclist


August 16/06 10:38 am - BC Track Provincials, Midweek Club Tuesday Night Races

Posted by Editoress on 08/16/06

BC Provincial Track Champs Aug 25-27th

Registration now online at

The Burnaby Velodrome will be hosting the 2006 BC Provincial Track Championships at the Harry Jerome Sports Centre in Burnaby BC, Aug 25-27, 2006. The event, expects riders from the Lower Mainland, Vancouver Island, and throughout the province of BC.

Provincial Championship Categories:
- Junior Women
- Junior Men
- Elite Women
- Elite Men
- Masters A, B, C Men + Women
- Vet Men

• These categories correspond with their Cycling BC / CCA License.
• 5 rider minimum (same category) = provincial championship event

Provincial Championship Events may include qualifying rounds as required

- Sprints (Flying 200m incl)
- Individual Pursuit
- Team Pursuit
- 500M Time Trial / Kilo Time Trial
- Points Race
- Keirin
- Team Sprint
- Madison (if enough riders)

Chariot and scratch races may also be added, following confirmation of the schedule.

Out of province riders (USA/Alberta/etc) are allowed to compete, but are not eligible for the Provincial Championship titles.

A tentative schedule will be published on the Burnaby Velodrome website:

Midweek Club Tuesday Night Races
Courtesy Midweek Club

Conditions were mild but windy for the 81 riders that took part in this week's Midweek Tuesday Night Races.

In the late race it was the feisty Mike Novo (Cycles Cambridge) that went from the gun, but it was the young gun duo of Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club) - provincial espoir champion - and Zach Morris (Hamilton CC), junior bronze medalist who were the first to build up a serious lead. This was a deja-vu performance of their stellar perfomance at Sundays CycleSLAM points race, just 48 hrs before.

The duo quickly built up a 20 sec. lead when a four main raiding party of Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta), Paul Rego (, Colin Howard (Cyclissimo) and Jean-Paul Tessolin (Pavan) made the most serious bid to get across to the lead. Though they got within spitting distance, this chase would crumble under the pressure put forth by the blistering pace set by the leaders on a very difficult day.

Damian and Zach crossed the line together, after having laid to waste all challengers this Tuesday Night, with Zach giving the win to his breakaway comapanion. Ten seconds back, star sprinter Chris Atkins won the bunch gallop, just edging Italpasta's Thorben Wieditz, who was back to racing after his spectacular crash at the CHIN picnic criterium on Canada Day, almost six weeks ago. Glad to see you back.

Thanks to all the riders and volunteers that make this series possible. In particular Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie who set up and take down the course every week and marshall the course for both races.

Early Race
20 Laps - 19.8 km - 39.8 km/h

1. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) 29:30
2. Kris Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club)
3. Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta)
4. Bruce Camacho (D'Ornellas)
5. Mauro Rizzardo (Pavan)
6. Elliot Horwitz (Midweek CC)
7. Steve Hamilton (Madonna Wheelers)
8. Ilan Elgar (Midweek CC)
9. Ziggy M. (ZM Cycling Club) all s.t.

Late Race
45 Laps - 44.1 km - 43.4 km/h

1. Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Club) 1:01:04
2. Zach Morris (Hamilton CC) at s.t.
3. Chris Atkins (La Bicicletta) 0:10
4. Thorben Wieditz (Italpasta/Belmire)
5. David Fry (Midweek CC)
6. Mike Novo (Cycle Cambridge)
7. Sam Bail (
8. Rodney McEwen (Jet Fuel)
9. Christian Hansen
10. Mark Polsinelli
11. Paul Venturelli (Midweek CC) ??
12. Attila Hajdu (Mississauga BRC) all s.t.

Primes: Bruce Krip, Damian Kurzawinski
81 Starters


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.