Canadian Cyclist


August 29/06 7:45 am - Alberta Provincial MTB Champs

Posted by Editoress on 08/29/06

Alberta Provincial Mountain Bike Championships August 27th, Terwillegar Park AB
Courtesy Brys Francis, United Cycle Racing

A beautiful Sunday in August, and a new 6.5 km route through suburban Terwillegar Park awaited 120 of the best racers in Alberta. The new course featured a mix of technical, loose, double and singletrack combined with 180 m of climbing per lap and a descent down the famed rough and tumble Fireman's trail. The racing was fast, hard, and wide open as there were a number of bruised, cut and dirty riders crossing the line along with numerous new Provincial Champions being crowned. Thanks to a tremendous group of volunteers who marshalled, registered, fed on race day along with those who cleared, flagged, staked, and signed this terrific course.

The Elite women's race was wide open with annual favorites Mikal Dyck (Terrascape) and Kate Aardal (Mountain Bike City) not in attendance. After a scorching 2 of 5 laps, Edmonton's Marg Fedyna (ERTC) held of Christine Misseghers (Mountain Bike City) and Penny Thompson (Grande Prairie Wheelers) to claim the Alberta Provincial Mountain Bike Champion's jersey. With the former Provincial Champion Roddi Lega (Norco Factory Team/United Cycle) looking after the live announcing and two time runner up Evan Sherman (United Cycle) looking after the timing, it was up to a new group of challengers to chase down United Cycle's Tim Heemskerk.

After a blistering first lap, a 1minute 30 second gap was opened up on a group containing Andre Sutton (Hardcore), Dallas Morris (Deadgoat), and Steve Martins (Hardcore). Sutton and Morris worked well together and continued to chase, but the gap continued to grow. After 6 laps it was Tim Heemskerk cruising to a 5 minute 30 sec victory to repeat as Provincial Champion, and an exciting battle for second place. At the line it was Dallas Morris outsprinting Andre Sutton for second place in a hard fought battle.

Congratulations to this years Provincial Champions.

Senior Sport Men
1. Hans Erasmus (cafe racers)1:23:22
2. Stephen Ferris (ERTC/Redbike)at 4:43
3. Kirk Bothwell (Terrascape Racing)6:09
4. Kevin Mcmahon (Pedalhead Racing Club)7:47
5. Christopher Dittrick (CMC / Bow Cycle)10:52
6. Garnet Ezard (Juventus)14:33
7. Simon Richard (United cycle)38:38
8. Emils Muehlenbachs (Pedalhead Racing)40:08
Senior Novice Men
1. Aaron Schooler (E.R.T.C.)41:29
2. Graham Shrive (Pedalhead Roadworks)0:27
3. Lance Harris (juventus)14:41
U17 Sport Men
1. Patrick Mc Manus (Independent)44:18
2. Bailey Mcknight (independant)at 3:45
3. Connor Witzke (Juventus)6:06
4. Kyle Harris (juventus)10:56
Junior Sport Men
1. Neal Gregory (Bow Cycle/CMC)1:06:13
2. Kasper Woiceshyn (team bow cycle CMC)at 2:37
3. Peter Knight (United Cycle Racing)6:02
4. Andrew Schietzsch (Juventus CC)20:57
5. Anthony Stadnyk (Bicisport)21:07
U17 Expert Men
1. Justin Middleton (Juventus/Kona/ River valley cycle)1:22:14
2. David Larson (Juventus)at 3:11
4. Dustin Andrews (Cyclemeisters / Bow Cycle)3:20
3. Kurt De Freitas (Bow Cycle)9:27
Senior Beginner Women
1. Anne Hosker (Pedalhead)27:36
Senior Sport Women
1. Shantel Koenig (Independent)55:19
2. Tami Thicke (SingletrackCycle)at 0:13
3. Amy Barnett (Bow Cycle)2:14
4. Aimee Willette (Cyclemeisters / Bow Cycle)7:46
Master Sport Women
1. Lisa Licis (Hardcore)52:18
2. Carrie Grover (Dirt Girls)at 3:06
U17 Expert
1. Lauren Lankester (Bicisport)1:20:36
2. Jessica Kisell (Bicisport)at 5:11
U17 Sport Women
1. Kelly Hall (Juventus)52:08
2. Kendra Middleton (Juventus/Heritage Chrysler-Lacombe)2:29
Junior Sport Women
1. Krystyn Ong (Juventus)1:05:55
2. Samantha Grover (Juventus)
U15 Men/Women
1. Mac Garvin (Cyclemeisters/ Bow Cycle)50:12
2. Felix Wilberg (Cyclemeisters / Bow Cycle)at 1:06
3. Michael Lankester (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)1:39
dnf. Eric Johnson (Rundle Mountain Cycle Club)
U13 Men/Women
1. Kevin Stafford (United Racing)30:49
2. Anastasia Stadnyk (Bicisport)at 10:11
Elite Men
1. Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle)1:49:45
2. Dallas Morris (DeadGoat Racing)at 5:33
3. Andre Sutton (Hardcore Racing)5:37
4. Peter Lawrence (Team H &R Block)10:18
5. Ryan Hopping (Redbike)11:30
6. Jon Nutbrown (Ridley's Cycle)12:58
7. Steve Martins (Hardcore Racing)14:43
8. Robert Leeds (Cyclemeisters/ Bow Cycle)15:56
9. Dion Clark (Team Bow Cycle/CMC)15:57
10. Earl Nolan (cyclemeisters/bow cycle)21:39
11. Steven Elm (Independent)31:58
dnf. Brian Bain (Cyclemeisters/ Bow Cycle)
dnf. Frederic Langevin (couloir bike)
dnf. Scott Osinchuk (Pedalhead Racing)
Master A Expert Men
1. Jeff Neilson (Terrascape)1:41:27
2. Darren Anderson (Pedalhead Racing)at 1:12
3. Brent Hooper (Pedalhead Racing)2:11
4. Ryan Castle (Headwinds)3:17
5. Andy Achuff (Pedalhead Racing)3:28
6. Keith Bayly (Deadgoat Racing)4:20
7. Bruce Penner (United cycle)5:33
8. Brennan Bagdan (pedalhead roadworks)8:23
9. Neil Johns (Hardcore)8:32
10. Greg Dycke (KHS)10:13
11. Shane Rush (velocity)11:07
12. Chris check (Pedalhead Racing)18:00
13. Daniel Bierd (Bicisport)20:58
14. Brad Tymchuk (Independent)21:38
dnf. Phil Mcdonald (Calgary Cycle)
Senior Expert Men
1. Erik Bakke (Deadgoat Racing)1:45:48
2. Chris Mcneil (Canary Cycles)at 0:14
3. Adrian Specogna ( Velikonja)0:20
Junior Expert Men
1. Malcolm Brentnall (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)1:47:00
2. Brian Robinson (BOWCYCLE/ CMC)at 0:19
3. Spencer Smitheman (Juventus)3:49
Elite Women
1. Marg Fedyna (ERTC/redbike)1:50:42
2. Christine Misseghers (Mountain Bike City)at 7:08
3. Penny Thompson (Grande Prairie Wheelers)15:30
4. Amy Woodward (CMC/Bow Cycle)16:59
Master Expert Women
1. Loni Klettl (Freeskool)1:31:07
Master Sport Men A
1. Trevor Pombert (United cycle)1:28:54
2. Tim Riess (Pedalhead Racing)at 1:06
3. Rob Found (Freewheel Jasper)2:53
4. Douglas Roch (Hardcore)7:48
5. Jack Vandyk (Terrascape Racing)10:21
6. Paul Robertson (Terrascape Racing)11:18
7. Joseph Litke (Pedalhead Racing)16:20
dnf. Paul Plaxas (Aerobic Power/Fresh Start)
dnf. Scott Book (ERTC/Redbike)
Master Sport Men B
1. Bruce Johnson (Rundle Mountain Cycle Club)1:07:07
2. Clayton Stafford (United Racing)at 0:19
3. Ed Garvin (SingletrackCycle)0:25
4. Roger Clemens (United cycle)1:44
5. Mike Steneker (Juventus)2:03
6. Joe Yurkovich (Hardcore)4:45
7. Don Fox (Juventus)5:19
8. Michael Zelensky (Terrascape Racing)5:38
9. Brian Licis (Hardcore)8:53
10. Thomas Auer (Calgary Cycle)9:41
11. Dave Staerkle (Hardcore Racing)13:35
12. John Mcknight (independant)14:44
13. Brent Brentnall (Kids of Mud)17:43
14. Stewart Hutchings (United cycle)36:20
dnf. Gerry Mccuaig (Deadgoat Racing)
Master Expert Men B
1. Mike Cavaliere (Rundle Mountain Cycling Club)1:23:44
2. Mark Rumsey (Hardcore Racing)at 2:41
3. Geoff Clark (Deadgoat Racing)3:51
4. Tracy Shearer (Juventus)11:21
5. Graham Smith (Rundle Mountain Cycling Club)18:13
dnf. Gary Dearing (Cyclemeisters)
Master Novice Men
5. Scott Brooks (Calgary Cycle)1:16:32
1. John Encarnacao (United cycle)at 3:19
2. Joe Royle (independent)5:33
3. Curtis Roper (velocity)5:39
4. Patrick Graham (independent)27:35


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.