Canadian Cyclist


September 8/06 9:52 am - Track Nationals Day 1 Report

Posted by Editor on 09/8/06

2006 Track Nationals Begin - Dieppe, N.B.
Courtesy CCA

Note: Full results to follow

The first day of the Tim Hortons Track National Championships (Thursday, September 7, 2006) happened under ideal weather conditions in sunny Dieppe, NB, which already hosted the Road Nationals in 2001 and the Cyclocross Nationals in 2004. Riders particularly enjoyed the totally revamped Velodrome Caisse Populaire Dieppe. 66 top Canadian elite men and women track cyclists are attending (50 men and 16 women), with several competitions running through Sunday.

Women's 500 m Time Trial
1. Auna Brit Ericksen (AB)
2. Laura Brown (AB)
3. Karine Côté (QC)

Men's 1000 m Time Trial
1. Matt Barlee (BC)
2. Felix Haspel (AB)
3. Yannick Morin (QC)

"This is what I have been training for all year!" said 2006 Kilo National Champion Matt Barlee. "I was disappointed because I did not take a good start...since we don't have a gate to practice kilo in Victoria, it doesn't help. But then I was happy that my acceleration and my speed endurance overcame this technical difficulty I had in the gate. I hope it will help my standings and to be involved in even more projects with the National Team."

4000 m Men's Team Pursuit
1. Symmetrics Team (Svein Tuft, Zach Bell, Cameron Evans, Christian Meier)
2. Québec (Martin Gilbert, Jean-Michel Lachance, Keven Lacombe, Charly Vives)
3. Alberta (Michael McCorkell, Ryan McKenzie, Jamie Sparling, Matt Barlee)

Symmetrics' winner team member Svein Tuft: "It was really a fun race for us (the Symmetrics Teams) as we usually race in road and we gain a lot in strength and speed at such track events. Our effort has been huge for the distance (4 K) and we feel more efficient and stronger. Personally it's my third event in track, that's all and I find it a pretty cool facility, the wood track being actually very fast."

Women's Scratch Race
1. Gina Grain (BC)
2. Sarah Kirby (BC)
3. Laura Yoisten (AB)

"I was happy to see how active the girls were! People were really watching each other and it's good to see such a sense of strategy at a National event," said BC rider Gina Grain from Victoria, who is currently ranked # 1 for 2006 in the Scratch race. "I was impressed by some riders who kept trying great things. I particularly praise that work for Canadian women to work hard and try, that's how you can achieve great results." she added.

Men's Team Sprint
1. The Track Team (Cameron McKinnon, Yannick Morin, Travis Smith)
2. Team Sprint BC (Matt Barlee, Keith Bruneau, Matthew Chater)
3. Québec Team (Simon Pelletier-Marceau, Martin Laforest, Eric Beausejour, Lawrence Leroux)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.