Canadian Cyclist


September 9/06 10:57 am - Track Nationals Day 3 Report

Posted by Editor on 09/9/06

Track Nationals - Dieppe, N.B.
Courtesy CCA

Martin Gilbert (QC) took the National Champion title today (Day 3) in the Scratch race. Alberta's Travis Smith and Auna Brit Ericksenhave won the title in the Sprint race. Gina Grain, from BC, earned another National Champion jersey in the Women's Points race. Tomorrow, the spectacular events of Keirin and Madison will close the Tim Hortons Track Nationals in Dieppe.

Amateur Junior and Master track racers also had the opportunity to ride the newly refurbished Velodrome Caisse Populaire Dieppe today, with a Points race, a mix Team Sprint and a Keirin event.

Men's Scratch
1. Martin Gilbert (QC)
2. Zach Bell (YK), racing for Alberta
3. Travis Smith (AB)

"I had great objectives for my race yesterday and I have been disappointed, that's why today I decided to secure my racing. I took the right lap with Zach (Bell) and Christian (Meier) when they attacked. Then Travis (Smith) became more and more threatening! ", said Martin Gilbert (Chateauguay, QC), 2006 National Champion in the Scratch race. "Then the five of us (Zach Bell, Christian Meier, Travis Smith and Ontario's Adam Thuss) led the race. At the end, I followed Zach's moves, since I did not feel top shape. I started to sprint and it worked out until I crossed the finish line! I will take part in the Madison with Zach tomorrow and I feel confident, as it is my favourite discipline."

Women's Points Race
1. Gina Grain (BC)
2. Laura Yoisten (AB)
3. Natasha Kuzmak (AB)

Sprint Women
1. Auna Brit Ericksen (AB)
2. Sarah Kirby (BC)
3. Stephanie Roorda (AB)

"It was a fantastic racing, Stephanie gave me a really good challenge, same as Sarah, they have been very aggressive," said Alberta's Auna Brit Ericksen. "I'm happy about that, it's my first national title in Sprint (Auna earned four national titles overall in two years). Tomorrow is my favourite race, the Keirin, and I hope I will reach my goal at the 2006 Nationals which was to get three gold medals (she has already won the kilo event)!"

Sprint Men
1. Travis Smith (AB)
2. Cam McKinnon (AB)
3. Matt Barlee (BC)

"In the first ride, Cam (McKinnon) went pretty hard too quickly and it went out in my favour. In the second heat, Cam did it really well, he kept it slower. I started to rush at him and it worked out. I've had more chances to sprint than him during the season. With this kind of exciting racing, I predict really good challenges in the future," said 2006 Commonwealth Games Sprint bronze medallist and Keirin silver medallist Travis Smith of Calgary, Alberta.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.