Canadian Cyclist


September 15/06 8:58 am - Tobago International Cycling Classic: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 09/15/06

Phill Cortes Breaks Record and Wins Yellow Jersey
Courtesy Tobago International Cycling Classic 2006

Translated by Amanda Leigh Cox

Stage One:

September 14th kicked off Stage One at the Tobago International Cycling Classic 2006. In this year's running of the race, two Canadian Teams are participating: Team Atlantic National Cycling Centre National and Selection Bell Canada/Vanhoutte. Situated on the South Coast of the Islands, today's (September 14th) stage offered riders a scenic and beautiful 20K Individual Time Trial.

Phill Cortes (Selection Bell Canada/Vanhoutte.) won Stage One, pulverizing the previous record in a time of 22 minutes 52 seconds; just slightly ahead of teammate Ryan Bélliveau behind by 34 seconds. American Hugh Moran (Toshiba USA) completed the podium behind Cortes and Belliveau at 39 seconds. Director Sportif for Selection Bell Canada/Vanhoutte, Marc-Wayne Addison (who normally directs continental team Calyon-Litespeed) articulated his appreciation for his team's efforts. "They took the first stage seriously and they saw the fruits of their labours. We came here to win a stage, and since we've already done that, now we can focus on riding well during the rest of the race."

"I am happy and I am looking forward to defending the Yellow Jersey with honour and hard work!" exclaimed a jubilant Cortes after his win. "I am also very pleased that we have the top two positions in the GC. My team will definitely be there for me, and we are very well supported, so the rest is up to us." Cortes concluded.

Stage One
1 Phill Cortes (Selection Bell Canada/Vanhoutte)
2 Rayn Belliveau (Selection Bell Canada/Vanhoutte)

3 Hugh Moran (Toshiba USA)

5 Bruno Langlois (Toshiba USA)
6 Jean-Sébastien Perron (Selection Bell Canada/Vanhoutte)
8 Craig De Gier (Team Atlantic National Cycling Centre)
13 Jean-Michel Lachance (Team Atlantic National Cycling Centre)
16 Jean-Francois Racine (Team Atlantic National Cycling Centre)
31 Carl Desroches (Selection Bell Canada/Vanhoutte)
34 Max Keeler (Team Atlantic National Cycling Centre)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.