Canadian Cyclist


September 18/06 4:43 am - Alberta Hill Climb Championships

Posted by Editoress on 09/18/06

Alberta Provincial Hill Climb Championships September 17th, Mt. Norquay, Banff AB
Courtesy Andy Holmwood, Road and Track Coordinator, ABA

Women's records fall at Alberta Provincial Hill Climb Championships

Danelle Kabush (Timex) set a new Women's record at the Alberta Provincial Hill Climb Championships, held yesterday at Mt. Norquay, Banff. Kabush, riding amongst a strong women's field which included mountain bike stand-out Mical Dyck (Terrascape) and ultra-endurance specialist Marg Fedyna (ERTC/redbike), bettered her 2004 mark by nearly 5 seconds.

Nearly one-hundred riders, the maximum number allowed by Parks Canada, competed in the 28th edition of the race. The road up to the Mt. Norquay ski area, while not terribly steep, features several unrelenting switchbacks as it climbs over 300 metres above the town of Banff. Most riders were undeterred by snow in the days leading up to the race, which plastered the surrounding Rocky Mountains with a 'resplendent' blanket of white. Fortunately, the road was dry for the race and the sun made an appearance, which led to several fast times.

One other record also fell at the race: Kelsey Miller, of the host Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle club, set a new mark in the Master Women A category.

Master Men D 60 - 69 years.
1. Lev Krivitsky (Terrascape)18:36.8
2. Steve Sampson (CrankMasters)19:43.2
Master Men C 50 - 59 years
1. James Janzen (CrankMasters)15:34.5
2. Peter Farran (CrankMasters)15:43.2
3. John Winterdyk (The Bike Shop)15:54.0
4. Claude Breau (bicisport)16:54.4
5. Don Fox (Juventus)17:26.0
6. Michael Zelensky (Terrascape)17:42.6
7. Henry Yau (Deadgoat)17:57.6
8. Lorne Short (Rundle Mountain CC)18:53.4
9. Wayne Long (United Cycle)19:35.7
Master Men B 40 - 49 years
1. Peter Lawrence (Team H&R Block)15:21.7
2. Gary Brown (Rundle Mountain CC)15:59.1
3. Tommy Mak (Eurotech)16:01.1
4. Kevin Harris (TRS Racing)16:04.1
5. Phil Rayner (Headwinds)16:19.1
6. David Watson (Velocity)16:32.5
7. Kevin Walsh (CrankMasters)16:40.6
8. Rob Reid (CrankMasters)16:43.8
9. Carlos Salas (TRS Racing)17:04.1
10. Rod Lewis (Blizzard)17:09.8
11. Ken Germaine (Cycle-Logic)18:05.2
12. Graham Smith (Rundle Mountain CC)19:31.8
13. Wes Zaniecki (CrankMasters)21:53.8
Master Men A 30 - 39 years
1. Reid Cummings (CMC/Bow Cycle)14:48.3
2. Keith Bayly (Deadgoat)15:01.1
3. Craig Debellefeuille (Synergy)15:22.4
4. Jeff Nielsen (Terrascape)15:22.9
5. Mark Stranzinger (Terrascape)17:14.2
Master Women C 50 - 59 years
1. Val Trainer (Juventus)25:02.6
Master Women B 40 - 49 years
1. Joanne Breau (bicisport)18:24.0
Master Women A 30 - 39 years
1. Kelsey Miller (CMC/Bow Cycle)17:33.1s**
**new Master A Women's record; old record 19m24.5s, Colleen Mooney, 2001
Under 17 Men
1. Kyle Harris (Juventus)18:02.6
Under 17 Women
1. Jessica Kissell (bicisport)19:58.2
Junior Men
1. Spencer Smitheman (Juventus)14:50.1
2. Neal Gregory (CMC/Bow Cycle)16:08.5
3. Nicholas Andrichuk (CMC/Bow Cycle)16:29.4
4. Peter Knight (United Cycle)16:40.5
5. Kasper Woiceshyn (CMC/Bow Cycle)17:37.6
Category Women A + B
1. Danelle Kabush (Timex)15:32.4s** (gold - A)
2. Marg Fedyna (ERTC/redbike)15:44.5 (silver - A)
3. Tanya Salomon (TRS Racing)16:08.4 (gold - B)
4. Mical Dyck (Terrascape)16:22.9 (bronze - A)
5. Amy Woodward (CMC/Bow Cycle)18:01.7 (4th - A)
6. Susan Copeland (Juventus)18:27.3 (5th - A)
*new Women's record; old record 15m37.6s by Kabush, 2004
Category 5
1. Angus Cowan (Independent)14:49.6
2. Kobe Davis (Café Racers)15:15.6
3. Ryan Campbell (Singletrack)15:19.7
4. Adrian Specogna (
5. Larry Welsh (Independent)16:18.4
6. Geoff Badger (Speed Theory)16:36.6
7. Michael Godfrey (CrankMasters)16:36.8
8. Travis Bower (Cranked)16:37.6
9. Phil Williamson (CrankMasters)16:38.5
10. Al Gilbert (CABC)17:36.1
11. Jason Buijs (Eurotech)17:43.2
12. Rob Woolley (Speed Theory)18:15.7
13. Lance Harris (Juventus)18:19.7
14. Andrew Schietzsch (Juventus)18:24.4
15. James Tallian (CrankMasters)18:26.5
16. Jacek Kasprzyk (CrankMasters)18:56.2
Category 4
1. Dallas Morris (Deadgoat)14:21.0
2. David Larson (Juventus)14:26.6
3. Jason Wall (Independent)15:51.8
4. Dan Hunka (Juventus)16:17.3
5. Martin Day (CABC)16:39.3
6. Tracy Shearer (Juventus)16:55.1
7. Pete Graves (Independent)17:53.3
8. Bill Blonski (bicisport)21:59.9
Category 3
1. Frank Woolstencroft (TRS Racing)14:27.7
2. Brian Kullman (Synergy)14:57.0
3. Chris Mcneill (Canary Cycle)15:04.2
4. Erik Bakke (Deadgoat)15:25.6
5. James Purdy (bicisport)15:35.5
6. Carson Bannon (TRS Racing)15:42.7
7. Jack Vandyk (Terrascape)16:25.7
8. Nick Lynem (Ridley's Cycle)16:51.3
9. Bob Mckerrell (CABC)17:22.7
Category 1/2
1. Cyrus Kangarloo (Synergy)13:43.5
2. Mark Webster (The Bike Shop)13:43.6
3. Scott Manktelow (Rundle Mountain CC)13:55.2
4. Philippe Abbott (Italpasta/Transport Belmire)14:01.4
5. Per Strom (bicisport)14:01.6
6. Nick Friesen (Pedalhead Roadworks)14:05.8
7. Bruce Copeland (Juventus)14:10.5
8. Jesse James Collins (bicisport)14:24.6
9. Bob Veroba (bicisport)14:35.3
10. Zane Westerbeek (Team H&R Block)14:58.2
11. Shawn Taylor (Team H&R Block)15:13.8
12. Harlee Borlee (Team H&R Block)15:32.1
13. Brian Bain (CMC/Bow Cycle)15:54.8


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.