Canadian Cyclist


September 25/06 9:36 am - Vermont Grand Prix of Cyclocross

Posted by Editoress on 09/25/06

Johnson, Wallace, score wins in Vermont UCI 'Cross September 24th
Courtesy Alan Coté

The Vermont Grand Prix of Cyclocross opened the East Coast's UCI CX season on September 24. Held on the cross country ski trails of the Catamount Family Center, 10 miles from Burlington, Vermont, the event served up two full days of racing, with day two including UCI points on the line for Elite men and women.

The 1.8 mile no-pavement course wound through the open grassy meadows and hardwood forest of Catamount, and included the expected array of tight off-camber turns and dismounts - all surrounded by the impressive backdrop of the Green Mountains.

Day one's warm-up race saw New England's favorite son Mark McCormack (Cliff Bar), a two-time National 'cross champion, pound out a comfortable 1 minute lead in the opening laps, before dropping back after ripping the rear derailleur from his bike and running half a lap to the pit. McCormack's misfortune opened the door to Quebec's Mathieu Toulouse (Team Maxis) taking the win. In the woman's race, Amy Wallace (RGM/Richard Sachs) soled to victory without a serious challenge.

Sunday's UCI event saw bigger, higher-quality fields on the line, including past national champions Tim Johnson (Cannondale) and Jesse Anthony (Cliff Bar). McCormack and Johnson quickly shot into the lead, as Anthony suffered the same mechanical fate as his teammate McCormack did the day before. Then McCormack was dogged with bad luck once again, as a flat tire put him 30 seconds behind Johnson on lap three.

“I didn't know exactly what happened to Mark - suddenly he just wasn't on my wheel anymore”, Johnson said. But Johnson continued turning the fastest lap times, taking the win by 1:07 over McCormack. “We were going well together until I flatted,” said McCormack. “But I couldn't catch him - Tim was the strongest out there today.” Jeremy Powers (Jelly Belly) nearly caught McCormack on final lap to take third.

The UCI women's race also came down to a two-rider duel. Wallace and Maureen Bruno-Roy quickly left the rest of the small field of 15 behind. The paired worked together over the wind-blown course, before Wallace shook-off Bruno-Roy coming out the final technical curves to take the win by nine seconds on the line. “I didn't expect two wins here this weekend,” said Wallace, who's only riding her second season of 'cross.

2. Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Independent Fabrication0:34:16
3. Mandy Lozano (USA) Cheerwine0:35:05
4. Rebecca Wellons (USA) Gearworks/Spin Arts Cycling0:35:51
5. Stephanie White (USA) Velo Bella0:36:24
6. Marci Titus Hall (USA) Team International Bike/NERAC0:37:20
7. Perri Mertens (USA) harriscycleryracing.com0:37:38
8. Catherine Dudley (USA) Putney/West Hill0:38:04
9. Susan MacLean (USA) Gear Works/Spin Arts Cycling Team0:38:24
10. Cris Rothfuss (USA) NEBC/Cycle Loft0:39:28
11. Celeste Drumm (USA) FTS Dave's Bike Shop0:40:16
12. Katrina Davis (USA) Richard Sachs0:40:48
13. Elizabeth White (USA) NEBC0:41:43
14. Amanda Cox (Can) Team Kenda Tire0:44:00
15. Megan Bilodeau (USA) NCC - BikeReg.compulled
1. Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com0:57:19
2. Mark McCormack (USA) Team Clif Bar0:58:26
3. Jeremy Powers (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling0:58:46
4. Mathieu Toulouse (Can) Team Maxxis0:59:19
5. Matthew White (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team0:59:46
6. Jamey Driscoll (USA) FiordiFrutta1:00:00
7. Dan Timmerman (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team1:00:11
8. Matt Kraus (USA) Alan Factory Team1:00:47
9. Benoit Simard (Can) Specialized Canada1:01:25
10. John Hanson (USA) Nerac/ Pro Cycling Team1:01:48
11. Michael Cody (USA) FiordiFrutta Cycling Team1:01:58
12. Alec Donahue (USA) Joe's Garage/ Reynolds Composites1:01:59
13. Jesse Anthony (USA) Team Clif Bar1:02:05
14. Johannes Huseby (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team1:02:16
15. Charles Marzot (USA) CL Noonan/ Coast to Coast/ KAM1:02:45
16. Adam Myerson (USA) Pro Cycling1:03:00
17. Daniel Coady (USA) NCC - BikeReg.com1:03:05
18. Kevin Bouchard-Hall (USA) Kenda/Raleigh Racing1:03:45
19. Chris Peck (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team1:03:58
20. David Gagnon (Can) Opus1:04:04
21. Andrew Freye (USA) Cycles1:04:38
22. William Dugan (USA) BCA/VOmax1:04:54
23. Kevin Hankens (USA) Alan Factory Team1:05:20
24. Chris Rodzilsky (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Teampulled
25. ward solar (USA) Natures Path presented by Fuji Pro/Am Cycling Teampulled
28. Jerome Townsend (USA) ALANpulled
29. Tom Gosselin (USA) Independent Fabrication/Channel Cafepulled
30. Peter Rubijono (USA) HarrisCycleryRacing.compulled
31. Curt Davis (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Teampulled
32. Brad Sheehan (USA) 1ktoGo Sportspulled
33. Cory Burns (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Teampulled
34. Dylan O'Sullivan (USA) Team Bicycle Alleypulled
35. Alistair Sponsel (USA) Colavita Racingpulled
36. Corey Piscopo (USA) NorEastpulled
37. Steve Wallace (USA) INDpulled


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.