Canadian Cyclist


September 25/06 1:33 am - Saskatchewan Cycling Association 2006 Awards

Posted by Editoress on 09/25/06

Courtesy Denise Eberle, Executive Director, Saskatchewan Cycling Association

The Saskatchewan Cycling Association 2006 Awards were presented at the 2006 Annual General Meeting held Sept 24, 2006 in Prince Albert.

President’s Award: Jason Christbason
Outstanding Volunteer in the Recreation Sector: Bob Cochran
Outstanding Volunteer in the Mountain Bike Sector: Cory Zetterstrom
Wotton Bowl: Alexandra Wrubleski
Outstanding Achievement in Mountain Biking: Andrew Thomas
Interclub Points Trophy: Northern Bush Rastas mountain bike club
Ken Wilson plaque: Alex Wrubleski
Mileage Achievement Award: Frank Matus - 15,136 km.
Volunteer Service Awards: Shannon Hood - 5 years; Darrell Noakes - 15 years

Background - Awards

Jason Christbason, President’s Award

The President’s Award recognizes outstanding volunteer contribution toward the overall development or progress of the SCA. It may be received by any individual only once in a lifetime. A volunteer’s contribution may include development of a club, sector, committee, athlete, team or other

Jason has been the president of the Regina Cycle Club for the past 3 year.
In that time he has built this club from around 40 members to well over 100 members. His energy and commitment to all types of cycling has had a profound impact on the Regina cycling scene. He has been a major force in promoting and advocating cycling at the local and provincial level. Jason is an active racer and a wicked fast time trialist.

Bob Cochran, Outstanding Volunteer in the Recreation and Transportation

This award recognizes a member who has achieved an outstanding volunteer contribution in the recreation and transportation sector. An individual may receive this award only once in a lifetime

Bob Cochran has been instrumental in organizing and supporting many initiatives of the SCA over the years, particularly the GASP rides and other long distance events. He is also interested in local bike transportation and commuting and attends civic meetings. He has served on the Sask Cycling Board of Directors in different capacities for the past 8 years, most notably (and currently) as the Vice President of Recreation and

Cory Zetterstrom, Outstanding Volunteer in the Mountain Bike Sector

This award recognizes outstanding achievement in the mountain bike sector. An individual may receive this award only once in a lifetime.

Cory Zetterstrom races at the Elite level of Mountain Biking and still finds the time to volunteer as a coach, assist in organizing not one, but two, mountain bike races, is a ride leader for not one, but two clubs and has even sat on the NBR executive and has been the Dirt Series Coordinator.

All this and he attends school full-time and works full time during the summer months. Cory is a very talented young man with many hobbies and interests. He could merely race and not help out at the organization level, but instead, we are so fortunate that he gives us so much of his time. This year he was instrumental in the resurrection of the Blackstrap mountain bike course that was used for the Rasta Rumble Provincial Mountain Bike Provincials

Alexandra Wrubleski, Wotton Bowl

The Wotton Bowl recognizes outstanding interprovincial or international achievement in road or track

Alexandra Wrubleski has won the Wotton Bowl for several reasons: her recent results at Nationals, Tour de Toona, Tour of Gastown and Tour de White Rock.

Alex is our current ITT and Road Race National Champion and has competed at the Elite Women's road Race and ITT World championships. Alex won all 3 stages and the omnium at the Tour de White Rock, was second to Gina Grain at the Tour of Gastown crit and was the top Canadian at the Tour de Toona. Alex has demonstrated that dedication and hard work pay off

Andrew Thomas, Outstanding Achievement in Mountain Biking

This award recognizes outstanding interprovincial or international
achievement in mountain biking

Andrew Thomas has proven himself with some outstanding results this season.
These results include: 7th place finish at Canada Cup XC #3 (Hardwood Hills), 4th place finish at Canada Cup #4 (Whistler) and a 7th place finish at Nationals (Sun Peaks). All of these finishes are within 93% of the winner's time. Andrew is making his mark on the national scene and with his continued dedication and hard work will continue to perform well at the national level.

Northern Bush Rastas, Interclub Points Trophy

This trophy is awarded to the club with the highest number of points gained in competition. The points system is designed to encourage inter-club competition and to promote cross- over between road, cyclo- cross and mountain biking.

The Northern Bush Rastas is the largest bike club in Saskatchewan, serving both competitive and recreational mountain bikers in and around the city of Saskatoon

Alex Wrubleski, Ken Wilson plaque

This award, named in honour of long-time Saskatoon cyclist and committed volunteer Ken Wilson, recognizes a member who has achieved an outstanding personal result in a timed cycling event. Ken, who passed away in 2003, was an outstanding racer, commissaire and volunteer

Alexandra Wrubleski had many excellent results in times events this year, most notably were the road race at Nationals. During this race, Alex was a
member of a 5 person break away and attacked on the hill to gain a margin that the chasers would not close. Alex won the women's road race National Title as an espoir in a field with many experienced pro cyclists.

Frank Matus, Mileage Achievement Award

This award recognizes the member with the highest logged distance ridden within the past 12 months. Any road distance ridden is considered for the award, including touring, racing, training, all terrain and commuting, as long as the riding is not for professional (i.e. paid) purposes

Frank Matus wins the award for having ridden 15,136 km in the past year

Volunteer Service Awards

Volunteer service awards recognize long term volunteer service with the SCA.
Awards are presented for 5, 10, 15 years of service on the SCA Board of Directors or the SCA Committees. This year, the SCA recognizes the following members: Shannon Hood - 5 years; Darrell Noakes 15 years.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.