Canadian Cyclist


September 26/06 8:22 am - Forest City Velodrome Sunday Report

Posted by Editor on 09/26/06

Forest City Velodrome Sunday Report
Courtesy Rob Good

September 24, 2006

What a great night of bicycle racing action at the FCV last night (Sunday, September 24). 35 riders were on hand to contest the evening's race program. A good variety of races thrilled the crowd and kept the infield on the edge of their seats.

The highlight of the night was the return of 2006 World Masters Champion Gord Singleton to the Boards in an attempt to break the lap record. On Singleton's first attempt he got close to the record, but still had to improve by .1 of a second.....

20 minutes later Gord lowered the record to 8.05 seconds, breaking the Lap Record by .01 seconds! A tremendous ride to set the new mark for the locals to go after all winter.

Local London area riders (Steve Meyer & Ryan Crawford) put the hurt on the other riders in the Madison Team Race, however, in the last 2 minutes of the event they could not hold off the hard charging veteran team of Taylor Martin & Mike Renneboog who came from behind to win the race in classic style.

The next race night is Saturday, October 7th at 7pm. The CanAmQue Challenge (riders from Canada, United States & Quebec) will test their bicycle racing skills in a weekend of racing action.

Check for all the latest news.

Flying Lap

1 Gord Singleton 8.05 seconds "New" Track Record
2 Jamie Shankland 8.29
3 Keith Thorarnson 8.54
4 Taylor Martin 8.56
5 Ryan Crawford (jr) 8.71
6 Alex Fornier 9.00
7 Julian Shea 9.09
8 Steve Meyer (Jr) 9.24
9 Lorne Falkinstern 9.27
10 Rene Schroeder (F) 9.95
11 Ryan Lave (Master C) 10.04
12 Bryan Kelly 10.15
13 Dave Berman 10.24
14 Kyle Rupay (Master C) 10.27
15 Kyle Fry (Jr) 10.81
16 Dave White 11.66
17 Earnie Reagan 11.82
18 Breanne Rupay 11.47
19 Amberley Berman 12.40

Group "C" Unknown Distance Points Race

1st Kyle Rupay 7 points
2nd Kyle Fry 6
3rd Dave White 2
4th Brian Kelly

Group "B" Unknown Distance Points Race

1 Steve Meyer 6 points (finished higher in final sprint)
2 Ryan Crawford 6
3 Piers Davidge 3
4th Vince DeJong 2
5th John Hueston 1

Group "A" Unknown Distance Points Race

1 Keith Thorarnson 8 points
2 Taylor Martin 7
3 Jamie Shankland 4
4 Mike Reneeboog 3
5 Alex Fournier 2

Team Sprint

1 Kyle Fry, Dave Berman, Ryan Crawford 30.44 seconds
2 Kyle Rupay, Renee Schroeder, Piers Davidge 31.27
3 Amberley Berman, Steve Meyer, Keith T 31.33
4 Breanne Rupay, Brian Kelly, Taylor Martin 31.87
5 Ernie Reagan, Ryan Lave, Mike Reneeboog 33.54

Open Miss & Out

1 Taylor Martin
2 Steve Meyer
3 Keith T
4 Mike Reneeboog
5 Ryan Crawford
6 Julian Shea
7 Lorne Falkinsten
8 John Hueston
9 Piers Davidge
10 Alex Fournier
11 Vince DeJong

30 Minute Madison

Red Team ˆ Mike Reneeboog & Taylor Martin
Purple Team ˆ Steve Meyer & Ryan Crawford
Green Team ˆ Lorne Falkinstern & Keith T
Team Yellow ˆ Peirs Davidge & Vince DeJong


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.