Canadian Cyclist


November 20/98 2:18 am - Canmore Canada Cup, Team Signings, Letter to the Editor, Indoor Worlds

Posted by Editor on 11/20/98

Canmore Canada Cup Info

We have had a number of requests for clarification on the Canmore Canada Cup, specifically the lack of a Downhill event. Lisa Davey at the CCA was able to clear up this matter:

"The Canada Cup at Canmore will only be a cross-country Canada Cup. Due to the difficulties encountered, with the downhill, at this site it has only been awarded a cross-country. The riders will have the best 4 races count towards their overall standing (they must start at Silver Star to be included in the overall standing)."

More Team News

Seamus McGrath has re-signed with Haro for 1999... Melanie McQuaid and Neil Grover have both re-signed with Rocky Mountain... Chris Sheppard is in final negotiations with Catera-Pure Energy, and is expected to sign shortly... Melanie Dorion is rumoured to be negotiating with Ford-Devinci... Clara Hughes will not be re-signing with Saturn at this point... Linda Jackson will be staying with Timex (who have lost their title sponsor Saeco).


Before you post a press release from a cycling group, we suggest that you review a little bit more thoroughly its accuracy. This commentary follows our reading of the Victoria Training Center press release about the coming annual awards ceremony (98.11.19).

In this text, it is written that << The CCSD National Cycling Centre is the training headquarters for the Canadian National Cycling Team... >>.

We would like to remind that the cycling high performance world does not revolve around a single center in Canada since there are two national/regional training centers recognized and supported by the Canadian Cycling Association, one in Victoria (BC) and the other one in Bromont (QC).

This being said, we congratulate the organizers of the Victoria awards ceremony for their initiative and wish them success in 1998.

Pierre Thibault

Indoor Cycling World Championships - Prerov, Czechoslovakia

Artistic Cycling - Women Pairs

1 Carmen Carvalho/Ivonne Carvalho POR 307.60 pts / 298.93 pts
2 Heike Müller/Marika Müller AUT 309.60 / 295.80
3 Blanka Neuschlová/Sárka Janecková CZE 309.40/ 295.27


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.