Canadian Cyclist


October 10/06 10:38 am - Juventus GP Jim Horner Cyclo-cross

Posted by Editor on 10/10/06

Juventus GP Jim Horner Cyclo-cross - Edmonton
Courtesy Bruce Copeland

October 7, 2006

On Saturday Oct 7, 87 riders lined up for the GP Jim Horner cyclocross race hosted by Juventus Cycling Club. The riders were treated to cool temperatures and damp conditions which made for perfect cross conditions. The new course at the Argyll Velodrome challenged riders with fast and twisting grass sections with tricky downhill corners and slippery off camber switchback climbs. The downfall of several riders was the transition onto pavement covered with wet leaves.

Tim Heemskerk took the Elite/Open Men's race with mountain bike phenom Mical Dyck taking the Woman's event. Brain Robinson rode away from a hard charging Expert field and Mike Blennerhassett taking the Sport category.

Thank you to all the organizers and volunteers for hosting a great event. Thanks to our sponsors Revolution Cycle, Chianti's Restaurant and Wayne Mackenzie of Electrum Design Goldsmiths.

1. Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle)1:02:55
2. Nick Friesen (Independent)1:03:44
3. Per Strom (bicisport)1:04:01
4. Mark Webster (The Bike Shop)1:04:27
5. Robin Baillie (Team H&R Block)1:04:37
6. Peter Toth (ERTC/Redbike)1:05:24
7. Shaun Adamson (Juventus)1:05:34
8. Bruce Copeland (Juventus)1:05:54
9. Sean Barr (Pedalhead Road Works)1:06:21
10. Andre Sutton (Hardcore)1:06:40
11. Mike Bidniak (Juventus)1:06:42
12. David Larson (Juventus)1:06:49
13. Kevin Williams (Cycledelia)1:07:24
14. Dallas Morris (Deadgoat Racing )1:07:50
15. cp Walsh (Synergy )1:08:41
16. Guri Randhawa (Pedalhead Road Works)1:09:00
17. Craig DeBellefeuill (Synergy )lapped
18. Keith Bayly (Deadgoat Racing )lapped
19. Jeff Neilson (Terrascape)lapped
20. Nick Jendzjowsky (Pedalhead Road Works)lapped
21. Mike Johns (CABC)lapped
22. Kevin Rokosh (ERTC/Redbike)lapped
23. Harley Borlee (Team H&R Block)lapped
dnf. Ryan Hopping (ERTC/Redbike)
dnf. Robert Martens (Blizzard)
dnf. Lukas Jedras (Pedalhead Road Works)
dnf. Stephen Ferris (ERTC/Redbike)
dnf. Todd Barraclough (Velocity)
dnf. Cody Canning (ERTC/Redbike)
1. Mical Dyck (Terrascape Racing)0:33:05
2. Marg Fedyna (ERTC/Redbike)0:33:16
3. Loni Klettl (Freeskool)0:33:57
4. Susan Copeland (Juventus)0:34:28
5. Alana Cassidy (Cycledelia)0:37:30
6. Lisa Licis (Hardcore)0:38:09
7. Gail Wozny (Juventus)0:38:31
8. Joanne Breau (bicisport)0:38:58
9. Maryann Heacock (Velocity)0:39:16
10. Adrienne Tibbitts (GS Campione)0:40:12
11. Samantha Grover (Juventus)0:40:52
12. Patty Tetreault (Cycledelia)0:41:01
13. Barbara Polehoykie (Blizzard)0:41:29
1. Brian Robinson (CMC/Bow Cycle)0:46:50
2. Aaron Schooler (ERTC/Redbike)0:48:52
3. Chris McNeil (Canary Cycles)0:49:23
4. Spencer Smitheman (Juventus)0:50:06
5. Chris Stipdonk (United Cycle)0:50:06
6. Will Critchley (Pedalhead Racing)0:50:46
7. Graham Shrive (Pedalhead Road Works)0:51:24
8. Sandy Hilton (Pedalhead Road Works)0:51:42
9. Andrew Achuff (Pedalhead Racing)0:51:51
10. Bruce Penner (United Cycle)0:52:15
11. Tracy Shearer (Juventus)0:52:29
12. Jason Proche (Pedalhead Road Works)0:53:16
13. Kevin Noble (United Cycle)0:54:19
14. Kyle Anderson (ERTC/Redbike)lapped
15. Don Fox (Juventus)lapped
16. Roger Clemens (United Cycle)lapped
17. Mike McKee (Deadgoat Racing )lapped
18. Aaron Chappell (ERTC/Redbike)lapped
19. Claude Breau (bicisport)lapped
20. Brian Kullman (Synergy )lapped
1. Mike Blennerhassett (Hardcore)0:45:28
2. John Encarnacao (United Cycle)0:46:43
3. Daniel Hunka (Juventus)0:46:43
4. Peter Knight (United Cycle)0:47:25
5. Lance Adamson (Juventus)0:48:13
6. Trevor Pombert (United Cycle)0:48:13
7. Ken Germaine (Cycle Logic)0:48:59
8. Connor Witzke (Juventus)0:49:24
9. Sean Lukan (Deadgoat Racing )0:49:26
10. Vaughn Shears (Pedalhead Racing)0:49:38
11. Patrick Ferris (Blizzard)0:50:41
12. Andrew Phelps (Cranky's Bike Shop)0:50:47
13. David Verveda (Independent)0:51:06
14. Kyle Harris (Juventus)0:51:07
15. Tim Brewster (Juventus)0:51:35
16. Shann Hein (United Cycle)0:51:35
17. Brad Fehr (Pedalhead Road Works)0:52:17
18. Mike Kohlenberg (United Cycle)0:52:49
19. Stuart Neal (ERTC/Redbike)0:53:03
dnf. Jonathan Mayne (Pedalhead Road Works)
dnf. Andrew Schietzsch (Juventus)
dnf. Travis Anderson (ERTC/Redbike)
dnf. Scott Book (ERTC/Redbike)
dnf. Antonio Bilotta (Pedalhead Road Works)
dnf. Shane Siegel (Pedalhead Road Works)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.