Canadian Cyclist


October 11/06 8:03 am - United Cycle Oktobercross

Posted by Editor on 10/11/06

United Cycle Oktobercross - Edmonton
Courtesy Brys Francis

October 8, 2006

United Cycle proudly hosted a record turnout - 93 - riders for the second event of the annual Edmonton cyclocross double header. Racers were treated to more seasonal temperatures, river valley views, near perfect racing conditions, and a brand new course in Capilano Park. This new course challenged riders with undulating terrain, slalom through the trees, two off-camber descending chicanes, and three dismounts consisting of a toboggan hill ascent, a log jam run up and, of course, a set of double barriers. The downfall of many riders was the righthand transition from pavement to frost covered grass, dirt, and leaves.

Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle) swept the weekends Elite events and taking home the $350 prize purse. Cross legend Peter Toth (ERTC/Red Bike) narrowly edged out Mark Webster (The Bike Shop) who both succumbed to Heemskerks technical cornering skills and his powering up the toboggan hill to finish second and third respectively.

Likewise, Mical Dyck (Terrascape) swept the weekends women's event and took home the $350 prize purse. Marg Fedyna (ERTC) was able to hold off the hard charging Susan Copeland (Juventus) to round out the women's podium.

The expert race was hotly contested. Aaron Schooler (ERTC/Redbike), 2nd on Saturday, turned the tables around and attacked right off the start line. Aaron lead the race wire to wire to earn his first win of the season holding off Brian Robinson (Bow Cycle) +7s, and Spencer Smitheman (Juventus) +21s in an exciting race.

The sport race saw a trio of United Cycle riders, John Encarnacao, Peter Knight, and Duncan Cameron control the race from the start until Encarnacao overshot one of the chicanes. Knight and Cameron were able to successfully hold their lead to finish 1st and 2nd respectively and Juventus rider Connor Witzke was able to capitalize on Encarnacao's (4th) mistake to finish 3rd.

Thank you to all the volunteers for hosting a such a successful event. Thanks to our sponsors United Cycle, and the Strathcona Market Starbucks and Save On Foods.

Elite/Open Men
1. Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle)1:02:15
2. Peter Toth (ERTC/redbike)1:02:55
3. Mark Webster (The Bike Shop)1:02:59
4. Per Strom (bicisport)1:03:17
5. Shaun Adamson (Juventus)1:03:36
6. Ryan Hopping (ERTC/redbike)1:03:54
7. Robin Baillie (Team H&R Block)1:04:06
8. Bruce Copeland (Juventus)1:04:06
9. David Larson (Juventus)1:05:13
10. Andre Sutton (Hardcore)1:05:14
11. Sean Barr (Pedalhead Road Works)1:05:42
12. Cody Canning (ERTC/redbike)1:06:35
13. Kevin Williams (Cycledelia)1:07:06
14. Keith Bayly (Deadgoat Racing)lapped
15. Nick Jendzjowsky (Pedalhead Road Works)lapped
16. Craig DeBellefeuille (Synergy)lapped
17. Dallas Morris (Deadgoat Racing)lapped
18. Jeff Neilson (Terrascape)lapped
19. Brys Francis (United Cycle)lapped
20. Stephen Ferris (ERTC/redbike)lapped
21. Robert Martens (Blizzard)lapped
22. Harley Borlee (Team H&R Block)lapped
dnf. Nick Friesen (Independent)
dnf. Kevin Rokosh (ERTC/redbike)
dnf. Mike Bidniak (Juventus)
dnf. cp Walsh (Synergy)
dnf. Guri Randhawa (Pedalhead Road Works)
1. Mical Dyck (Terrascape Racing)0:39:45
2. Marg Fedyna (ERTC/redbike)0:40:20
3. Susan Copeland (Juventus)0:40:23
4. Loni Klettl (Freeskool)0:40:27
5. Martha Handford (IF/Different Bikes)0:43:35
6. Alana Cassidy (Cycledelia)0:44:26
7. Joanne Breau (bicisport)0:44:56
8. Adrienne Tibbitts (GS Campione)0:45:04
9. Joy Mekechuk (Juventus)0:46:00
10. Alana Heise (Terrascape Racing)0:46:01
11. Gail Wozny (Juventus)0:46:35
12. Maryann Heacock (Velocity)lapped
13. Tanya Bagnell (ERTC/redbike)lapped
14. Lisa Licis (Hardcore)lapped
15. Barbara Polehoykie (Blizzard)lapped
16. Samantha Grover (Juventus)lapped
17. Patty Tetreault (Cycledelia)lapped
dnf. Lauren Lankester (bicisport)
Expert Men
1. Aaron Schooler (ERTC/redbike)0:51:38
2. Brian Robinson (CMC/Bow Cycle)0:51:45
3. Spencer Smitheman (Juventus)0:51:59
4. Will Critchley (Pedalhead Racing)0:53:42
5. Chris McNeil (Canary Cycles)0:54:11
6. Mike Blennerhassett (Hardcore )0:54:16
7. Graham Shrive (Pedalhead Road Works)0:54:31
8. Mark Rumsey (Hardcore)0:54:52
9. Bruce Penner (United Cycle)0:55:01
10. Tracy Shearer (Juventus)0:55:01
11. Sandy Hilton (Pedalhead Road Works)0:56:15
12. Kyle Anderson (ERTC/redbike)0:56:26
13. Chris Stipdonk (United Cycle)0:56:57
14. Mike McKee (Deadgoat Racing)0:57:02
15. Don Fox (Juventus)lapped
16. Claude Breau (bicisport)lapped
17. Pat Doyle (Deadgoat)lapped
18. Dave Ellis (Pedalhead Road Works)lapped
19. Aaron Chappell (ERTC/redbike)lapped
20. Roger Clemens (United Cycle)lapped
dnf. Kevin Noble (United Cycle)
dnf. Jared Gervais (If/Different Bikes)
Sport Men
1. Peter Knight (United Cycle)0:38:33
2. Duncan Cameron (United Cycle)0:38:36
3. Connor Witzke (Juventus)0:38:53
4. John Encarnacao (United Cycle)0:39:09
5. Daniel Hunka (Juventus)0:39:22
6. Antonio Bilotta (Pedalhead Road Works)0:39:45
7. Lance Adamson (Juventus)0:39:58
8. Patrick Ferris (Blizzard)0:40:02
9. Ed Garvin (Singletrack)0:40:33
10. Jonathan Mayne (Pedalhead Road Works)0:40:33
11. Vaughn Shears (Pedalhead Racing)0:40:34
12. Andrew Schietzsch (Juventus)0:40:47
13. Mike Steneker (Juventus)0:40:58
14. Trevor Pombert (United Cycle)0:41:01
15. Kyle Harris (Juventus)0:41:32
16. Brad Fehr (Pedalhead Road Works)0:41:35
17. Mike Kohlenberg (United Cycle)0:42:07
18. Brian Licis (Hardcore)0:42:19
19. Lance Harris (Juventus)0:42:28
20. Shane Siegel (Pedalhead Road Works)0:42:50
21. Mac Garvin (CMC/Bow Cycle)lapped
22. Arthur Bland (Independent)lapped
23. Stewart Hutchings (United Cycle)lapped
dnf. Sean Lukan (Deadgoat Racing)
dnf. Scott Book (ERTC/redbike)
dnf. Shannon Hein (United Cycle)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.