Canadian Cyclist


October 22/06 10:19 am - Rundle Mountain Kananaskiker 'Cross

Posted by Editoress on 10/22/06

Rundle Mountain Kananaskiker 'Cross - Canmore, Alberta
Courtesy Andy Holmwood

Cyclo-cross racing returned Saturday to the Canmore Nordic Centre, with the Rundle Mountain Cycling Club's Kananaskiker race. The race was the fifth event in the Pedalhead Road Works - Alberta Cyclo-cross Cup. The course was limited to the ski trails beyond the Centre's stadium area, as significant re-construction of the facility is still occurring in the area of the day lodge and stadium. The course featured a couple of pavement sections, some scary downhills, and much hard-packed dirt trail.

The big news of the day was the end of Alberta Champion/United Cycle rider Tim Heemskerk's long string of wins, dating back to last season. Any disappointment Heemskerk had, however, was tempered by the fact that he was beaten by a rider he coaches, Ryan Hopping of ERTC/redbike. Heemskerk and Hopping pulled away from the field early in the race, with Hopping leaving Heemskerk behind on the last lap.

The Women's race saw Mical Dyck (Terrascape) cruise to another win in front of Jasper's Loni Klettl (Freeskool). Cyclo-cross racing continues to grow in Alberta, with over 90 riders competing in Saturday's race. The Alberta Cup series continues next week with the Terrascape Knobby Gobbler in Calgary:

1. Ryan Hopping (ERTC/redbike)59:56
2. Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle)1:00:06
3. Brian Robinson (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)1:02:11
4. Peter Toth (ERTC/redbike)1:03:15
5. Andre Sutton (Hardcore Cycling Club)1:03:28
6. Per Strom (bicisport)1:03:39
7. Sean Barr (Pedalhead Road Works)1:03:53
8. Alex Reain (Fresh Air Experience Racing)1:04:31
9. Shawn Bunnin (Cycledelia)1:05:03
10. Dallas Morris (Deadgoat)s.t.
11. Cyrus Kangarloo (Synergy)1:05:29
12. Jeff Neilson (Terrascape)1:05:34
13. David Larson (Juventus)1:06:03
14. Shaun Adamson (Juventus)at 1 lap
15. Scott Manktelow (Rundle Mountain CC)at 1 lap
16. Nick Jendzjowsky (Pedalhead Road Works)at 1 lap
17. Aaron Schooler (ERTC/redbike)at 1 lap
18. Shawn Taylor (Team H&R Block)at 1 lap
19. Mark Rumsey (Hardcore CC)at 1 lap
20. Devin Erfle (Deadgoat)at 1 lap
21. Guri Randhawa (Pedalhead Road Works)at 1 lap
22. Brian Bain (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)at 1 lap
23. Harley Borlee (Team H&R Block)at 1 lap
DNF. Mike Bidniak (Juventus)
DNF. Robert Martens (Blizzard CC)
DNF. Keith Bayley (Deadgoat)
1. Mical Dyck (Terrascape)37:29
2. Loni Klettl (Freeskool)38:54
3. Nancy Burden (Juventus)41:14
4. Martha Handford (Independent Fabrications)42:07
5. Alana Heise (Terrascape)42:56
6. Adrienne Tibbitts (Gruppo Supportivo Campione)42:58
7. Lisa Licis (Hardcore CC)43:16
8. Carolyn Soules (Crankmasters)44:57
9. Joanne Breau (bicisport)at 1 lap
10. Carrie Williamson (Terrascape)at 1 lap
11. Krystyn Ong (Juventus)at 1 lap
12. Tanya Bagnell (ERTC/redbike)at 1 lap
13. Samantha Grover (Juventus)at 1 lap
14. Michelle Beveridge (bicisport)at 1 lap
15. Jennifer Virtue (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)at 1 lap
1. Chris McNeil (Canary Cycles)52:23
2. Clayton Paradis (Pedalhead Racing Club)52:30
3. Chris Stipdonk (United Cycle)52:43
4. Mike Blennerhassett (Hardcore CC)53:45
5. Gary Brown (Rundle Mountain CC)53:50
6. Tracy Shearer (Juventus)54:27
7. Sandy Hilton (Pedalhead Road Works)54:42
8. Reid Cummings (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)54:46
9. Bruce Penner (United Cycle)
10. Mike McKee (Deadgoat)both s.t.
11. Roger Clemens (United Cycle)56:09
12. Andrew Reed (Rundle Mountain CC)56:22
13. Neal Gregory (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)56:50
14. Trevor Sutherland (Deadgoat)57:46
15. James Ritchie (Independent)58:09
16. Geoff Clark (Deadgoat)58:30
17. Tim Brezsnyak (Deadgoat)58:35
18. Jack Funk (Deadgoat)59:11
19. Claude Breau (bicisport)59:12
20. Peter Knight (United Cycle)59:35
21. Brian Kullman (Synergy)at 1 lap
22. Bob McKerrell (Central Alberta Bicycle Club)at 1 lap
23. Dan Bierd (bicisport)at 1 lap
24. Frank Kovacs (Synergy)at 1 lap
25. Tommy Mak (Eurotech)at 1 lap
DNF. John Encarnacao (United Cycle)
DNF. Jared Gervais (Independent)
DNF. Malcolm Brentall (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)
DNF. Kevin Noble (United Cycle)
DNF. Mike Prinz (Singletrack Cycle)
1. Scott Anderson (Calgary Bicycle Track League)42:33
2. Kevin Cohen-Wallis (Rundle Mountain CC)43:21
3. Keith Batstone (Frank's Cycle)43:47
4. Trevor Pombert (United Cycle)44:48
5. Jan Sacharuk (Pedalhead Road Works)44:50
6. Scott Book (ERTC/redbike)44:50
7. Ed Garvin (Singletrack Cycle)45:16
8. Antonio Bilotta (Pedalhead Road Works)45:30
9. Scott Lukan (Deadgoat)46:05
10. Michael Zelensky (Terrascape)46:53
11. Connor Witzke (Juventus)47:57
12. Andrew Schietzsch (Juventus)48:44
13. Brian Licis (Hardcore Cycling Club)49:18
14. Stevan Vinci (Pedalhead Racing)at 1 lap
15. Patrick McManus (Independent)at 1 lap
16. Stephen Andrichuk (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)at 1 lap
17. Greg Yanicki (bicisport)at 1 lap
18. Sherwood Plant (Synergy)at 1 lap
19. Felix Wilberg (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)at 1 lap
20. Lance Adamson (Juventus)at 1 lap
21. Stewart Hutchings (United Cycle)at 1 lap
DNF. Mac Garvin (Cyclemeisters/Bow Cycle)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.