Canadian Cyclist


October 28/06 11:45 am - BC `Cross Champs

Posted by Editoress on 10/28/06

Kabush & Simms Take B.C. Titles
Courtesy Dave Cressman

Against all odds the weather in Vancouver held for yet another weekend of Cyclo-cross. The former National Championship course in Jericho Park was tweaked a little to provide some spectacular racing and no one was left wanting for more. This event was acting as the BC Provincial Championship race for Open Men and Open Women as well as the BC Cross Cup presented by Giant series finale, with double points being awarded in the Men A, B and Women A categories.

The first race of the day was also the biggest as the B Men got underway. Early on a large group of 6 riders separated themselves from the pack and drove the pace. In the mix were a couple of riders haggling for series points and the coveted title. Graham Tutti, Menno Jangsma, Brad Collins, Jay Murray, Steve Murray and Jason Thompson rode together for a while and then one by one dropped off the pace, leaving Tutti and Jangsma to fight it out for the win, with Tutti pulling it off for maximum points.

Next up were the Women and the C Men. Hot off some great USGP results Wendy Simms was the class of the field, riding away early and holding a good gap to the line to take the BC Championship. Second went to Kelly Jones, the easy winner of the BC Cross Cup title with her consistent wins. Sarah Stewart rode strongly for third place. The B Women had a tighter race just behind the A's with youngster Chelsea Bilsbarrow taking the win over Sherri Iwaschuk and Lesley Trivett. The C men were sent off after the ladies and had a tough time catching any of them. They had a great battle with Graham Falkowsky taking the win ahead of Dave Markham and Raymond Tse.

The big guns came out for the final race of the day. Geoff Kabush came to town to challenge the BC Cup series regulars Andrew Pinfold, Andreas Hestler, Andrew Kyle and Dan MacDonald. Right from the gun the racing was hard and very fast, with a lead group of 6 to 8 riders off the front. Kabush seemed happy to get a feel for the course early on and let the others play at the front. It didn't take long for Kabush to take over and mid race he and Andrew Pinfold started to separate themselves from the field. Dangling just behind them on his own was BC Cup leader Andrew Kyle, having another strong race. Pinner and Kabush rode together heading into the last lap and shortly after Kabush put the power down to drop Pinfold and solo in for the win and the BC Championship. Pinfold rolled in for second and not long after Andrew Kyle came through for third and a clear win in the BC Cross Series.

The Wedgewood Cycling Team would like to thank all of its' members for their support on and before race day and to all the participants and sponsors for their support of the team and this classic event. It was a banner year for cyclocross in BC with almost a 100% increase in participation for the 6 series events. Just wait till 2007.

Men A
1. Geoff Kabush (Maxxis)
2. Andrew Pinfold (Symmetrics Cycling)
3. Andrew Kyle (Sugoi Giant)
4. Rob Britton (Giga Bike / La-Z-Boy)
5. Kevin Noiles (Masi - Adobe)
6. Kris Sneddon (Kona - Les Gets)
7. Dan McDonald (Bike Barn)
8. Craig Richey (Kona Bikes)
9. Andreas Hestler (Rocky Mountain - Business Objects)
10. Kevin Calhoun (Rocky Mountain)
11. Sven Sturm (Trek - Red Truck Ale)
12. Troy Woodburn (Giga Bike / La-Z-Boy)
13. Jonathan Gormick (Steed Cycles)
14. Rob Gosselin (Atomic)
15. Basse Clement (Masi - Adobe)
16. Joe Wessel (Cobra - Fresh Air)
17. Graeme Bant (Rocky Mountain - Different Bikes)
18. Tyler Trace (Giga Bike / La-Z-Boy)
19. Scott Malore (Steed Cycles)
20. Patrick Love (Wedgewood Cycling Team)
21. Scott McGregor (Steed Cycles)
22. Aart VanKooy (Bike Barn)
23. Michael Judge (Steed Cycles)1 lap
24. Adam Elliott (Kelowna Cycle)1 lap
25. Rick Rodland (Flora Glo - Norco)1 lap
26. Dan Skinner (Total Restoration Cycling)1 lap
27. Dwayne Kres (SORCA)1 lap
28. Matt Hewitt (Oak Bay Bikes)1 lap
DNF. Drew MacKenzie (Sugoi Giant)
DNF. Norm Thibault (Frontrunners)
DNF. Clayton Sainsbury (Bayside)
DNF. Will Pratt (Bike Barn)
DNF. Stefan Widmer (Sugoi Giant)
DNF. Thomas Skinner (Sugoi Giant)
DNF. Joe Lepine (Escape Velocity)
DNF. Tristan Galbraith ( - Commencal)
Women - BC Champs
1. Wendy Simms (Kona)
2. Kelly Jones (Sugoi Factory Team)
3. Sarah Stewart (Wedgewood Cycling Team)
4. Sandra Walter (XO Felt)
5. Jenny Trew (Giant Canada)
6. Christy Love (Sugoi Factory Team)
7. Melanie Vaughan
8. Jaymie McGowan (Oak Bay Bikes)
9. Danika Schroeter (Cove Bikes)
10. Barb Zimich (Team Coastal)
11. Alena Radamsky (Giant Canada)
12. Courtney Albert (Trek - Red Truck Ale)
Women "B"
1. Chelsea Bilsbarrow (Giant Canada)
2. Sherri Iwaschuk (Chicks Cycling)
3. Lesley Trivett (Wedgewood Cycling Team)
4. Heather Gerth (Chicks Cycling)
5. Sarah McMillan (Chicks Cycling)
6. Sue Weston (Natural Earth Racing)
Men B
1. Graham Tutti (John Henry - Race Face)
2. Menno Jangsma (Frontrunners)
3. Brad Collins (BSP)
4. Jay Murray (Trek Red Truck Ale)
5. Steve Murray (SORCA)
6. Jason Thompson (Escape Velocity)
7. Andrew Brown (Dalvay-Taylors)
8. Gord Ross (Escape Velocity)
9. Jonathan Cheung (Escape Velocity)
10. Brian Griffin (Maple Ridge Cycle/Norco)
11. David Holden (Aviawest - Vega)
12. Chris Reid (Midweek)
13. Chris Sayers (Kelowna Cycles)
14. Steven DeVantier (Local Ride Cycling Team)
15. Trevor Hopkins (Team Whistler/Natures Path)
16. Jeffery Ferguson (Oakville Race Team)
17. Dale Ewanchuck (FloraGlo / Norco)
18. Meshkat Javid (Mighty Riders)
19. Bart Nakano (FloraGlo / Norco)
20. Mark Dormer (Escape/Devo)
21. Brent Hambleton
22. Bryan Kelly (North Shore Athletics)
23. Kevin Thorpe (Escape/Devo)
24. Jeff Spence (Wedgewood Cycling Team)
25. Jason Leber (Steed Cycles)
26. J.P. Baron (Frontrunners)
27. Patrick Beckstead
28. Ben Jackson (Escape Velocity)
29. Cody Campbell (Escape/Devo)
30. Jacob Wasiela (Escape Velocity)
31. Sebastien Sleep (On The Edge)
32. Aaron Amar (Island Racing Club)
33. Derek Tripp (Nanaimo Bicycle Club)
34. Rick Theissen (Giga-Bike / La-z-boy)
35. Mike Charuk (Team Whistler/Natures Path)
36. Steve Cork (Escape Velocity)
37. Colin Campbell
38. Paul Craig (Natural Earth Racing)
39. E.R. Brown
40. Ryan Cousineau (Escape Velocity)
41. Jay Loder
42. Dan Proulx (Elitewave)
43. Jeff Hanninen (Bayside)
44. Kieth Nicol (North Shore Athletics)
45. Mark Butschler (Fast Twitch Cycling)
46. Nicholas Cowan (Giga-Bike / La-z-boy)1 lap
47. Jak New (Escape Velocity)1 lap
DNF. Anselm Rossiello (Team Coastal)
Men C
1. Graham Falkowsky
2. Dave Markham
3. Raymond Tse (Webcor Alto Velo)
4. David Broemeling (Escape Velocity)
5. Luke Kitzanuk
6. John Starcevic
7. Alex Cogger
8. David Herder
9. Barry Brennan
10. Vince Lee (Wedgewood Cycling Team)
11. George Greenwood
12. Bill Riley (Team Coastal)
13. Gordon Day


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.