Canadian Cyclist


November 6/06 11:07 am - Aurora 'Cross Report

Posted by Editor on 11/6/06

Aurora Cross UCI C2
By Steve Fleck

Aurora Leisure Complex/Lambert Wilson Park, Aurora, Ontario, Sunday November 5th

Today, in Aurora, Ontario, Canada's only UCI Cyclo-Cross race took place under ideal conditions. The racing was fast and furious on the technically demanding 3K loop course in Lambert Wilson Park that required impressive cycling fitness, outstanding bike handling ability and the acrobatic skills of a Cirque de Soliel performer to do really well. Putting all of this together and emerging with impressive wins were Greg Reain (Stevens Racing) and Amanda Sin (3 Rox Racing) with the first place spoils in the men's and women's Senior Elite races respectively.

Ottawa, Ontario native Reain was involved in a heated two way battle with Dan Timmerman who was visiting from upstate New York. These two rider's, quickly separated themselves from the main pack in the men's race after the first lap, of the 60 minute race. Reain and Timmerman, were clearly the class of the field as they went wheel to wheel and shoulder to shoulder over hills, barriers, deep sand and mud on the Aurora cross course. On the final lap it appeared to be over for Zimmerman when Reain powered through the deep sand section without having to dismount for the entire stretch - the only rider on the day to do this. This gained the tall and long legged Reain a 20metre lead, but Zimmerman quickly closed this gap down. Then on the final run up, on a steep hill, Zimmerman slipped and nearly fell, but was still able to gain Reain's wheel for the final sprint, which went in Reain's favor. "This is the best cyclo-cross course in Canada" said Reain after all was over. It was a great race against Dan. I thought I had him a couple of times on the last lap, but he kept coming back on me. Fortunately I had a bit left for a sprint". Taking third place in the men's race was Andrew Watson (Team R.A.C.E.) who was able to gap former Aurora Cross Champion Peter Morse (Jet Fuel Coffee) on the last lap.

In the women's race, Sin who hails from Sudbury, Ontario took control of the women's race for good after the 2nd lap of the 40 minute elite women's race. This was despite some spirited riding from Jennifer Stephenson (Team Biovail), who was one of the few riders, man or women, who was able to power her bike up the steepest section on the course, without dismounting for a run-up. Sin was all smiles afterwards echoing Reain's words:" This was an amazing course, but very challenging at the same time. I had to work extremely hard all the way to the finish line". Rounding out the top three was Stephenson's Biovail teammate, Amanda Shaw.

Espoir & Elite Men - 7 laps
1. Greg Reain (Can) Stevens Racing Team55:08
2. Dan R. Timmerman (Can) at 0:01
3. Andrew Watson (Can) Team R.A.C.E.0:57
4. Peter Morse (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee1:16
5. Osmond Bakker (Can) The Cyclery1:21
6. Aaron Fillion (Can) Ottawa Bicycle Club2:00
7. David Coughlin (Can) 2:08
8. Nathan Chown (Can) Cyclissimo Cycling Club2:59
9. Mike Garrigan (Can) HB Cycling Club : Team Hardwood Cycling & Ski Club3:00
10. Derrick St. John (Can) Ride With Rendall4:15
11. Kyle Douglas (Can) 3 Rox Racing4:40
11. Kevin Hazzard (Can) McMaster CC6:43
11. Shawn Marshall (Can) Barrie Cycling Club7:11
11. Cameron Jette (Can) HB Cycling Club7:19
11. Zachary Winn (Can) Impala Bicycles7:22
11. Erik Box (Can) The Hub Bicycle Shops.t.
11. John Roden (Can) Shickluna - NY8:04
11*. Dave Brown (Can) BikeSports Racing Teamat 1 lap
11*. Wai-Ben Wong (Can) Frank`s Red Hotat 1 lap
11*. Michael DeKelver (Can) Ottawa Bicycle Clubat 1 lap
11*. Scott Kelly (Can) at 1 lap
DNF. Colin Howard (Can) Cyclissimo Cycling Club
DNF. Gregg Germer (Can)
DNF. Marco Li (Can) Aquila Racing/Racer Sportif
DNF. Jonathan wood (Can)
DNF. Badih Schoueri (Can)
DNF. Nicholas Vipond (Can) Ottawa Bicycle Club
DNF. Stephane Marcotte (Can) Cycle SolutionsMechanical
DNS. Robert Vanderwouden (Can) The Hub Bicycle Shop
Elite Women - 5 laps
1. Amanda Sin (Can) 3 Rox Racing45:41
2. Jennifer Stephenson (Can) Team Biovailat 0:51
3. Amanda Shaw (Can) Team Biovail1:49
4. Natasha Elliott (Can) Cycling Team1:52
5. Laura Bowles (Can) 2:56
6. Karen Watson (Can) McMaster CC6:20
7. Denise Ramsden (Can) TI Racing7:30
8*. Celine Dennis (Can) Mississauga Bicycle Racing Clubat 1 lap
9*. Briana Illingworth (Can) at 2 laps


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.