Canadian Cyclist


December 1/06 1:32 am - True Sport Foundation Call for Nominations for Canadian Sport Awards

Posted by Editor on 12/1/06

True Sport Foundation Call for Nominations for Canadian Sport Awards
Courtesy CCES

The True Sport Foundation today announced its call for nominations for the 34th annual Canadian Sport Awards (CSA). The nomination period begins today and closes on January 15, 2007 and will recognize excellence in sport in 2006. The nomination package is available at

"The Canadian Sport Awards are the definitive recognition event for Canadian leaders in sport," said Victor Lachance, Chairperson of the True Sport Foundation. "I strongly encourage sport organizations, media and the general public to nominate their sport heroes for this year's Canadian Sport Awards," said Mr. Lachance. "It is our chance to honour outstanding individuals, teams and businesses for the skills, passion and contribution they bring to Canadian sport."

Finalists for each CSA award will be announced in February 2007. Winners will be announced at the official gala awards ceremony later in the spring of 2007.

Established in 1972, the Canadian Sport Awards are the premier recognition event for sporting excellence. This annual event brings together more than 500 leaders from the sporting and corporate communities.

The 34th Annual Canadian Sport Award categories are listed below, along with those honoured for each award in 2005.

The Athletic Performance Awards recognize outstanding athletic performance:

- Male Athlete of the Year (The Norton H. Crow Award)
- Female Athlete of the Year (The Velma Springstead Award)
- Junior Male Athlete of the Year (The Viscount Alexander Award)
- Junior Female Athlete of the Year (The Elaine Tanner Award)
- Male Team of the Year (The Dick Ellis Trophy)
- Female Team of the Year (Edmonton Grads Trophy)
- Partners of the Year (The Wilson and McCall Trophy)

The Leadership Awards recognize and celebrate an individual's outstanding contribution to the betterment of sport:

- Athlete Leadership Award (The Bruce Kidd Award)
- Volunteer Achievement Award (The Bryce Taylor Award)
- Leadership in Sport Award
- Coach of the Year Award

The Corporate Excellence Awards recognize and celebrate corporations who provide outstanding support to Canadian sport:

- National Team Support Award
- Individual Athlete Support Award
- National Initiative Support Award

The Bell True Sport Community Awards recognize the importance of fair and ethical sport, inclusion, accessibility and a positive sport experience at the community level. Bell True Sport communities are honoured for their best practices, commitment and accomplishments in furthering their community based sports and recreation programs. The 2005 Bell True Sport Communities were:

- Kugluktuk, NVT
- Markham, ON
- Pickering, ON

The Investors Group Spirit of Sport Story of the Year category recognizes and celebrates Canadian heroes who, in the pursuit of sporting excellence, have demonstrated values such as fairness, inclusion, perseverance, sportsmanship, respect for others, and a true love of sport. The 2005 winners were: Kristina Groves, Clara Hughes and Arne Dankers - The Right to Play

Nomination Eligibility:

Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for the Canadian Sport Awards. Individuals and corporations can also self-nominate. Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from January 1, 2006 through to December 31, 2006.

Submissions must be received at the True Sport Foundation no later than 5:00 p.m. E.S.T., January 15, 2007. Late submissions will not be accepted. Completed ORIGINAL submissions should be sent to:

True Sport Foundation
CSA Selection Advisory Committee
2197 Riverside Drive, Suite 300
Ottawa, ON K1H 7X3


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.