Canadian Cyclist


December 8/06 9:21 am - 2007 Team Announcements

Posted by Editor on 12/8/06

Team Ultralink Women's Squad Announced

Ultralink Products, Inc. - the consumer electronics' industry's fastest growing manufacturer of audio/video cabling and connectivity products is proud to announce the formation of Team Ultralink, an elite women's cycling team based in the Greater Toronto Area.

Ultralink has committed to providing a strong infusion of support behind a successful, hard working and determined road racing team.

Ultralink introduced its support in 2006 with the WOB women's team that went on to win seven championship medals in Ontario. The 2007 sponsorship will support the team in calendar events including the Canadian Road Championships, five to seven NRC events in the United States, The Montreal World Cup and Stage Race and local Ontario Cup events. Additional support for Team Ultralink is provided by Sidi cycling shoes, Giordana sports clothing, C. Schloen RMT, and AR Coaching.

Team Ultralink is actively recruiting two or three more riders to complete its roster, and support staff. Resumes and inquires about Team Ultralink can be sent via e-mail to Julia Farell, Team Director at

Mazur Launches Women's Team

Stemming from an enduring passion for cycling and a desire to continue to develop elite level racers, Mirek Mazur is pleased to announce that he will be organizing a women's team. Comprised of racers from across Canada and the US, the team will develop an emerging pool of talent through participation in select Canadian national, NRC and US races.

Promising to be a dominant force in Canadian racing, the 2007 team line-up includes three national champions (2 Canadian, 1 US), 2 provincial champions (1 Ontario, 1 Manitoba) and 2 strong racers with multiple medals in the Ontario Cup series.

Brought together are:

Jessica Spence - Canadian Pursuit Champion, Bronze medal Canadian ITT Championships

Beth Bissell - 2005 Masters Canadian Champion

Heather Davidson - Three time Ontario medalist

Lindsay Argue - Manitoba Junior Champion

Celeste Jones-Baumgardt - 2006 Ontario Junior Champion, 2005 Junior National Cyclocross Champion

Rebecca Nelson - ranked second overall in the Ontario Cup standings.

Danielle Haulman - Guest rider at select US stage races. 2006 US Cadet TT Champion

The team will begin its season with a training camp taking place in Tucson, Arizona in February, culminating with participation in the first race of the season: The Valley of the Sun Stage Race.

Additionally, the team will receive support from a club including racers in all categories. The Junior and Master Men's teams will provide representation at Canadian National and select Ontario events, with the Junior Men competing in the Tour de l'Abitibi.

The team will be generously supported by the following sponsors:

Brendan Matthias Photography

Genesis Rehabilitation




Dr. Bruce Apfelbaun Dentistry

2007 Subaru-Gary Fisher MTB Team

In 2007 the Subaru-Gary Fisher team will be returning the core of its team including Jeremy Horgan Kobelski, Nat Ross, Heather Irmiger, Willow Koerber, Jenny Copnall, Ken Onodera, Asa Erlandsson, and Dror Pekatch. Joining the Subaru-Gary Fisher team for 2007 will be current U23 US champ, Sam Schultz, and Great Britain‚s Phil Spencer.

The 2007 team will be looking to build on the success of 2006. This past year Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski captured the overall NMBS cross country title and Nat Ross pulled in the overall National Point Series 24 hour solo title. On the European side, Jenny Copnall won the British women‚s overall cross country title and Asa Erlandsson took the Swedish women‚s overall marathon win.

A critical element of any team is the sponsors. Subaru of America returns for their seventh year as title sponsor. SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Bontrager, Crank Brothers, Stronglight, and Genuine Innovations equip the team. Nike Cycling provides all of the team clothing and shoes, 661 provides protective gear. Pedros helps to keep the bikes clean and lubed. Brave Solider helps with trail rash and skincare. Cane Creek will be providing headsets for the team. Saris Sportline keeps the team in socks. Light and Motion will be keeping the trail lit. And Yakima equips all of the team Subaru‚s with racks.

The team also welcomes new sponsors for 2007. GU and GU2O, will be fueling the Subaru-Gary Fisher team. Also new this year, the team will be running Bontrager tires along with their already familiar Bontrager wheels and components

The 2007 Subaru-Gary Fisher team has two categories: National Team and Global Team. The National Team will race largely in North America with a focus on the NMBS events, World Cups, premier domestic events, and select international races.

The Subaru-Gary Fisher MTB Team is proud to be sponsored by:

Subaru of America, Inc, Gary Fisher Bicycles, SRAM , RockShox, Bontrager Wheelworks and Components, Avid Brakes, Bontrager tires, Crank Brothers pedals, Nike Cycling shoes, performance and casual apparel, 661 gloves, Tokyo Joe's, Stronglight chainrings, Light & Motion, Pedros, Genuine Innovations, Brave Soldier, Yakima, Mountainsmith, Cane Creek, Saris Sportline, GU and GU2O.

Subaru and Gary Fisher also support the International Mountain Bike Association. IMBA creates, enhances and preserves trail opportunities for mountain bikers worldwide.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.