Canadian Cyclist


December 13/06 9:23 am - Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle 2007 Roster

Posted by Editor on 12/13/06

Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle 2007 Roster
Courtesy Slipstream Sports

In a bold move upward for 2007, Team TIAA-CREF not only becomes Team Slipstream p/b Chipotle, but moves up a big notch into the UCI's Professional Continental category. The team's unique cross-Atlantic schedule consists of racing the USACycling Professional Tour, the European Continental Tour and hopefully a few ProTour wildcard starts. This schedule will prove challenging but rewarding for both riders and sponsors.

"We are happy to be growing - and growing at a rate that will put us on our objective of riding the Tour de France by 2009," announced Team Slipstream/Chipotle's director Jonathan Vaughters.

"Team TIAA-CREF hasn‚t disappeared, their sponsorship has moved to our junior development team," added Vaughters, "However, the Professional team, Slipstream presented by Chipotle, is no longer in any way, shape or form a development team. We are still a young team, but now we will race to win, not learn."

Adding a few young but talented riders from across the world, Slipstream p/b Chipotle has bolstered its growing strength, but without losing its deep roots as an American team. ProTour signees such as Patrick McCarty (Phonak) and Kilian Patour (Credit Agricole) bring experience, and young talents such as u23 Paris-Tours winner, Huub Duyn (Rabobank) and Aussie Ben Johnson (Agritubel) bring enthusiasm. Returning stars include current USPRO Criterium Champion, Brad Huff, u23 Road Race and Criterium Champion, Craig Lewis, and 2001 World u23 TT Champion, Danny Pate.

"Pate will be one of the biggest surprises of 2007." states Vaughters, "He was right on the cusp of truly breaking through in 2006, I have no doubt he will have a few rides that leave people awestruck in 2007."

All the riders on Slipstream presented by Chipotle will be riding Felt carbon frames with a unique and yet to be revealed paint scheme.


Huub Duyn (Rabobank)
Kilian Patour (Credit Agricole)
Pat McCarty (Phonak)
Benny Johnson (Agritubel)
Danny Pate
Brad Huff
Craig Lewis
Ian MacGregor
Tyler Butterfield (Vendee U)
Blake Caldwell
Steve Cozza
Michael Creed
Jason Donald
Timmy Duggan
Lucas Euser
Michael Friedman
Will Frishkorn
Alex Howes (5280/eSoles Junior Development Team)
Michael Lange
François Parisien
Tom Peterson
Peter Stetina
Taylor Tolleson


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.