Canadian Cyclist


December 17/06 12:18 pm - UCI Statement Regarding 2007 Pro Team Licence Applications

Posted by Editoress on 12/17/06

Decisions By The Licences' Commission
Courtesy UCI Press Service

The UCI Licences' Commission today responded to the requests for UCI ProTour licences submitted to it within the deadlines stipulated by the rules.

The requests presented by the Caisse d'Epargne (Abarca Sport) and T-Mobile (High Road Sport) were accepted, and another licence was granted to them until 2010.

A four-year UCI ProTour licence was also awarded to the team, Unibet (Cycle A.B.).

The request by the team Barloworld (Graybell Management Ltd) was refused by the Licences' Commission.

Regarding the team, Astana (Zeus Sarl), the decision has been postponed, since the Licences' Commission has granted it a further deadline until 20 December 2006 due to technical difficulties with the provison of documents.

In accordance with the measures stipulated by the rules, the commission also decided to renew before their expiry the licences of the following teams who had made requests:

Milram (Ciclosport srl): licence renewed until 2009
Saunier Duval - Prodir (GM Bikes SA): 2010
Gerolsteiner (Holczer Radsport-Marketing GmbH): 2010.

Lastly, the Licences' Commission accepted the request to withdraw the licence from the Active Bay company, presented by the President of the UCI ProTour Council, Mr Vittorio Adorni. The licence in question has now been automatically withdrawn.

The UCI wishes to take this opportunity to formally state that all teams with a UCI ProTour licence will have the right and obligation to take part in 27 races on the 2007 UCI ProTour calendar.

In this respect, the recent statements made by ASO, RCS and Unipublic should be considered as totally unfounded as far as the rules are concerned.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.