Canadian Cyclist


January 13/07 7:31 am - T-Mobile Team Launch

Posted by Editor on 01/13/07

T-Mobile Team Introduction

T-Mobile introduced its men's and women's teams today at Robinson Club Cala Serena resort on the island of Mallorca. Here is a link to some photos provided by Frank Bodenmuller: Photos.

Below is the release sent out by T-Mobile. Frank talked with Michael Barry for a few minutes, and said that Michael's primary goal this year is to make the Tour (de France). "All I can do is work as hard as I can and hope to be selected" said Michael.

T-Mobile men's and women's teams begin a new and positive time for cycling with many new faces and a fresh and passionate group of team mates. On Saturday the new-look 2007 T-Mobile Team was formally presented to the international media from their training camp at the Robinson Club Cala Serena resort on Mallorca.

The men's roster has seen the most dramatic changes - in personnel, leadership and practices. Thirteen riders and five managers have been added to the refreshed team with the shared commitment to success and a common cause. "'Die Mannschaft' (Teamwork), these are two powerful words and together we can build the power of the united team into the strongest force in cycling, " said general manager Bob Stapleton.

Stapleton and the team's head of sports management Rolf Aldag believes the Bonn-based team can be winners, on and off the bike through teamwork, motivation and fighting spirit. The management duo also demand the riders' personal commitment to the team's regulations and an uncompromised commitment to transparency. "We believe in clean and fair sport, and want to be a team that fans, like, believe in, and ultimately trust," says Stapleton.

Ex-professional cyclist Rolf Aldag says they are building a motivated team that won't just concentrate on a few races. "The aim is to stay competitive throughout the entire season and to attract attention from a wider audience". Three-time time-trial world champion Michael Rogers will play an important role in the team plans, as captain and GC contender. The 27 year-old Australian will be strongly backed by exciting young talents like Patrik Sinkewitz, André Greipel and U23 road World Champion Gerald Ciolek - all hungry for success.

New practices, including a best-in-class medical and training program, have been introduced. On Mallorca the riders are being tested in different ways to personalize and maximize their training - and each day they follow a detailed individual training program prepared by sports scientist Sebastian Weber.

The riders are also using new methods to improve athletic performance on and off the bike - including a daily 'Pillar Strength' routine at camp with US fitness specialists from 'Athletes' Performance', who also worked with Jürgen Klinsmann's German national football team. The routine includes pre-ride gym sessions, and core strength work-outs post-ride, followed by active stretching recovery sessions. The camp program also includes a series of expert workshops to help the riders understand the training support tools at their disposal, such as SRM training systems and Training Peaks software.

"Our aim with this camp is to improve the quality of training and set the foundation for a successful season," said Stapleton. "We want the riders to leave here fitter, faster, stronger and ready to race."

Powerhouse international women's team Talent, versatility and experience are the distinguishing attributes of the 2007 T-Mobile women's team. The team's new management is also emphasizing character as they bid to build on the success of the team's highly successful first season in international competition. Leading riders Judith Arndt, Ina-Yoko Teutenberg and Kim Anderson stay with the team and they are joined by two-time World Cup winner Oenone Wood in a squad that blends youth and experience.

A new all-female management also been installed with Kristy Scrymgeour as team manager, Anna Wilson as directeur sportive and Petra Rossner as team coach. As with the men's team the concept of "Die Mannschaft" takes centre-stage. "Great importance is placed on character" in the selection of women riders, stressed Scrymgeour. The season goals are also identical: "We want to stay competitive across the entire season and be in contention for the World Cup races the bigger stage races".

The men's season kicks-off on January 26 with the GP Doha, followed by the Qatar Tour; the women have their first official race at the Geelong Tour in Australia from February 27 until March 1.

The T-Mobile Teams 2007:


General Manager: Bob Stapleton (USA)
Head of Sports Management: Rolf Aldag (Germany)
Sporting Directors: Tristan Hoffman (Netherlands), Brian Holm (Denmark), Allan Peiper (Australia), Valerio Piva (Italy), Jan Schaffrath (Germany)

Michael Barry (30/Canada)
Eric Baumann (26/Germany)
Lorenzo Bernucci (27/Italy)
Marcus Burghardt (23/Germany)
Mark Cavendish (21/Great Britain)
Gerald Ciolek (20/Germany)
Scott Davis (27/Australia)
Bernhard Eisel (25/Austria)
Linus Gerdemann (24/Germany)
Bert Grabsch (30/Germany)
André Greipel (24/Germany)
Giuseppe Guerini (36/Italy)
Roger Hammond (31/Great Britain)
Adam Hansen (Australia/25)
Greg Henderson (New Zealand/30)
Serhiy Honchar (36/Ukraine)
Kim Kirchen (28/Luxembourg)
Andreas Klier (30/Germany)
Servais Knaven (35/Netherlands)
André Korff (33/Germany)
Axel Merckx (34/Belgium)
Aaron Olsen (29/USA)
Jacob Piil (33/Denmark)
Marco Pinotti (30/Italy)
Frantisek Rabon, (23/Czech Republic)
Michael Rogers (27/Australia)
Stephan Schreck (28/Germany)
Patrik Sinkewitz (26/Germany)
Thomas Ziegler (26/Germany)


Team Manager: Kristy Scrymgeour (Australia)
Directeur Sportive: Anna Wilson (Australia)
Coach: Petra Rossner (Germany)

Kim Anderson (38/USA)
Judith Arndt (30/Germany)
Kate Bates (24/Australia)
Chantal Beltman (30/Netherlands)
Suzanne de Goede (22/Netherlands)
Emilia Fahlin (18/Sweden)
Alex Rhodes (22/Australia)
Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (32/Germany)
Linda Villumsen (21/Denmark)
Anke Wichmann (31/Germany)
Oenone Wood (26/Australia)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.