Canadian Cyclist


January 20/07 9:57 am - Alex Wrubleski Nominated for Saskatchewan Athlete of the Year Award

Posted by Editoress on 01/20/07

Saluting our best… the Saskatchewan Sport Awards
Courtesy Sask Sport

Sask Sport Inc. Thursday announced the finalists for the 2006 Athlete of the Year Awards and the recipients of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Recognition Awards. The awards will be presented at the Saskatchewan Sport Awards Dinner on Wednesday, March 21 at TCU Place in Saskatoon.

The awards are designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievements in amateur sport during 2006 as well as the generous individuals who volunteer their time and talents for the betterment of amateur sport.

“Sask Sport would like to congratulate all of the athletes and volunteers who were nominated for their significant accomplishments,” said Don MacAulay, Sask Sport Inc. President. “These awards acknowledge the importance of sport in our communities and our lives. These athletes and volunteers have shown dedication, perseverance and commitment - qualities that have helped them reach world-class goals.”

The Athlete of the Year Awards are divided into six categories - Master, Youth Male, Youth Female, Male, Female and Team. Nominees for the Athlete of the Year Awards are submitted to Sask Sport Inc. by the Provincial Sport Governing Bodies. The Awards and Recognition Committee reviewed 39 nominations for the Athlete of the Year Award, and then narrowed this list to three finalists in each category. The volunteer Presidents of the Provincial Sport Governing Bodies and the Saskatchewan sports media will then vote to select a winner in each category. The votes will be compiled and audited by The Virtus Group, and the winner in each category will be declared at the awards dinner.

In addition, there are three Volunteer Recognition Award recipients selected by the Sask Sport Inc. Awards and Recognition Committee from a total of nine nominations.

The finalists for the Athlete of the Year Award are:

Master: Mary Brown
, Regina, Swim Saskatchewan Inc.; Milos Kostic, Regina, Saskatchewan Triathlon Association Corporation; Ted Rowan, Martensville, Saskatchewan Athletics.

Youth Male: Cory Hall, Regina, Saskatchewan Baseball Association; Cole Miller, Regina, Saskatchewan Diving Inc.; Daniel Olver, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Amateur Wrestling Association.

Youth Female: Jessica Guenther, Saskatoon, Synchro Saskatchewan; Kaylyn Kyle, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Soccer Association; Brianne Theisen, Humboldt, Saskatchewan Athletics.

Male: Simon Bairu, Regina, Saskatchewan Athletics; Rusty Malinoski, Humboldt, Water Ski and Wakeboard Saskatchewan; Justin Warsylewicz, Regina, Saskatchewan Amateur Speed Skating Association.

Female: Colette Bourgonje, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Wheelchair Sports Association; Sarah Crooks, Saskatoon, Basketball Saskatchewan; Alexandra Wrubleski, Regina, Saskatchewan Cycling Association.

Team: Mandy Selzer Junior Women's Curling Team, Balgonie, Saskatchewan Curling Association, Team of Andrew Knorr and Alex Brazill - Junior Men's Pair and Double, Saskatchewan Rowing Association, Regina Squids Senior Men's Water Polo Team, Water Polo Saskatchewan Inc.

The recipients of the Volunteer Recognition Award are: Jeff Butt, Moose Jaw, Special Olympics Saskatchewan; Lorraine Johnson, Regina, Synchro Saskatchewan and Stuart McDonald, Regina, Canoe Kayak Saskatchewan.

To obtain tickets for the dinner contact 780-9300 in Regina or 975-0800 in Saskatoon.

Special thanks to the award sponsors: Global TV, McMaster Photographers, Saskatchewan Lotteries and the Canadian Sport Centre Saskatchewan


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.